Rab-Rab Press

Rab-Rab Press is an independent publishing platform based in Helsinki. It publishes Rab-Rab: Journal for Political and Formal Inquiries in Art and books combining experimental artistic forms with leftist politics. Initiated in 2014, Rab-Rab Press is run by Sezgin Boynik.
 
Helsinki
 
12 titles
 
Punk Suprematism
2021
English edition
Punk Suprematism includes the first English translation of theoretical writings on punk, art, socialism, bureaucracy, and nationalism by Slavoj Žižek, Rastko Močnik, and Zoja Skušek.
Minna Henriksson - Fake Star
2021
English edition
Part children book, part exhibition catalogue, Fake Star is a book about an exhibit in a National Pavilion in the Paris World Exposition 1900.
Peter Gidal - The Author as Producer of Nothing
2021
English edition
The first publication of a lost 1978 text by Peter Gidal—one of the most influential experimental filmmakers ever.
Rab-Rab: Journal of Political and Formal Inquiries in Art
2021
English edition
Contributions by Milena Solomun, Ben Watson and Jair Rohm Parker Wells, Ghassan Halwani, Doruntina Kastrati, Kaisa Lassinaro, Sezgin Boynik, and Rastko Močnik. Includes as supplement the first translation of Walter Benjamin's text on Lenin, translated and annotated by Esther Leslie.
The Conclusive Scene - Mao Zedong\'s Last Meeting with the Red Guards, 28 June 1968
2020
English edition
The Conclusive Scene - Mao Zedong's Last Meeting with the Red Guards, 28 June 1968 includes the first complete English translation of the Chinese Cultural Revolution document "Conversation in a Meeting with the Responsible Persons of the Capital Red Guards."
Jacques Rancière - Marx in the Woods
2019
English edition
The first English translation of Jacques Rancière's early philosophical text "The Dialectic of Reason and Private Interest", originally published in 1963. Written under the influence of Louis Althusser, the text is discussing the forms of law in Karl Marx's writings on the "debates on the law on thefts of wood".
Rab-Rab: Journal of Political and Formal Inquiries in Art
2019
English edition
The fifth issue of Rab-Rab: Journal of Political and Formal Inquiries in Art includes stories about nation traitors, fierce masses, socialist women struggles, love-forms, psychedelic counter-revolutionaries, workers unions, Brecht fiddlers, jazz surrealism, Soviet trains, and anti-fascism.
Coiled Verbal Spring - Devices of Lenin\'s Language
2018
English edition
Coiled Verbal Spring: Devices of Lenin's Language brings together the first English translation of the Russian Formalist and Futurist writings on Lenin's revolutionary language, one of the most interesting projects of political Formalism and avant-garde theory in the twentieth century.
Minna Henriksson - Works on Paper
2017
English edition
Minna Henriksson's artist book Works on Paper is a graphic story with forty linocuts on the political history of the paper industry in Finland.
The Railway - An Adventure in Construction
2020
English edition
currently out of stock
The reprint of an unjustly forgotten book edited by renowned historian E. P. Thompson, detailing the experience of socialist British youth volunteers working on constructing the railway from Šamac to Sarajevo in Yugoslavia in 1947.
Free Jazz Communism
2020
English edition
sold out
Free Jazz Communism actualises the concert of Archie Shepp–Bill Dixon Quartet at the 8th World Festival of Youth and Students in Helsinki 1962, and contextualizes the politics of free jazz music in light of global decolonisation movements, anti-war activism, structures of racial capitalism, and forms of avant-garde music.
Viktor Shklovsky - Journey to the Land of Movies
2017
English edition
sold out
The first English translation of Viktor Shklovsky's children book Journey to the Land of Movies, originally published in 1926 in Russian.
filters:


 top of page

Rab-Rab Press

Rab-Rab Press est une plateforme d'édition indépendante basée à Helsinki. Elle publie Rab-Rab: Journal for Political and Formal Inquiries in Art et des livres combinant des formes artistiques expérimentales et une littérature théorique résolument ancrée à la gauche du spectre politique. Initiée en 2014, Rab-Rab Press est dirigée par Sezgin Boynik.
 
Helsinki
 
12 titres
 
Punk Suprematism
2021
édition anglaise
La première traduction anglaise des écrits théoriques sur le mouvement punk, l'art, le socialisme, la bureaucratie et le nationalisme de Slavoj Žižek, Rastko Močnik et Zoja Skušek.
Minna Henriksson - Fake Star
2021
édition anglaise
Entre un livre pour enfants et un catalogue d'exposition, Fake Star raconte l'histoire d'une exposition dans un pavillon national de l'Exposition universelle de Paris de 1900.
Peter Gidal - The Author as Producer of Nothing
2021
édition anglaise
Le texte perdu du théoricien et cinéaste Peter Gidal, un essai théorique dense rédigé en 1978 avec lequel Gidal traite des limites du langage et de la représentation dans la pratique du cinéma expérimental, et offre un aperçu du contexte théorique et politique de cette pratique.
Rab-Rab: Journal of Political and Formal Inquiries in Art
2021
édition anglaise
Contributions de Milena Solomun, Ben Watson et Jair Rohm Parker Wells, Ghassan Halwani, Doruntina Kastrati, Kaisa Lassinaro, Sezgin Boynik et Rastko Močnik. En supplément, la première traduction du texte de Walter Benjamin sur Lénine.
The Conclusive Scene - Mao Zedong\'s Last Meeting with the Red Guards, 28 June 1968
2020
édition anglaise
La première traduction anglaise complète du document de la Révolution culturelle chinoise « Conversation in a Meeting with the Responsible Persons of the Capital Red Guards », conversation transcrite entre Mao Zedong et le Groupe central pour la révolution culturelle avec les cinq plus célèbres responsables des Gardes rouges, qui a eu lieu le 28 juin 1968 à l'université de Pékin.
Jacques Rancière - Marx in the Woods
2019
édition anglaise
La première traduction anglaise du premier texte philosophique de Jacques Rancière, écrit en 1963 sous l'influence de Louis Althusser, qui traite des formes de droit dans les écrits de Karl Marx au sujet des débats sur la loi sur le vol de bois mort, considérés comme un tournant dans l'histoire de la théorie communiste.
Rab-Rab: Journal of Political and Formal Inquiries in Art
2019
édition anglaise
Le cinquième numéro de la revue d'art et de politique de Rab-Rab comprend des histoires sur les traîtres à la nation, les masses déchaînées, les luttes des femmes socialistes, les formes d'amour, les contre-révolutionnaires psychédéliques, les syndicats ouvriers, les violonistes de Brecht, le surréalisme jazz, les trains soviétiques et l'antifascisme.
Coiled Verbal Spring - Devices of Lenin\'s Language
2018
édition anglaise
La première traduction anglaise des écrits formalistes et futuristes russes sur le langage révolutionnaire de Lénine, document essentiel sur le formalisme politique et les théories d'avant-garde au XXe siècle.
Minna Henriksson - Works on Paper
2017
édition anglaise
Livre d'artiste : un récit graphique engagé composé de quarante linogravures sur l'histoire politique de l'industrie du papier en Finlande.
The Railway - An Adventure in Construction
2020
édition anglaise
momentanément indisponible
La réédition d'un livre injustement oublié, édité par le célèbre historien E. P. Thompson, relatant l'expérience de jeunes volontaires britanniques socialistes travaillant à la construction du chemin de fer de Šamac à Sarajevo en Yougoslavie en 1947. 
Free Jazz Communism
2020
édition anglaise
épuisé
A partir du concert d'Archie Shepp-Bill Dixon Quartet au 8e Festival mondial de la jeunesse et des étudiants à Helsinki en 1962, Free Jazz Communism contextualise la dimension politique du free jazz à la lumière des mouvements mondiaux de décolonisation, du militantisme anti-guerre, des structures du capitalisme racial et des formes de musique d'avant-garde.
Viktor Shklovsky - Journey to the Land of Movies
2017
édition anglaise
épuisé
La première traduction anglaise du livre pour enfants de Viktor Shklovsky, initialement publié en russe en 1926.
filtres :


 haut de page