les presses du réel

Sentimental / A House of Ink

Ali Kazma - Sentimental / A House of Ink
Recent video works by Turkish artist Ali Kazma.
The book presents Kazma's latest works, dedicated to his compatriot, Nobel Prize winner Orhan Pamuk. It extends the structure of these videos. A House of Ink (2022) offers a succession of details of the writer's flat, his manuscripts, his library, etc., as if this interior revealed, however allusively, Pamuk's inner world. As if it were not simply the place of creation, but also the means. Sentimental (2022) is composed of a brief exchange between the writer and the video artist after days of silent shots. It shows Pamuk signing piles of books while also questioning two sorts of artists: the "naïve" type who travels the world in search of inspiration, and the "sentimental" artist who, like Pamuk, requires the peace and permanence of what might be called "a room of his own" to create.
The catalogue, imagined by the Éditions Empire, has been designed according to the characteristics of the novel, of which it takes up several distinctive elements while offering a look at the structure of the book itself, echoing Ali Kazma's interest in the processes of production and creation. In addition to numerous illustrations from his latest and earlier works, the book includes an introductory text by the young Turkish critic and curator Nilüfer Şaşmazer, as well as an interview conducted by Guillaume de Sardes with the artist.
Published on the occasion of Ali Kazma's exhibition at Nouveau Musée National de Monaco - Villa Sauber in 2022-2023.
Ali Kazma (born 1971 in Istanbul, lives between Istanbul and Paris) is a Turkish video artist whose practice centres on the media of photography and video. His works raise fundamental questions about the meaning of human activities. Whether in the fields of economics, industry, science, medicine, society or art, each of his videos questions the developments that take place in our societies, and together gradually represent a vast archive of the human condition. Kazma shoots and edits all his videos himself.
Born in 1971, Ali Kazma divides his time between Istanbul and Paris. He graduated from the University of Colorado in Boulder and obtained his master's degree from the New School University in New York. The artist, who represented Turkey at the 55th Venice Biennale in 2013, was given a monographic exhibition at the Jeu de Paume in Paris in 2017. Kazma's most important solo exhibitions include Albergo Diurno Venezia (Milan, 2018), MUNTREF (Buenos Aires, 2018), Arter (Istanbul, 2015), Hirshhorn Museum (Washington, D.C., 2010), TANAS (Berlin, 2010) and Platform Garanti (Istanbul, 2004). His works are included in numerous institutional collections, such as CNAP (Paris), Istanbul Modern, MEP (Paris), MONA (Tasmania), Sztuki Museum (Lodz), Tate Modern (London), TBA21 (Vienna), Fondation Louis Vuitton collection (Paris) and the VKV Foundation collection (Istanbul).
Texts by Nilüfer Şaşmazer, Ali Kazma, Guillaume de Sardes.

Graphic design: Syndicat.
 
published in January 2023
bilingual edition (English / French)
13,5 x 22,5 cm (softcover)
128 pages (ill.)
 
24.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-95991-24-3
EAN : 9791095991243
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Sentimental / A House of Ink

Ali Kazma - Sentimental / A House of Ink
Les œuvres vidéo récentes de l'artiste turc Ali Kazma.
L'ouvrage présente les deux dernières œuvres de Kazma, consacrées à son compatriote, le prix Nobel Orhan Pamuk. Le livre prolonge la structure de ces vidéos. A House of Ink (2022) offre une succession de détails de l'appartement de l'écrivain, ses manuscrits, sa bibliothèque... comme si cet intérieur révélait, serait-ce de manière allusive, son monde intérieur. Comme s'il était, non pas seulement le lieu, mais aussi le moyen de la création. Sentimental (2022) se structure autour bref échange survenu entre l'écrivain et le vidéaste après des journées entières de prises de vues silencieuses. On y voit Pamuk dédicacer des livres à la chaîne tout en s'interrogeant sur ces deux sortes d'artistes que sont le « naïf » qui parcourt le monde pour trouver l'inspiration et le « sentimental » qui, comme lui, a besoin pour créer de la quiétude et de l'immuabilité de ce qu'on pourrait appeler « une chambre à soi ».
Le catalogue d'exposition conçu par les éditions Empire a été pensé selon les caractéristiques du roman dont il reprend plusieurs éléments distinctifs tout en offrant un regard sur la structure même du livre, en écho à l'intérêt d'Ali Kazma pour les processus de production et de création. Outre de nombreuses illustrations tirées de ses dernières œuvres et de travaux plus anciens, l'ouvrage comprend un texte introductif de la jeune critique et curatrice turque Nilüfer Şaşmazer, ainsi qu'un entretien réalisé par Guillaume de Sardes avec l'artiste.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition d'Ali Kazma au Nouveau Musée National de Monaco - Villa Sauber en 2022-2023.
Ali Kazma (né en 1971 à Istanbul, vit entre Istanbul et Paris) est un vidéaste turc dont la pratique s'articule autour des médias photographiques et filmiques. Ses œuvres soulèvent des questions fondamentales sur le sens des activités auxquelles se livrent les hommes. Que ce soit dans les champs économique, industriel, scientifique, médical, social ou artistique, chacune de ses vidéos interrogent les évolutions à l'œuvre dans nos sociétés, constituant progressivement une vaste archive de la condition humaine. L'artiste photographie et édite lui-même toutes ses vidéos.
Ali Kazma a obtenu sa licence à l'université du Colorado à Boulder et sa maîtrise à la New School University de New York. L'artiste, qui a représenté la Turquie à la 55e Biennale de Venise en 2013, a bénéficié d'une exposition monographique au Jeu de Paume à Paris en 2017. Parmi ses principales expositions personnelles, on peut citer Albergo Diurno Venezia (Milan, 2018), MUNTREF (Buenos Aires, 2018), Arter (Istanbul, 2015), Hirshhorn Museum (Washington, 2010), TANAS (Berlin, 2010) et Platform Garanti (Istanbul, 2004). Les œuvres de l'artiste figurent dans de nombreuses collections institutionnelles telles que le CNAP (Paris), l'Istanbul Modern, la MEP (Paris), le MONA (Tasmanie), le Sztuki Museum (Lodz), la Tate Modern (Londres), le TBA21 (Vienne), la collection de la Fondation Louis Vuitton (Paris) ou encore la collection de la Fondation VKV (Istanbul).
Textes de Nilüfer Şaşmazer, Ali Kazma, Guillaume de Sardes.

Conception graphique: Syndicat.
 
paru en janvier 2023
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
13,5 x 22,5 cm (broché)
128 pages (ill.)
 
24.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-95991-24-3
EAN : 9791095991243
 
en stock
Sentimental / A House of Ink Sentimental / A House of Ink Sentimental / A House of Ink Sentimental / A House of Ink Sentimental / A House of Ink Sentimental / A House of Ink Sentimental / A House of Ink Sentimental / A House of Ink Sentimental / A House of Ink


 haut de page