les presses du réel

Permanent Presents

Nathaniel Mellors - Permanent Presents
Monograph dedicated to the film series incorporating central Neanderthal figures produced by British artist Nathaniel Mellors since 2012.
This book, which brings together for the first time the entire series of films around the figure of Neanderthal Man produced by Nathaniel Mellors since 2012, is also the only monograph currently in circulation on the work of this British artist, since the catalogue The Aalto Natives – A Transcendental Manual published in 2017 on the occasion of the 57th Venice Biennale. This book is not only a documentation of the exhibition, including numerous installation views, but also an extension of this project with a text by Marie de Brugerolle and two interviews by the artist with Italian art critic Mattia Tosti and American editor Clayton Eshleman, notably known for his translations of César Vallejo and his studies of cave painting and the Palaeolithic imagination.
Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition at Frac Bretagne, Rennes, in 2021-2022.
Nathaniel Mellors (born 1974 in Doncaster, United Kingdom) develops an art based on film-making; writing scripts as well as directing and editing them, and working closely with actors such as Patrick Kennedy and David Birkin. To these films, he adds works based on sculpture and photograms, such as the ones that can be seen in this show. His studio works incorporate humor, irreverence, the poetic and the absurd but to address themes of ownership, history, power, morality etc. By drawing inspiration from the techniques linked to cinematographic fictions, he inscribes his work within given contexts of the social reality that he questions and analyzes. He explores our tastes, morality, habits and the various ideas anchored in our collective memory.
Nathaniel Mellors is graduated from the Royal College of Art in London in 2001. His work has notably been shown at the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles and at the Art: Concept Gallery, Paris (2014); at the 57th Venice Biennale with Erkka Nissinen for the Finnish Pavilion (2017); at the New Museum in New York (2018); at The Box, Los Angeles and at Matt's Gallery in London (2019).
Edited by Chris Bloor.
Texts by Marie de Brugerolle, Nathaniel Mellors, Mattia Tosti, Clayton Eshleman.

Graphic design: Liam Johnstone.
 
published in November 2021
bilingual edition (English / French)
21 x 27,5 cm (softcover)
156 pages (ill.)
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-906127-66-1
EAN : 9782906127661
 
in stock
Nathaniel Mellors: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel

Permanent Presents

Nathaniel Mellors - Permanent Presents
Monographie consacrée à la série de films autour de la figure de l'Homme de Néandertal produite par l'artiste britannique Nathaniel Mellors depuis 2012.
Ce livre qui réunit pour la première fois l'intégralité de la série de films autour de la figure de l'Homme de Néandertal produite par Nathaniel Mellors depuis 2012 est également la seule monographie en circulation actuellement sur l'œuvre de cet artiste britannique, depuis le catalogue The Aalto Natives – A Transcendental Manual publié en 2017 à l'occasion de  la 57e édition de la biennale de Venise. Cet ouvrage est non seulement une documentation de l'exposition, incluant de nombreuses vues d'installation, mais aussi un prolongement de ce projet avec un texte de Marie de Brugerolle et deux entretiens de l'artiste avec Mattia Tosti, critique d'art italien, et Clayton Eshleman, éditeur américain, notamment connu pour ses traductions de César Vallejo et ses études sur la peinture rupestre et l'imagination paléolithique.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme au Frac Bretagne, Rennes, en 2021-2022.
Nathaniel Mellors (né en 1974 à Doncaster, Royaume-Uni) développe un art basé sur la réalisation de films, de l'écriture des scénarios aux tournages au cours desquels il s'entoure d'acteurs comme Patrick Kennedy ou David Birkin. A ces films s'ajoute un travail autour de la sculpture ou encore des photogrammes. Ses œuvres sont pleines d'humour, elles sont irrévérencieuses et absurdes parfois, poétiques souvent mais bien que décalées, elles évoquent les thèmes de la possession, de l'histoire et du pouvoir. En utilisant les techniques de la fiction cinématographique, il insère ses œuvres dans un contexte déterminé et ancre son propos dans une réalité sociale qu'il questionne et analyse. Il s'interroge sur nos goûts, notre morale, nos habitudes et autres idées ancrées dans notre mémoire collective.
Nathaniel Mellors est diplômé du Royal College of Art de Londres en 2001. Son travail a notamment été présenté au Hammer Museum de los Angeles et à la Galerie art : concept, Paris (2014) ; à la 57e Biennale de Venise avec Erkka Nissinen pour le Pavillon Finlandais (2017) ; au New Museum de New-York (2018) ; à The Box, Los Angeles et à la Matt's Gallery de Londres (2019).
Edité par Chris Bloor.
Textes de Marie de Brugerolle, Nathaniel Mellors, Mattia Tosti, Clayton Eshleman.

Conception graphique : Liam Johnstone.
 
paru en novembre 2021
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
21 x 27,5 cm (broché)
156 pages (ill.)
 
15.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-906127-66-1
EAN : 9782906127661
 
en stock
Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents Permanent Presents
Nathaniel Mellors : autre titre



 haut de page