les presses du réel

Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD)

Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Phill Niblock - Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD)
An exhibitions book including 2 CDs with new pieces by Phill Niblock performed By Stephen O'Malley, Deborah Walker, Kasper Toeplitz, Franck Vigroux, David Maranha and many others.
Six musical compositions by Phill Niblock, soil and cutting tree of Amanatsu orange from Masanobu Fukuoka Natural Farm, wooden pedestals, speakers, wooden benches, wooden planter, acrylic case, water, sunlight. An exhibition by Mathieu Copeland.
Nurturing Exhibitions was one of two concomitant exhibitions that formed Exhibition Cuttings at Le Forum / Fondation Hermès in Tokyo, Japan between April 23rd and July 18th 2021, a time of closed borders when lives were mainly mediated through screens amidst various lockdowns.
A rich and fleeting ecosystem of new hybrid organisms nurtured by an environment in constant evolutionary motion, adapting in time, Nurturing Exhibitions consisted of an Amanatsu tree temporarily transplanted to the gallery space. Combined with the music of Phill Niblock that was played continuously, at times to a closed empty gallery, the photographs that compose this book portray the exhibition's entire lifespan, from a composition being recorded to a ripe fruit being picked.
Limited edition of 200 copies.
One of the most important multimedia artists of his generation, American minimalist composer, filmmaker and video artist Phill Niblock (born in 1933 in Anderson, Indiana, lives and works in New York) has produced a multidisciplinary work. His “Intermedia Art” features a combination of minimalist music, conceptual art, structural cinema, systematic or even political art, and has actively contributed to transform our perception and experience of time.
Admittedly one of the greatest experimental composers of our time, Phill Niblock initiated his career as a photographer and film director. A jazz passionate, he moved to New York in 1958 where he started photography In the mid-1960s, specializing in portraits of jazz musicians (Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus, Billy Strayhorn...). In the middle of the 1960s, he made his first films for the dancers and choreographers of the Judson Church Theater. From 1968 on, Phill Niblock focused on music and composed his first pieces, which, according to the artist, should be listened to at loud volume in order to explore their overtones. He pursued his film projects independently with The Movement of People Working, a series of films lasting over 25 hours, made between 1973 and 1991, in which the repetitive nature of work movements acts as a direct echo to his musical compositions.
Since the mid-1960s, his analogue photographic work explores New York's architecture and urban planning. The sequencing and layout of his images offer a mapping of the location and object photographed, such as the areas in South Bronx (1979) fallen into disuse or the facades of SoHo Broadway district (1988). Phill Niblock is particularly interested in the screening of moving images – films and slideshows. Produced between 1966 and 1969, Six Films, a series of short films with sound realized with 16mm film, heralds his experimental method through portraits of artists and musicians such as Sun Ra and Max Neuhaus.
In 1968, the artist started experimenting a combination of his visual productions with his musical scores in order to create sound architectural and environmental compositions. Recreated by the artist for the first time since its last presentation in 1972 for the purpose of this exhibition, the Environments series extracts the reality of different surroundings through images, all the while generating a dense and intense temporary environment of projected images, music and movements throughout the museum space.
Phill Niblock is the director of Experimental Intermedia, a foundation born in the flames of 1968's barricade-hopping.
 
2023 (publication expected by 1st quarter)
English edition
48 pages (ill.)
 
49.00
 
forthcoming
Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (book + 2 CD)
Phill Niblock: other titles












 top of page

les presses du réel

Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD)

Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Phill Niblock - Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD)
Un catalogue d'exposition contenant deux CD avec de nouvelles compositions de Phill Niblock interprétées par Stephen O'Malley, Deborah Walker, Kasper Toeplitz, Franck Vigroux, David Maranha, etc.
Six compositions musicales de Phill Niblock, terre et bouture de citronnier japonais de la ferme naturelle de Masanobu Fukuoka, socles en bois, haut-parleurs, bancs en bois, jardinière en bois, boîtier acrylique, eau, lumière du soleil... Une exposition de Mathieu Copeland.
Nurturing Exhibitions était l'une des deux expositions concomitantes qui formaient Exhibition Cuttings au Forum / Fondation Hermès à Tokyo, entre le 23 avril et le 18 juillet 2021, une époque pendant laquelle les frontières étaient fermées et les vies étaient principalement médiatisées par des écrans au milieu d'une série de confinements.
Conçu comme une écosystème riche et éphémère de nouveaux organismes hybrides nourris par un environnement en constant mouvement évolutif, s'adaptant au temps, le projet Nurturing Exhibitions était basé sur un citronnier japonais Amanatsu temporairement transplanté dans l'espace de la galerie. Associées à la musique de Phill Niblock jouée en continu, parfois devant une galerie vide fermée, les photographies qui composent ce livre illustrent toute la durée de vie de l'exposition, de l'enregistrement d'une composition à la cueillette d'un fruit mûr.
Edition limitée à 200 exemplaires.
Phill Niblock (né en 1933 à Anderson, Indiana, vit et travaille à New York et à Gand) propose depuis plus de quarante ans une œuvre pluridisciplinaire. Son art « intermedia » associe musique minimaliste, art conceptuel, cinéma structurel, art systématique ou encore politique, et s'active à modifier notre perception et notre expérience du temps.
Reconnu comme l'un des grands compositeurs expérimentaux de notre époque, Phill Niblock débute sa carrière artistique comme photographe et cinéaste. Passionné de jazz, il s'installe à New York en 1958. Niblock débute la photographie en 1960 et se spécialise dans les portraits des musiciens de jazz (Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus, Billy Strayhorn...). Au milieu des années 1960, il réalise ses premiers films pour les danseurs et chorégraphes du Judson Church Theater. A partir de 1968, Phill Niblock se consacre à la musique et compose ses premières pièces qui doivent – comme le précise l'artiste – être écoutées à fort volume pour en explorer les sur-harmoniques (overtones). Il poursuit indépendamment ses projets cinématographiques dont The Movement of People Working (le mouvement des gens qui travaillent), une série de films de plus de 25 heures réalisée entre 1973 et 1991 où la gestuelle répétitive du travail s'offre en écho direct à ses compositions musicales.
Depuis le milieu des années 1960, son œuvre photographique réalisée en argentique dépeint l'architecture et l'urbanisme new-yorkais. La séquence et l'agencement des vues proposent une cartographie du lieu et de l'objet photographié, tels que le quartier désaffecté au sud du Bronx en 1979 ou les façades du district de SoHo Broadway en 1988. Phill Niblock s'intéresse plus particulièrement à la projection d'images en mouvement – films et suites de diapositives. Produit entre 1966 et 1969, Six Films, une suite de courts-métrages sonores réalisés en film 16 mm, annonce sa démarche expérimentale au travers de portraits d'artistes et musiciens dont Sun Ra et Max Neuhaus.
A partir de 1968, l'artiste expérimente l'association de ses productions visuelles à son œuvre musicale pour créer des compositions architecturales et environnementales. La série des Environments, recréé par l'artiste pour la première fois depuis sa dernière présentation en 1972, extrait, par l'image, la réalité de plusieurs environnements, tout en créant un environnement temporaire dense et intense d'images projetées, de musique et de mouvements dans l'espace du musée.
Ancien professeur du College of Staten Island (City University de New York), Phill Niblock est depuis 1985 le directeur de l'Experimental Intermedia Foundation de New York, dont il est artiste / membre depuis 1968. Il est le producteur de Music and Presentation Intermedia depuis 1973 (environ 1000 représentations) et dirige le label XI Records de l'Experimental Intermedia.
La musique de Phill Niblock est disponible sur les labels XI, Moikai, Mode et Touch. Le label Extreme a publié un DVD de ses films.
 
2023 (parution prévue au 1er trimestre)
édition anglaise
48 pages (ill.)
 
49.00
 
à paraître
Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD) Nurturing Exhibitions (livre + 2 CD)
Phill Niblock : autres titres












 haut de page