We will be closed from August 7 to 22 included (all orders received after August 4 will be processed and shipped as soon as we are back – many thanks for your patience & happy summer!)

Athom

The fields of art, architecture and design, linked probably today more than in their History, call, to be thought and practiced, for more in-depth theoretical and critical reflections which both “cover” (founding them as disciplines) and “overflow” them. It is up to this “speculative” and creative undertaking, aiming to redefine (and characterise) the foundations and perspectives of these fields, that the french independent publishing house Athom proposes to contribute.
By publishing essays, monographs and albums (illustrated volumes), Athom intends to make each of its editorial projects, whether it is the production of paper opus (book) and/or digital (electronic publication, website), the opportunity for a complete review of its very forms and formats (written/scriptural/enunciative and illustrative, also material/physical, graphic and typographic). In this way, it is bet that from the diversity of ideas thus transcribed, recorded as well as from the plurality of qualities and “features” of the resulting objects, can advance (as by “percolation”) the constitution of an episteme.
 
Lille
 
2 titles
 
Marcel Lods - Éduquer à l\'architecture moderne
2021
French edition
forthcoming
Transcripts of unpublished lectures and writings by the French architect-urbanist Marcel Lods (1891-1978).
Empavillonner
2021
French edition
An analysis of the exhibition pavilions (universal exhibitions and bienniales) from the point of view of their architecture, crossing the contributions of designers and architects, historians, philosophers and aestheticians.
filters:


 top of page

Athom

Les champs de l'art, de l'architecture et du design, ayant tous trois partie liée – ne serait-ce que dans leur histoire –, réclament sans doute aujourd'hui plus qu'auparavant, pour être pensés et pratiqués, des réflexions de nature théorique et critique qui tout à la fois les recouvrent, les fondent mais aussi les débordent. C'est à cette entreprise d'abord « spéculative » et créative (fort d'un important travail de design graphique), ambitionnant une redéfinition (et caractérisation) croisée des fondements et perspectives des champs susmentionnés, que les éditions indépendantes Athom se proposent de contribuer.
Publiant des essais, des monographies et albums (volumes largement illustrés), Athom entend faire de chacun de ses projets éditoriaux, qu'il s'agisse de la production d'opus papier (livre) et / ou numérique (publication électronique, site Internet), l'occasion d'un réexamen complet de ses formes et formats mêmes (écrites / scripturales / énonciatives et illustratives, également matérielles / physiques, graphiques et typographiques), gageant que de la diversité d'idées ainsi transcrites, consignées et de la pluralité de traits, de factures des objets qui en découlent puisse s'avancer (comme par « percolation ») la constitution d'une épistémè.
 
Lille
 
2 titres
 
Marcel Lods - Éduquer à l\'architecture moderne
2021
édition française
à paraître
Un ensemble de textes tout à fait inédits de l'architecte-urbaniste français Marcel Lods (1891-1978) : des textes d'une qualité rare (écrits et transcriptions de conférences) auxquels se joignent des commentaires et études de Claire Brunet, Éric Chauvier, Richard Klein, Christophe Viart, Pieter Uyttenhove et David Bihanic.
Empavillonner
2021
édition française
Ouvrage collectif consacré à l'analyse des pavillons d'exposition (expositions universelles, biennales) du point de vue de leur architecture, croisant les contributions de designers et architectes, d'historiens, de philosophes et esthéticiens.
filtres :


 haut de page