les presses du réel

Julien Creuzet -
First monograph dedicated to French artist, videographer, performer and poet Julien Creuzet.
Julien Creuzet links forgotten, minority histories and imaginary representations of distant places with the social realities of the here and now. His exhibition at the Palais de Tokyo, which visit is rhythmed by a soundtrack composed specifically for it, takes the form of an immersive environment akin to a large public space suffused with the permanent state of tension that characterizes our era. It presents a multiplicity of different works and offers an array of disjointed narratives. Preferring anachronism to the linearity of established stories, Creuzet thus invokes poetry and politics to unfold a mobile imaginary that brings together different temporalities and geographies.
Published on the occasion of Julien Creuzet's solo show at the Palais de Tokyo, Paris, from February 20 to May 12, 2019.

Published in cooperation with Les presses du réel, this series of monographic books accompanies the Palais de Tokyo's exhibition program. Richly illustrated, with many views of the exhibition, accessible to all, each book will offer the reader an extended experience of the encounter with the artists' work. The artists' words will appear alongside original contributions by theoreticians, art critics, and curators, providing the reader with a deeper understanding of each artist's background and of the genesis of their project for the Palais de Tokyo. These books will allow the reader to follow the evolution of the artists' reflection on their work. Reproductions of artworks, preparatory documents, visual references, and studio views will bear witness to each step in the artist's process and accompany interviews and essays.

Eva Barois De Caevel is an independent curator. She is in charge of publications at RAW Material Company—Center for Art Knowledge and Society (Dakar).

Dorothée Dupuis is a curator, art critic and publisher. She is the founder and editor in chief of the magazine Terremoto.mx.

Yoann Gourmel is a curator at the Palais de Tokyo. He curated Julien Creuzet's solo show.
Julien Creuzet (born 1986 in Blanc-Mesnil, lives and works in Fontenay-sous-Bois) is a visual artist, video-maker, performer and poet. Via environments made up of composite series, he explores different cultural heritages by organising passageways between imaginaries of elsewhere, the social realities of here and now, and forgotten minority histories. By associating different temporalities and geographies, and preferring anachronisms and collusion over the simplicity of established tales, Julien Creuzet evokes registers of life and technology, history and myth, poetry and politics, to deploy disparate stories of hybrid creatures and swampy zones repossessed and contradicted by imperious civilisations' desires for power and expansion.
Julien Creuzet has been given several solo shows, including recently at the VR Arles Festival as part of the Palais de Tokyo's off-site exhibition during the Rencontres d'Arles (2018), at the Fondation d'Entreprise Ricard and Bétonsalon – centre d'art et de recherche (Paris, 2018), the gallery NaMiMa at the École Nationale Supérieure d'Art et de Design in Nancy (2016) and at the Frac Basse-Normandie (Caen, 2015). His work has also been presented in a large number of group shows: “Aujourd'hui aura lieu”, the Palais de Tokyo's off-site exhibition during the 12th Gwangju Biennale (2018), “A Cris Ouverts”, the 6th edition of the Ateliers de Rennes, Biennale d'Art Contemporain (2018), the Rencontres de Bamako, 11th Biennale Africaine de la Photographie (2017), the 14th Biennale de Lyon (2017), at the Frac Pays de la Loire (Carquefou, 2016) or else at La Galerie, Centre d'Art Contemporain (Noisy-le-Sec, 2015).
 
Edited by Frédéric Grossi.
Texts by Eva Barois De Caevel, Dorothée Dupuis, Yoann Gourmel.
 
published in March 2019
bilingual edition (English / French)
16 x 24 cm (softcover)
96 pages (color ill.)
 
17.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-37896-083-4
EAN : 9782378960834
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Julien Creuzet -
Première monographie de l'artiste plasticien, vidéaste, performeur et poète, s'inscrivant dans la collection publiée avec Les presses du réel en lien avec les expositions du Palais de Tokyo, avec des vues d'exposition et une sélection d'œuvres emblématiques, un entretien, un essai et un ensemble de notices.
Julien Creuzet construit des passerelles entre les histoires minoritaires oubliées, les imaginaires de l'ailleurs et les réalités sociales de l'ici. Son exposition au Palais de Tokyo, dont la visite est rythmée par une bande-son composée pour l'occasion, prend la forme d'une grande place publique où règne une tension permanente propre à notre époque, et déploie la profusion de ses œuvres en une multitude de récits fragmentés. Préférant l'anachronisme à la linéarité des discours consacrés, Julien Creuzet convoque les registres du poétique et du politique pour livrer un imaginaire mobile associant différentes temporalités et géographies.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition personnelle de Julien Creuzet au Palais de Tokyo, Paris, du 20 février au 12 mai 2019.

Coéditée avec Les presses du réel, la collection de livres monographiques dans laquelle s'inscrit cet ouvrage est publiée en lien avec les expositions du Palais de Tokyo.

Richement illustrés, comprenant de nombreuses vues de l'exposition, accessibles à tous, ces livres permettent de poursuivre l'expérience de la rencontre avec l'œuvre de l'artiste. Les propos des artistes, les contributions inédites de théoriciens, de critiques d'art et de commissaires d'expositions permettent de mieux comprendre le parcours de chaque artiste et la genèse de son projet au Palais de Tokyo. Le lecteur peut ainsi assister au cheminement d'une pensée. Des vues d'atelier, reproductions d'œuvres, documents préparatoires et images de référence témoignent des processus créateurs et complètent entretiens et essais.

Eva Barois De Caevel est commissaire d'exposition indépendante ainsi que responsable des éditions à RAW Material Company - centre pour l'art, le savoir et la société (Dakar).

Dorothée Dupuis est commissaire d'exposition, critique et éditrice.

Yoann Gourmel est commissaire d'exposition au Palais de Tokyo. Il est commissaire de l'exposition personnelle de Julien Creuzet.

Julien Creuzet (né en 1986 au Blanc-Mesnil, vit et travaille à Fontenay-sous-Bois) est artiste plasticien, vidéaste, performeur et poète. À travers des environnements constitués d'ensembles composites, il explore différents héritages culturels en organisant des passerelles entre les imaginaires de l'ailleurs, les réalités sociales de l'ici et les histoires minoritaires oubliées. Associant différentes temporalités et géographies, préférant l'anachronisme et la collusion à la simplicité des récits consacrés, Julien Creuzet convoque les registres du vivant et du technologique, de l'histoire et du mythe, du poétique et du politique pour déployer les histoires disparates de créatures hybrides et de zones marécageuses réinvesties et contrariées par les désirs de puissance et d'expansion de civilisations impérieuses.
Julien Creuzet a bénéficié de plusieurs expositions personnelles, dont récemment au VR Arles Festival dans le cadre d'une exposition hors-les-murs du Palais de Tokyo à l'occasion des Rencontres d'Arles (2018), à la Fondation d'Entreprise Ricard et à Bétonsalon – centre d'art et de recherche (Paris, 2018), à la galerie NaMiMa de l'École nationale supérieure d'art et de design de Nancy (2016) et au Frac Basse-Normandie (Caen, 2015). Son travail a également été présenté au sein de nombreuses expositions collectives : « Aujourd'hui aura lieu », exposition hors-les-murs du Palais de Tokyo dans le cadre de la 12e Biennale de Gwangju (2018), « A Cris Ouverts », 6e édition des Ateliers de Rennes, biennale d'art contemporain (2018), aux Rencontres de Bamako, 11e Biennale africaine de la photographie (2017), à la 14e Biennale de Lyon (2017), au Frac Pays de la Loire (Carquefou, 2016) ou à La Galerie, centre d'art contemporain (Noisy-le-Sec, 2015).

 
Edité par Frédéric Grossi.
Textes de Eva Barois De Caevel, Dorothée Dupuis, Yoann Gourmel.
 
paru en mars 2019
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16 x 24 cm (broché)
96 pages (ill. coul.)
 
17.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-37896-083-4
EAN : 9782378960834
 
en stock


 haut de page