english version / version française
9e Biennale d’art contemporain de Lyon – L’histoire d’une décennie qui n’est pas encore nommée
Les presses du réel Contemporary art [see all titles]
  9e Biennale d’art contemporain de Lyon L’histoire d’une décennie qui n’est pas encore nommée
Edited by Stéphanie Moisdon and Hans Ulrich Obrist.
Texts by Anselm Jappe, Paul Veyne, Ralph Rugoff, François Cusset, Stefano Boeri, Okwui Enwezor, Mehdi Belhaj Kacem, Michel Houellebecq, Saâdane Afif, Pierre Joseph.
Graphic design: M/M (Paris).
published in 2007
French edition
18 x 23,5 (softcover)
304 pages (500 colour ill.)
€28.00 €18.00
(special offer)
ISBN: 978-2-84066-221-1
EAN: 9782840662211
in stock
 
Catalogue of the 9th Contemporary Art Lyon Biennal (The History of a Decade that has not yet been named), curated by Stéphanie Moisdon and Hans Ulrich Obrist, from September 19 2007 to January 6 2008.
This publication is concerned with play, mapping, and the experience of a collective writing. Thought of as a history, geography, and contemporary art book, it is the result of a series of delegations, invitations, and programs of those who conceived the event. Bringing together 70 “players” from around the world, divided into two groups according to whether they are artists or critics and exhibition curators, the project was developed around a central question: How to define the current decade. If the task of the first group was to choose responses among those proposed by artists today, the second group, benefiting from an open curatorial proposition, had to sequence these choices or confront them with others. Altogether, these subjectivities, framed by a few rules of presentation find themselves here as participants in an exercise of determining, repositioning, and reframing a decade and an object – art – the course of which is, as the yardstick of all-purpose concepts today, more and more indispensable.
This catalogue is also available in English edition (hardcover).

With Stéphanie Moisdon, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Saâdane Afif, Jennifer Allora & Guillermo Calzadilla, Wilfrid Almendra, Yves Aupetitallot, Pierre Bal-Blanc, Virginie Barré, Daniel Birnbaum, Jérôme Bel, Giovanni Carmine, Etienne Chambaud, Claude Closky, Delphine Coindet, Keren Cytter, Alain Declercq, Philippe Decrauzat, Willem De Rooij, Daniel Dewar & Grégory Gicquel, David Evrard, Hu Fang, Urs Fischer, Cyprien Gaillard, Ryan Gander, Mark Geffriaud, Wade Guyton, Dave Hullfish Bailey Norma Jeane, Pierre Joseph, Raimundas Malašauskas, Benoît Maire, Pierre Malphettes, Didier Marcel, Francis McKee, Nathaniel Mellors, Mathieu Mercier, Markus Miessen, Stefan Nikolaev, Olivier Nottelet, Vincent Pécoil, Bruno Peinado, Abraham Poincheval, Seth Price, Lili Reynaud-Dewar, Thomas Saraceno, Josh Smith, Simon Starling, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Armando Andrade Tudela, Rosemarie Trockel, Eric Troncy, Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas, Annie Vigier & Franck Apertet, Dorothea von Hantelmann, Kelley Walker, Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas, Tirdad Zolghadr...

See also the catalogues of the 14th, 13th, 12th, 11th (volumes 1 and 2), 10th (volumes 1 and 2), and 7th editions.

les presses du réel

9e Biennale d'art contemporain de LyonL'histoire d'une décennie qui n'est pas encore nommée

 - 9e Biennale d\'art contemporain de Lyon
Catalogue de la 9e Biennale d'art contemporain de Lyon (19 septembre 2007 – 6 janvier 2008), conçu suivant les principes qui régissent la programmation de la manifestation organisée par Stéphanie Moisdon et Hans Ulrich Obrist.
Cet ouvrage relève à la fois du jeu, de la cartographie et de l'expérience d'une écriture collective. Pensé comme un livre d'histoire et de géographie de l'art contemporain, il est le résultat d'une série d'investigations et de programmations des concepteurs de la manifestation et de Thierry Raspail. Réunissant 70 « joueurs » du monde entier (artistes, critiques et commissaires d'exposition) répartis entre deux cercles selon le type d'intervention demandé, le projet s'est développé autour d'une question centrale : « Comment définir la décennie actuelle ? ». S'il était proposé au premier cercle de choisir de choisir des réponses parmi ce que les artistes produisent aujourd'hui, il était demandé aux joueurs du second cercle de séquencer leurs choix ou de les confronter à d'autres. L'ensemble de ces subjectivités, cadrées par quelques règles de présentation (qui ? pourquoi ? comment ?), participent ici à un exercice de délimitation, de détourage et de recadrage d'une décennie et d'un objet – l'art – dont le tracé est de plus en plus indispensable. La publication s'accompagne d'essais inédits de et d'entretiens avec Mehdi Belhaj Kacem, Stefano Boeri, François Cusset, Okwui Enwezor, Michel Houellebecq, Anselm Jappe, Paul Veyne et Ralph Rugoff.
Edité par Stéphanie Moisdon et Hans Ulrich Obrist.
Textes de Anselm Jappe, Paul Veyne, Ralph Rugoff, François Cusset, Stefano Boeri, Okwui Enwezor, Mehdi Belhaj Kacem, Michel Houellebecq, Saâdane Afif, Pierre Joseph.
Graphisme : M/M (Paris).
 
paru en 2007
édition française
18 x 23,5 cm (broché, sous jaquette)
304 pages (500 ill. coul.)
 
28.00 18.00
(offre spéciale)
 
ISBN : 978-2-84066-221-1
EAN : 9782840662211
 
en stock
 
dossier de presse
 
9e Biennale d'art contemporain de Lyon 9e Biennale d'art contemporain de Lyon 9e Biennale d'art contemporain de Lyon 9e Biennale d'art contemporain de Lyon 9e Biennale d'art contemporain de Lyon 9e Biennale d'art contemporain de Lyon 9e Biennale d'art contemporain de Lyon 9e Biennale d'art contemporain de Lyon


 haut de page