les presses du réel

Wait to WaitA Conversation

Wait to Wait Boris Groys, Andro Wekua - Wait to Wait
An "unequal" pair from the ranks of philosophy and contemporary art were brought to the table for debate. The celebrated Russian philosopher Boris Groys, and the young international artist from Georgia Andro Wekua, discussed their shared experiences in the Soviet system, the conditions governing production in contemporary art today, and the sensitivities of a generation of artists born in the 1970s, taking Wekua's two large installations "Wait to Wait" and "Get Out of My Room" as examples.
Phenomena such as loneliness, doubles, repetitions, mirror images, and waiting are the central themes of this conversation, illustrated by pictures of the two installations and several collages by Wekua.
The publication is part of the series of artist's projects edited by Christoph Keller.

Awarded: “Most Beautiful Swiss Books 2009”.
German philosopher, essayist, art critic and media theorist Boris Groys (born 1947 in East Berlin) teaches at the Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung in Karlsruhe. His works oriented towards modern and contemporary art develop a reflection on modernity, postmodernity and the question of the subject.
Working in a diverse array of media, Andro Wekua (born 1977 in Sukhumi, Georgia, lives and works in Switzerland) has developed a visual language grounded in the exploration of human experience through the subtle intersections of individual and pooled memory, personal identity, and history. Drawing on genres such as fantasy, science-fiction, and horror, Wekua creates fantastical and often macabre tableaux, revealing the complex processes of reconstruction and fragmentation that continually inform the personal, social, and fictive experience of remembrance. Creating pictorial representations of the past to better comprehend and grapple with the present, Wekua meditates on the tenuous boundary between historical reality and the artificial construct of remembering, pointing to the inescapable fact that the past is always distorted by the subjectivity of memory.
Edited by Christoph Keller.
Texts by Boris Groys and Andro Wekua.
 
published in 2009
bilingual edition (English / German)
13,5 x 19,6 cm (hardcover, cloth binding, dust jacket)
160 pages (20 color ill.)
 
19.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-03764-021-0
EAN : 9783037640210
 
in stock
Wait to Wait Wait to Wait Wait to Wait
Boris Groys, Andro Wekua: other titles












 top of page

les presses du réel

Wait to WaitA Conversation

Wait to Wait Boris Groys & Andro Wekua - Wait to Wait
Une conversation entre le célèbre philosophe russe et le jeune artiste international d'origine géorgienne, autour de leur expérience respective du système soviétique, des conditions de production de l'art contemporain aujourd'hui, et de la sensibilité d'une génération d'artistes nées dans les années 1970, à partir de l'exemple de deux grandes installations de Wekua, Wait to Wait et Get Out of My Room.
Le livre est illustré d'images des installations et de collages spécifiques de Wekua.
Cet ouvrage s'inscrit dans la collection de livres d'artistes éditée par Christoph Keller.

Il a été primé dans le cadre du concours « Les plus beaux livres suisses 2009 ».
Penseur, écrivain, théoricien des médias et critique d'art allemand, Boris Groys (né en 1947 à Berlin Est) enseigne à la Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung de Karlsruhe. Ses travaux orientés vers l'art moderne et l'art contemporain développent une réflexion sur la modernité, la postmodernité et la question du sujet.

L'artiste Andro Wekua (né en 1977 à Sukhumi, Géorgie, vit et travaille en Suisse) sonde, avec un langage visuel qui lui est propre, la condition humaine telle qu'elle apparaît aux intersections de la mémoire individuelle et collective, de l'identité personnelle et de l'histoire. Son œuvre, qui mêle de manière suggestive dessin, peinture, collage et sculpture, se construit sur des structures narratives fortement centrées sur leur sujet tout en restant toujours ouvertes. Situé dans un no man's land quelque part entre Est et Ouest, entre précision esthétique et improvisation, entre monde fantastique et tableaux macabres, l'univers visuel de Wekua reflète tout à la fois la mélancolie d'une enfance dans un pays post-communiste, le sentiment du tragique de l'Histoire, et la polysémie des images, des médias et des signes de sa génération.

Voir aussi Boris Groys ; Andro Wekua.
 
Edité par Christoph Keller.
Texte de Boris Groys et d'Andro Wekua.
 
paru en 2009
édition bilingue (anglais / allemand)
13,5 x 19,6 cm (relié, couv. toilée sous jaquette)
160 pages (20 ill. coul.)
 
19.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-03764-021-0
EAN : 9783037640210
 
en stock
Wait to Wait Wait to Wait Wait to Wait


 haut de page