les presses du réel

Cathy Josefowitz -
Retrospective monograph documenting the exceptional yet little-known journey of Cathy Josefowitz (1956-2014), painter, designer, dancer and musician.
“Josefowitz used painting to give body to those with more unsung existences, turning them into new heroes. The representation of these other bodies—female, non-human and black—allowed her to treat the essential themes that run throughout her work: marginality, power play, and the violence that goes with it. She also took pains, in the footsteps of an artist like Francis Bacon, to present bodies that are sick, deformed, giving birth or eating.”—Rebecca Lamarche-Vadel

The richly illustrated volume offers the occasion to discover a singular yet little-known body of work on the borders of the art world. The practice of the late American-born, Swiss-based artist Cathy Josefowitz (1956–2014), constructed through painting, dance, drawing, and music, focused on a research into the figure of Other, their body, feelings, spirituality, suffering, and ecstasy—resonating with current discourses around a return to figuration; otherness; gender and the body.
Cathy Josefowitz was born in 1956 in New York. At the age of 16 she entered the Théâtre National de Strasbourg to study theatre design. She settled there with Romain Denis, grandson of the painter Maurice Denis and an artist in his own right. She abandoned her studies before the end of the first year and moved to Paris, where she entered the École Nationale des Beaux-Arts. She helped Romain Denis on the sets of Molière by Ariane Mnouchkine but preferred to spend time alone and paint. Her first works were large expressionist and figurative paintings on kraft paper. In the United States she discovered dance and primal theatre, a technique focused on improvisation and the search for raw, primitive and unconscious emotions. In 1979, at the age of 23, she went to England to study dance at the Dartington College of Arts in Devon. There she met two great masters of experimental contemporary dance: Steve Paxton, who co-founded the Judson Dance Theater with Trisha Brown in New York in the 1960s and who invented the dance practice of "contact improvisation"; and Mary Fulkerson, a founder of the “anatomical release technique”. Both would have great influence on her work. Cathy Josefowitz graduated with a degree in performing arts in 1983 with the choreographic composition Fiesta Graduata, which she created in collaboration with another student, Mara de Wit. They were given high praise by the judges and continued their work by creating the dance and theatre company Research and Navigation that same year in Wales. Close to the feminist milieu and highly involved in the gay and lesbian liberation movement, Cathy Josefowitz lived in a romantic relationship with a woman, Susan, from 1983 to 1987. She composed and sang militant songs with dancing friends under the group name Lining Time. She then studied choreography in Amsterdam at the SNND (School for New Dance Development) in 1987.
In the early 1990s, she devoted herself to painting and worked on several series of works on the themes of animals , transportation, and dance. It was also during this period that she began her first monochromes inspired by the nature and landscapes of California, especially Ojai, where she had stayed in 1990. In 1997, she met the painter Colin Paul Mey and began to live with him. Ever more tied to the body and gestures, her painting practice developed into creating very large formats on the ground. From 1998 to 2000, she made a series of abstract and geometric works inspired by the colour and light of her travels in Egypt entitled Prayers. In 2004, Cathy Josefowitz and her son moved to Geneva and she continued to paint in a workshop in Carouge. She created black and white monochromes, smaller format works that mixed abstraction and the figurative as well as techniques including painting and collages of various subjects in an investigation that revisited themes from her past paintings. In 2008 she created a series of canvases with four hands painted over the course of a few months with Colin Paul Mey. This pictorial and amorous game mixed their two practices with representations of décor and stage sets. Then she returned to large format works in a series of paintings on the theme of the Kama Sutra. Gradually, figures would disappear to make room for almost monochromatic variations in large formats. In 2011, Cathy Josefowitz and Mara de Wit relaunched Research and Navigation, the company they founded in 1983. They explored the relationship between dance and painting. Their year of work together resulted in the movie Fiesta Graduata Revisited. Over the course of a few months at the end of 2012 and in 2013, shed painted many paintings on the theme of Skies, in shades of grey and pink, whose scenographic composition (as paintings in movement) she worked on with Lorenzo Piqueras. Cathy Josefowitz died on June 28, 2014 in Geneva.
Texts by Ludovic Delalande, Rebecca Lamarche-Vadel, Elise Lammer.
 
published in March 2020
bilingual edition (English / French)
24 x 33 cm (softcover)
288 pages (color & b/w ill.)
 
27.00
 
ISBN : 978-88-6749-404-0
EAN : 9788867494040
 
in stock


 top of page

En raison de la situation sanitaire, les expéditions sont actuellement interrompues. Les commandes sont bien entendu notées et seront traitées dès que possible. Merci !
les presses du réel

Cathy Josefowitz -
Monographie rétrospective retraçant le parcours d'exception d'une figure méconnue du monde de l'art : Cathy Josefowitz (1956-2014), peintre, dessinatrice, danseuse et musicienne.
Ce volume richement illustré offre l'occasion de découvrir un corpus à la fois singulier et peu connu, aux frontières du monde de l'art. La pratique de l'artiste suisse Cathy Josefowitz (1956-2014), à travers la peinture, la danse, le dessin et la musique, s'est concentrée sur une recherche autour la figure de l'Autre : son corps, ses sentiments, sa spiritualité, sa souffrance et son extase, et résonne avec les pensées actuelles autour du retour à la figuration, de l'altérité, du genre et du corps.
Cathy Josefowitz est née en 1956 à New-York. À 16 ans, elle entre au Théâtre National de Strasbourg pour y étudier le décor de théâtre. Elle s'y installe avec Romain Denis, petit-fils du peintre Maurice Denis et artiste lui aussi. Elle quitte ses études avant la fin de la première année, et déménage à Paris où elle intègre l'École Nationale des Beaux-Arts. Elle aide Romain Denis sur les décors du Molière d'Ariane Mnouchkine, mais préfère rapidement s'isoler pour peindre. Ses premières œuvres sont de grandes toiles expressionnistes et figuratives sur papier kraft. C'est aux États-Unis qu'elle découvre la danse et le « primal theater » : une technique axée sur l'improvisation et la recherche d'émotions brutes, primitives et inconscientes. En 1979, âgée de vingt-trois ans, elle part étudier la danse en Angleterre, au Dartington College of Arts dans le Devon. Elle y fait la rencontre de deux grands maîtres de la danse contemporaine expérimentale : Steve Paxton – fondateur avec Trisha Brown du Judson Dance Theater à New York dans les années soixante et inventeur de la pratique de danse « Contact improvisation » – et Mary Fulkerson, une des fondatrices de la « Anatomical Release Technique ». Tous deux auront une grande influence sur son travail. Cathy Josefowitz obtient un diplôme en « Performing Arts » en 1983 avec la chorégraphie Fiesta Graduata, crée en collaboration avec une autre étudiante, Mara de Wit. Elles obtiennent les félicitations du jury et poursuivent leur travail avec la fondation au Pays de Galles la même année, de la compagnie de danse et de théâtre Research and Navigation. Proche du milieu féministe et très investie dans le mouvement de libération gay et lesbien, Josefowitz vit de 1983 à 1987 une relation amoureuse avec une femme, Susanne. Elle compose et chante des textes militants avec des amies danseuses sous le nom de groupe Lining time. Elle étudie ensuite en 1987 la chorégraphie dans l'école The School for New Dance Development (SNND) à Amsterdam.
Au début des années 1990, Cathy Josefowitz se dédie à la peinture et travaille à plusieurs série d'œuvres ayant pour thème les animaux, les moyens de transport, la danse. C'est aussi la période où elle débute ses premiers monochromes inspirés par la nature et les paysages de Californie, particulièrement Ojai, où elle a séjourné en 1990. En 1997 elle rencontre le peintre Colin Paul Mey avec qui elle s'installe. Sa peinture se développe au travers de très grands formats au sol et lie encore plus sa peinture au corps, au geste. De 1998 à 2000, elle réalise une série d'œuvres abstraites et géométriques inspirée par ses voyages en Égypte, par la couleur et la lumière, intitulées « Prières ». En 2004, elle et son fils déménagent à Genève et elle poursuit sa peinture dans un atelier à Carouge. Elle réalise des monochromes noir et blanc, des formats plus petits qui mêlent abstraction et figuratif, peinture et collages de diverses matières, dans une recherche qui revisite les thèmes de ses tableaux passés. En 2008, elle fait une série de toiles à quatre mains, peintes en quelques mois, avec Colin Paul Mey ; un jeu pictural et amoureux qui mêle leurs deux pratiques en représentant des décors, des scènes. Puis elle renoue avec les grands formats dans une série de tableaux sur le thème du Kamasutra. Peu à peu les figures disparaissent pour laisser place à des variations quasi monochromatiques sur grands formats. En 2011, Cathy Josefowitz et Mara de Wit reprennent l'activité de Research and Navigation, la compagnie qu'elles ont fondée en 1983. Elles explorent la relation entre la danse et la peinture. De cette année de travail nait le film Fiesta Graduata Revisited. Fin 2012 et 2013 elle peint en quelques mois de nombreuses toiles sur le thème des « Ciels », dans les tons gris et roses. Cathy Josefowitz s'éteint le 28 juin 2014, à Genève.
Textes de Ludovic Delalande, Rebecca Lamarche-Vadel, Elise Lammer.
 
paru en mars 2020
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
24 x 33 cm (broché, couv. à rabats)
288 pages (ill. coul. et n&b)
 
27.00
 
ISBN : 978-88-6749-404-0
EAN : 9788867494040
 
en stock


 haut de page