les presses du réel
John Cornu -
This monograph offers a panoramic view of John Cornu's practice since 2006, with thirty-eight works accompanied by thirty-eight texts by historians, curators, conservation experts, art critics, and contemporary artists, with as many different approaches and possible readings.
The publication has been produced entirely in black and white—a recognisable gesture in which Cornu distinguishes between what it is to really show and that which rather pertains to documentation—with a pared-back, minimal design, in line with an assertively orthonormal arrangement according to which the pieces have been classified in alphabetical order, so as to avoid any chronological reading of this body of work.
French artist John Cornu (born 1976) works with an aesthetic inherited from Minimalism and Modernism (monochromy, seriality, modularity, the primacy of the materials), while maintaining a strong relation to (historical, architectural, societal) context and a form of contemporary Romanticism (Dionysianism, erosion, blindness, references to different sonic universes, and entropy). With an interest for modern ruins, logics of power, and anthropological gaps, the artist imbues his productions with an atmosphere at once poetic, cathartic and without compromise. Whether sculptural, performative, or installation-based, they address paradoxical forces, setting up a multiplicity of meanings and readings.
Edited by Géraldine Dufournet and Emma-Charlotte Gobry-Laurencin.
Texts by Amanda Geitner, Jean-Roch Bouiller, Géraldine Dufournet, Emmanuel Lambion, Agnès Violeau, Annabelle Gugnon, Anne Langlois, Axelle Blanc, Ludovic Delalande, Gilles A. Tiberghien, Muriel Leray, Benoît Lamy de La Chapelle, Anne Dary, Jean-Christophe Arcos, Violette Labihé, Franck Balland, Mouna Mekouar, Ann Stouvenel, Hélène Virion , Christian Alandete, Anaël Pigeat, Manuel Fadat, Richard Leydier, Christophe Viart, Francis Raynaud, Bernard Marcadé, Dorothée Duvivier, Adrien Abline, Remi Parcollet, Mathias Courtet, Mathieu Mercier, Jean-Marc Huitorel, Laurence Corbel, Marjolaine Lévy, Jérôme Dupeyrat, Magali Gentet, Marie Chênel, Julien Verhaeghe.

Published by Cultureclub-studio with La Criée, Rennes.
 
2022 (publication expected by 2nd quarter)
bilingual edition (English / French)
16,5 x 22 cm (hardcover)
376 pages (ill.)
 
28.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9564067-9-2
EAN : 9782956406792
 
forthcoming
John Cornu: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel
John Cornu -
Nouvelle monographie, parcourant l'œuvre de John Cornu en mettant en regard des textes d'une quarantaine d'auteurs et autant de créations.
En représentant un panorama de la création de John Cornu depuis 2006, cette monographie met en regard et en résonance trente-huit œuvres et trente-huit textes commandés à des historien.ne.s, curateur.rice.s, conservateur.rice.s, critiques d'art ou encore artistes contemporain.e.s, comme autant de voies et possibilités d'interprétations.
Entièrement conçue en noir et blanc – l'artiste distinguant comme à son habitude la monstration réelle de ce qui est de l'ordre d'une documentation autour des œuvres –, et affichant un graphisme épuré calé sur une grille orthonormée affirmée, la publication suit l'ordre alphabétique des titres pour ne favoriser aucune lecture chronologique du travail.
Artiste français (né en 1976 à Seclin), John Cornu propose une attitude héritée du minimalisme et du modernisme (sérialité, modularité, primauté des matériaux) tout en convoquant souvent un rapport fort au contexte (historique, architectural, sociétal) et une forme de romantisme contemporain assumé (attitude dionysiaque, usure, cécité, références à différentes productions sonores, entropie…). S'intéressant à des thèmes comme les ruines modernes, les logiques de pouvoir ou encore certains écarts anthropologiques, l'artiste instaure dans ses productions une atmosphère à la fois poétique, cathartique et sans concession. Qu'elles soient sculpturales, performatives ou encore installatives, ces dernières confrontent un ensemble de forces paradoxales, et induisent une multiplicité de sens, l'idée d'une plurivocité.
Artiste et maître de conférences en arts plastiques à l'université de Rennes 2, John Cornu a dirigé la programmation artistique de la Galerie Art & Essai de l'université Rennes 2 de 2014 à 2020.

Edité par Géraldine Dufournet et Emma-Charlotte Gobry-Laurencin.
Textes de Amanda Geitner, Jean-Roch Bouiller, Géraldine Dufournet, Emmanuel Lambion, Agnès Violeau, Annabelle Gugnon, Anne Langlois, Axelle Blanc, Ludovic Delalande, Gilles A. Tiberghien, Muriel Leray, Benoît Lamy de La Chapelle, Anne Dary, Jean-Christophe Arcos, Violette Labihé, Franck Balland, Mouna Mekouar, Ann Stouvenel, Hélène Virion , Christian Alandete, Anaël Pigeat, Manuel Fadat, Richard Leydier, Christophe Viart, Francis Raynaud, Bernard Marcadé, Dorothée Duvivier, Adrien Abline, Remi Parcollet, Mathias Courtet, Mathieu Mercier, Jean-Marc Huitorel, Laurence Corbel, Marjolaine Lévy, Jérôme Dupeyrat, Magali Gentet, Marie Chênel, Julien Verhaeghe.

Publié par Cultureclub-studio avec La Criée, Rennes.
 
2022 (parution prévue au 4e trimestre)
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16,5 x 22 cm (relié)
376 pages (ill.)
 
28.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9564067-9-2
EAN : 9782956406792
 
à paraître
John Cornu : autre titre



 haut de page