english version / version française
In Place
Jason Kahn [see all titles]
Errant Bodies [see all titles] Audio Issues [see all titles]
Jason Kahn In Place
published in September 2015
English edition
13 x 18,5 cm (softcover)
112 pages
€13.00
ISBN: 978-0-9889375-4-3
EAN: 9780988937543
in stock
 
In the series of works In Places Jason Kahn explores a variety of places and investigate them through their sounds. Influenced by Henri Lefebvre's theories, Kahn the musician experiences the daily rythms of life and how space is formed and reflected.
Based upon paying close attention to his surroundings, In Place documents the artist's sonorous engagement with specific locations. Spending hours at a given place within various cities, Kahn would do nothing else but listen, watch, and observe the daily life. Through such an elongated duration, sometimes up to 12 hours, a deeper and richer sense of place emerges. In Place is an elegant and thoughtful reflection on these experiences, capturing those small details that ultimately compose the world around us. Turning his ear to the daily life around him, Kahn's diaristic accounts capture an extremely tenacious form of attention—a bare listening.
Jason Kahn (born 1960 in New York, lives and works in Zürich) is a musician and artist who grew up in Los Angeles, and relocated to Europe in 1990. His work includes , performance and experimental composition. Kahn has been exhibiting his sound and visual works since the late 1990s, and has had solo and group exhibitions internationally, including Townhouse Gallery of Contemporary Art, Cairo, Diapason Gallery, New York, and Centre d'Art Neuchatel, Switzerland. Originally a percussionist, Kahn later began integrating live electronics into his playing. As a composer, his work draws on electronic and acoustic sound sources to create slowly developing compositions imbued with a sense of timelessness. His work addresses the entity of sound as both a physical and psychological factor shaping our consciousness. Kahn's sound installations seek to enhance spatial awareness through sonic intervention, focusing on expanding our perception to other dimensions of seeing, hearing and feeling a space. Kahn has given concerts at various festivals, art spaces and clubs throughout the world, traveling and presenting extensively in Europe, North and South America, as well as Asia.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
 



version française / english version
In Place
Jason Kahn [tous les titres]
Errant Bodies [tous les titres] Audio Issues [tous les titres]
Jason Kahn In Place
paru en septembre 2015
édition anglaise
13 x 18,5 cm (broché, couv. à rabats)
112 pages
13.00 €
ISBN : 978-0-9889375-4-3
EAN : 9780988937543
en stock
 
Dans sa série de travaux In Place, Jason Kahn étudie un ensemble de lieux à travers les sons qu'ils produisent. Influencé par les théories d'Henri Lefebvre, Kahn le musicien explore les rythmes de la vie et s'interroge sur la formation et notre expérience de l'espace.
Accordant une attention toute particulière à son environnement, Jason Kahn a initié avec In Place une forme d'engagement sonore dans divers lieux spécifiques. Passant plusieurs heures à un endroit donné d'une ville, Kahn écoute, regarde et observe la vie quotidienne. Une écoute prolongée, parfois jusqu'à 12 heures, à travers laquelle émerge un nouveau sens plus profond et plus riche du lieu. In Place est le reflet élégant et réfléchi sur ces expériences, la captation des détails infimes qui composent finalement le monde qui nous entoure. Ces comptes-rendus de la musicalité quotidienne capturent une forme extrêmement tenace de l'attention – une écoute à nu.
Jason Kahn (né en 1960 à New York, vit et travaille à Zurich) est un musicien et artiste ayant grandi à Los Angeles avant de joindre l'Europe en 1990. Son travail fait d'installations sonores, de performances et de compositions expérimentales est largement reconnu à l'international. Depuis la fin des années 1990, Kahn multiplie les expositions personnelles et collectives, à la Townhouse Gallery of Contemporary Art, Le Caire, Diapason Gallery, New York, ainsi qu'au Centre d'Art de Neuchatel en Suisse. Percussionniste de formation, il intégrera progressivement des éléments électroniques dans son jeu. En tant que compositeur, son travail se fonde sur des sources sonores acoustiques et électroniques pour créer des compositions lentes imprégnées d'un sentiment d'intemporalité. Son travail porte sur l'entité du son à la fois comme facteur physique et psychologique de construction cognitive. Les installations sonores de Kahn cherchent à améliorer la perception de l'espace par l'intervention sonore, en se concentrant sur l'expansion de cette perception à d'autres dimensions visuelles et d'écoutes. Kahn se produit dans différents festivals, galeries et clubs à travers le monde, voyageant et performant souvent en Europe, Amérique du Nord et Latine, et en Asie.