english version / version française
Mathieu Copeland editions (10 titles)
 
Curator and publisher, Mathieu Copeland (born 1977) lives and works in London. Graduate from the London Goldsmiths College, he curated, among others, the exhibitions Voids (with Laurent Le Bon, John Armleder, Gustav Metzger, Mai-Thu Perret and Clive Phillpot) at Centre Pompidou and Kunsthalle Bern in 2009, Soundtrack for an Exhibition and Alan Vega at Musée d'Art Contemporain de Lyon, Expart-Art Centre / EAC (with Brian Eno, Pierre Huyghe, Ben Kinmont, Claude Lévêque, Didier Marcel, Olivier Mosset, Shimabuku, Dan Walsh, and Ian Wilson) at ICA, London, Musée d'Art Contemporain de Lyon, Museum Sztuki Lodz, CAC Vilnius, Kunstihoone Tallinn, and Bizart Shanghai, Meanwhile… Across Town (with Cerith Wyn Evans) at Centre Point Building, London. He participated at the 9th Lyon Biennal. In 2002, Mathieu Copeland has launched Anna Sanders Films World Tour (a program of films by Charles de Meaux, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Pierre Huyghe et Philippe Parreno). He is the editor of the book Anna Sanders Films – The In-Between, published by Les presses du réel.
 
2015
bilingual edition (English / French)
What would an exhibition be like if we changed the environment from the gallery, museum, or Kunsthalle, to that of the cinema? (a project by Mathieu Copeland, with Chantal Akerman, Peter Downsbrough, Liam Gillick, John Giorno, Philippe Grandrieux, Isidore Isou, Philippe-Alain Michaud, Meredith Monk, Lee Ranaldo, Susan Stenger, Alan Vega, Jacques Villeglé, Lawrence Weiner, Apichatpong Weerasethakul...).

2013
bilingual edition (English / French)
An overview of the relation between choreography and exhibition, through the contributions of over thirty international visual artists, choreographers, musicians, filmmakers, theorists, and curators (Kenneth Anger, Jérôme Bel, Boris Charmatz, Kenneth Goldsmith, Pierre Huyghe, Jennifer Lacey, Alan Licht, Malcolm McLaren, Gustav Metzger, Phill Niblock, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Michael Parsons, Claude Rutault, Catherine Wood...).

2013
bilingual edition (English / French)
The most monumental auto-creative work ever made by Gustav Metzger (catalogue of the exhibition at MAC Lyon, with numerous archive documents, newly commissioned texts and a conversation with the artist).

2013
bilingual edition (English / French)
An extension on paper of the activities of Darse, the art space in Geneva.

2008
6 films by Amy Granat with Fia Backström, Jutta Koether, Amy O'Neill, Mai-Thu Perret, Angel Turner.

2008
3 Films inspired by a 1924 agit prop play: a choreography performed by artist friends (Amy Granat, Fia Backström...), on a music composed by Steven Parrino.

2006
bilingual edition (English / French)
A full colour, hardback publication documenting the major time-based project that confounds traditional expectations of an exhibition, including essays and discussions with participating artists and guest contributors, the entire score of the soundtrack, film stills, installation images and an audio DVD of excerpts from the soundtrack.

2003
bilingua edition (English / French)
A magazine printed with white ink on white paper (with Gilbert & George, Yoko Ono, Lawrence Weiner, Liam Gillick, Martin Creed, Christian Boltanski, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Niele Toroni, Art & Language, Steven Parrino, Maurizio Cattelan, Tom Morton, Swetlana Heger, Didier Marcel, Angela Bulloch, Daniel Buren...).

2010
English edition
out of print
First monograph devoted to the visual work of the New York alternative art scene mythical figure, a pioneer of minimalist electronic rock as the co-founder of the cult band Suicide.

2010
French edition
out of print
First monograph devoted to the visual work of the New York alternative art scene mythical figure.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
 



version française / english version
Mathieu Copeland éditions (10 titres)
 
Commissaire d'exposition et éditeur, Mathieu Copeland (né 1977, vit à Londres) cultive une pratique curatoriale cherchant à subvertir le rôle traditionnel des expositions et à en renouveler nos perceptions. Diplômé du Goldsmiths College de Londres, il a notamment organisé les expositions « Vides » (aux côtés de Laurent Le Bon, John Armleder, Gustav Metzger, Mai-Thu Perret et Clive Phillpot) au Centre Pompidou et à la Kunsthalle Bern en 2009, « Soundtrack for an Exhibition », « Alan Vega » et « Gustav Metzger » au Musée d'Art Contemporain de Lyon, « Expart-Art Centre / EAC » (avec Brian Eno, Pierre Huyghe, Ben Kinmont, Claude Lévêque, Didier Marcel, Olivier Mosset, Shimabuku, Dan Walsh et Ian Wilson) à l'ICA de Londres, au Musée d'Art Contemporain de Lyon, au Museum Sztuki Lodz, au CAC Vilnius, Kunstihoone Tallinn et à Bizart Shanghai, « Meanwhile… Across Town » (avec Cerith Wyn Evans) au Centre Point Building de Londres, « Une Mandala Mentale » au MUAC de Mexico City, ou encore « Une exposition chorégraphiée » à la Kunsthalle de Saint-Gall et à la Ferme du Buisson à Noisiel.
En 2002, Mathieu Copeland a initié « Anna Sanders Films World Tour » (programme de films avec Charles de Meaux, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Pierre Huyghe et Philippe Parreno). Il a édité le livre Anna Sanders Films – The In-Between, publié aux Presses du réel. Il a également initié les séries « Reprises », « Expositions Parlées », et « Expositions à être lues », toutes présentées en 2013 au MoMA, New York. Il a été commissaire invité pour la 9e Biennale d'art contemporain de Lyon (2007-08), au Musée du Jeu de Paume, Paris (2013-14), et, avec Philippe Decrauzat, commissaire invité au Plateau – FRAC Île-de-France Paris (2014-15). Il a publié l'anthologie manifeste Chorégraphier l'exposition (Les presses du réel, 2013), et réalisé « L'exposition d'un film », une exposition comme long-métrage.
 
2015
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Que serait une exposition qui, au lieu de prendre place dans un musée ou dans une galerie, prendrait place au cinéma ? (un projet de Mathieu Copeland, avec Chantal Akerman, Peter Downsbrough, Liam Gillick, John Giorno, Philippe Grandrieux, Isidore Isou, Philippe-Alain Michaud, Meredith Monk, Lee Ranaldo, Susan Stenger, Alan Vega, Jacques Villeglé, Lawrence Weiner, Apichatpong Weerasethakul...).

2013
édition bilingue (anglais / français)
Un panorama des relations entre chorégraphie et exposition, à travers les contributions d'une trentaine d'artistes, chorégraphes, musiciens, cinéastes, théoriciens et commissaires d'exposition internationaux (Kenneth Anger, Jérôme Bel, Boris Charmatz, Kenneth Goldsmith, Pierre Huyghe, Jennifer Lacey, Alan Licht, Malcolm McLaren, Gustav Metzger, Phill Niblock, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Michael Parsons, Claude Rutault, Catherine Wood...).

2013
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
L'œuvre auto-créative la plus monumentale jamais créée par Gustav Metzger (catalogue de l'exposition de Metzger au MAC Lyon, avec de nombreux documents d'archives et textes inédits, complétés de vues de l'installation, des essais de Mathieu Copeland et Franck Popper, ainsi qu'un entretien avec l'artiste).

2013
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Un prolongement sur papier des activités de l'espace d'art genevois Darse, dirigé par Fabrice Gygi.

2008
Six films muets de Amy Granat, avec Fia Backström, Jutta Koether, Amy O'Neill, Mai-Thu Perret, Angel Turner.

2008
Trois films inspirés par une pièce d'agit prop des années 1920 : une chorégraphie exécutée par des amies artistes (Amy Granat, Fia Backström...) sur une musique de Steven Parrino.

2006
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
A nouveau disponible ! Une bande-son, une exposition de peintures et un film : une exploration des relations entre musique expérimentale (Susan Stenger avec Alan Vega, Alexander Hacke, F.M. Einheit, Kim Gordon, Mika Vainio, Bruce Gilbert...), arts plastiques (John Armleder, Steven Parrino, Gustav Metzger) et cinéma (Kristian Levring, Tony Conrad).

2003
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Magazine réduit à un état minimum : un seul numéro, impression à l'encre blanche sur pages blanches (avec Gilbert & George, Yoko Ono, Lawrence Weiner, Liam Gillick, Martin Creed, Christian Boltanski, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Niele Toroni, Art & Language, Steven Parrino, Maurizio Cattelan, Tom Morton, Swetlana Heger, Didier Marcel, Angela Bulloch, Daniel Buren...).

2010
édition française
épuisé
Première monographie consacrée à l'œuvre plastique d'une figure mythique de la scène alternative artistique new-yorkaise, pionnier du rock électronique minimal, cofondateur du groupe culte Suicide.

2010
édition anglaise
épuisé
Première monographie consacrée à l'œuvre plastique d'une figure mythique de la scène alternative artistique new-yorkaise.