Cirva

The International Research Centre for Glass and Visual Arts (Cirva, Centre international de recherche sur le verre et les arts plastiques) places the creative act at the heart of its mission. The art center has occupied a unique place within the international scene since 1983 and invites artists and designers to work with a specific material—glass—in an atmosphere of complete freedom. At the Cirva's studio, they are met by a team of experienced glassmakers, and a dialogue begins. This exchange unfolds over the course of time, a valuable resource that the Cirva nurtures by taking care not to predetermine the exact length of each residency. It is instrumental in allowing the artists to undertake bold experiments during which unlimited avenues of thought encounter a material with a complex and unpredictable reputation.

Cahiers du Cirva is a series of publications documenting the research carried out within the Cirva. Designed in close collaboration with the artist, each Cahier is a space for creation, in line with the project developed in the studio.
 
Marseille
 
3 titles
 
Christodoulos Panayiotou - Cahier du Cirva
2021
bilingual edition (English / French)
forthcoming
The vases made by the artist, in which the flowers wither as time passes, with a selection of images from his archives.
Grégory Granados - Cahier du Cirva
2021
bilingual edition (English / French)
French designer Gregory Granados imagines the ideal shape of a vase/flower pot for a dancing plant. His discreet and subtle research questions the connection between the shaping of a given material and the sound it emits, investigating the acoustic properties of glass.
Souffles - Cahier du Cirva
2021
bilingual edition (English / French)
The new wave of French and international design: an account of research on the glass vase conducted at the International Research Center for Glass and Plastic Arts, showcasing the work of the ten designers who were awarded the grand prize in the Design Parade Hyères competition, organized each year by the Villa Noailles.
filters:


 top of page

Cirva

Le Centre international de recherche sur le verre et les arts plastiques (Cirva) est un centre d'art qui place la création au cœur de son projet. Occupant une position singulière sur la scène mondiale depuis 1983, il invite des artistes et des designers à travailler une matière précise, le verre, avec une totale liberté. Ils sont accueillis dans l'atelier du Cirva aux côtés d'une équipe de techniciens verriers de très haut niveau avec laquelle débute un dialogue. Cet échange se développe dans le temps, une ressource précieuse que le Cirva cultive en prenant la précaution de ne pas déterminer à l'avance la durée de chaque résidence. Cet outil offre l'opportunité de mener des expérimentations audacieuses où les chemins sans limite de la pensée rencontrent une matière réputée complexe et imprévisible.

Cahiers du Cirva est une collection de publications qui accompagne la création au Centre international de recherche sur le verre et les arts plastiques. Conçu en collaboration avec l'artiste, chaque cahier est un espace de recherche, pensé comme le prolongement des expérimentations menées dans l’atelier. 
 
Marseille
 
3 titres
 
Christodoulos Panayiotou - Cahier du Cirva
2021
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
à paraître
Les vases réalisés par l'artiste, dans lesquels les fleurs fanent à mesure que le temps passe, avec une sélection d'images issues de ses archives.
Grégory Granados - Cahier du Cirva
2021
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Le designer Gregory Granados imagine dans ce cahier la forme idéale d'un vase accueillant une plante dansante. Sa recherche discrète et subtile interroge le lien entre la mise en forme d'une matière et le son qu'elle émet, investiguant les propriétés acoustiques du verre.
Souffles - Cahier du Cirva
2021
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
La nouvelle vague du design français et international : le compte-rendu des recherches autour du vase en verre menées au Centre international de recherche sur le verre et les arts plastiques.
filtres :


 haut de page