les presses du réel
Wiktoria Furrer, Carla Gabrí, Nastasia Louveau, Maria Ordóñez, Artur Żmijewski - How to Teach Art?
How to teach art / can we become an artist?
How to teach art? What kind of knowledge should artists absorb? How might an ordinary person become a creature addicted to the creative process; a non-artist become an artist? Such programmatic questions articulated by the acclaimed Polish artist Artur Żmijewski were at the heart of the workshop “How to Teach Art?” Between April and July 2018, Żmijewski invited a group of graduate and PhD students from three Zurich universities—the ETH (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology), the UZH (University of Zurich), and the ZHdK (Zurich University of the Arts)—to collectively reflect on their artistic practices. Over the course of four months, the group met several times a week for hourlong sessions, following individual and collective exercises devised by Żmijewski himself.
This book retraces the workshop and its process by means of inconclusive, fragmentary results between theory and practice. It presents drawings, videos, photographs, 16mm films, and accompanying reflections on the central premise, “How to Teach Art?”
Wiktoria Furrer is a research associate with Silvia Henke at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts (HSLU) as part of the Sinergia research project “Practices of Aesthetic Thinking.” She is a member of the doctoral program “Epistemologies of Aesthetic Practices,” formerly led by Dieter Mersch.
Carla Gabrí is a member of the research project “Exhibiting Film: Challenges of Format,” led by Fabienne Liptay, and an associate of the doctoral program “Epistemologies of Aesthetic Practices,” formerly led by Dieter Mersch. Her artistic practice oscillates between the media of film, painting, and object art, with series on prosopagnosia, obsolescence, and skin.
Nastasia Louveau explores dialogic processes and the notion of critical learning in her combined artistic, research and teaching practices. A self-taught artist trained as a cultural researcher and educator, she deals with issues through a hands-on approach grounded in sharing, caring, and curiosity.
Maria Ordóñez has developed her artistic practice focused on collectivity as a discipline of ethical engagement and shared knowledge, mostly in working with people affected by violence in Colombia, where she comes from.
Radical Polish artist Artur Żmijewski (born 1966 in Warsaw) is one of the most consistently challenging, provocative and profoundly thoughtful artists working today. He is an author of short video movies and photography exhibitions, which were shown all over the world. In 2005 he represented Poland at the 51st Venice Biennale. He exhibited at Documenta 12 (2007), Manifesta 4 (2002), Wattis Institute for Contemporary Art, San Francisco (2005), Kunsthalle, Basel (2005), National Gallery of Art Zacheta, Warsaw (2005), Kunstwerke, Berlin (2004), Museum of Modern Art, New York (2009), Cornerhouse, Manchester (2009) and many more. He is the curator of the Berlin Biennale 2012.
 
2021 (publication expected by 4th quarter)
English edition
21 x 29,7 cm (softcover)
192 pages (100 color ill.)
 
25.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-0358-0436-2
EAN : 9783035804362
 
forthcoming
Wiktoria Furrer, Carla Gabrí, Nastasia Louveau, Maria Ordóñez, Artur Żmijewski: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel
Wiktoria Furrer, Carla Gabrí, Nastasia Louveau, Maria Ordóñez, Artur Żmijewski - How to Teach Art?
Comment enseigner l'art / peut-on devenir artiste ?
Comment enseigner l'art ? Quel type de connaissances les artistes doivent-ils intégrer ? Comment une personne ordinaire peut-elle s'approprier un processus créatif, un non-artiste devenir un artiste ? De telles questions programmatiques articulées par l'artiste Artur Żmijewski, l'une des figures les plus radicales et éminentes de la scène artistique polonaise, étaient au cœur de l'atelier « Comment enseigner l'art ? ». En 2018, Żmijewski a invité un groupe d'étudiants diplômés et de doctorants de trois universités zurichoises – l'ETH (École polytechnique fédérale), l'UZH (Université de Zurich) et la ZHdK (Haute école des arts de Zurich) – à réfléchir collectivement à leurs pratiques artistiques. Pendant quatre mois, le groupe s'est réuni plusieurs fois par semaine pour des sessions d'une heure, suivant des exercices individuels et collectifs conçus par Żmijewski lui-même.
Ce livre retrace l'atelier et son processus par le biais de résultats fragmentaires, entre théorie et pratique, rassemblant des dessins, des vidéos, des photographies, des films 16mm et des réflexions autour de la problématique.
Wiktoria Furrer collabore avec Silvia Henke à la Haute école spécialisée de Lucerne (HSLU) dans le cadre du projet de recherche Sinergia « Practices of Aesthetic Thinking ». Elle est membre du programme doctoral « Epistémologies des pratiques esthétiques », anciennement dirigé par Dieter Mersch.
Carla Gabrí est membre du projet de recherche « Exhibiting Film: Challenges of Format », dirigé par Fabienne Liptay, et est associée au programme doctoral « Epistémologies des pratiques esthétiques », anciennement dirigé par Dieter Mersch. Sa pratique artistique intègre le film, la peinture et l'objet.
Nastasia Louveau explore les processus dialogiques et la notion d'apprentissage critique à la fois dans ses pratiques artistiques, de recherche et d'enseignement. Artiste autodidacte formée comme chercheuse et éducatrice culturelle, elle développe une approche pratique fondée sur le partage, la bienveillance et la curiosité.
Maria Ordóñez développe une pratique artistique axée sur la collectivité en tant que domaine d'engagement éthique et de connaissance partagée, principalement en travaillant avec des personnes victivmes de la violence en Colombie, son pays d'origine.
Vidéaste, photographe et artiste visuel polonais radical, Artur Żmijewski (né en 1966 à Varsovie) œuvre à rebours des stratégies de captation médiatique et des conventions formelles de l'image télévisuelle en développant, dans un travail vidéo qui trouve son origine dans la sculpture, dans une expérience de l'espace et de la matière, une relation critique à l'attention du spectateur.
Représentant de la Pologne à la 51e Biennale de Venise, commissaire de la Biennale de Berlin 2012, Żmijewski a exposé dans le monde entier (Documenta 12, Manifesta 4, Centre Pompidou, Paris, Wattis Institute for Contemporary Art, San Francisco, Kunsthalle Basel, National Gallery of Art Zacheta, Varsovie, Kunstwerke, Berlin, Museum of Modern Art, New York, Cornerhouse, Manchester, etc.).
 
2021 (parution prévue au 4e trimestre)
édition anglaise
21 x 29,7 cm (broché)
192 pages (100 ill. coul.)
 
25.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-0358-0436-2
EAN : 9783035804362
 
à paraître
Wiktoria Furrer, Carla Gabrí, Nastasia Louveau, Maria Ordóñez, Artur Żmijewski : autre titre



 haut de page