Despite the lockdown measures in France, the distribution is still active so all titles remain available. Many thanks for your support!
les presses du réel

Tomorrow's Man 5

Jack Pierson - Tomorrow\'s Man 5
The fifth volume in Jack Pierson's famed Tomorrow's Man series associates archival material and works by contemporary artists in a collage-like design to produce an exploded vision of the current visual landscape, draped in vintage homoeroticism and glamour.
The fifth volume in Jack Pierson's celebrated Tomorrow's Man artist book series mixes imagery from all spectrums of the visual landscape into a single mediation on the world around us. Combining archival material together with contributions by emerging and established artists, Tomorrow's Man 5 continues on where the earlier volumes left off.
Contributions by Dietmar Busse, David Carrino, Jeff Davis, Florence Derive, David Dupuis, Gareth McConnell, Jack Pierson, Samoa, Clement PJ Schneider, Janet Stein, Paula Stuttman, Richard Tinkler, Jordan Wolfson.

Tomorrow's Man 5 comes in five different covers, randomly distributed.

Tomorrow's Man is a series of artist's books by Jack Pierson. The title comes from an infamous bodybuilding magazine from the 1950s and '60s. Reappropriating the publication's title as well as its retro bodybuilding aesthetic, Pierson takes viewers on a dizzying visual journey encompassing the full spectrum of cultural references.
While studying at the Massachusetts College of Art in Boston, Jack Pierson (born 1960 in Plymouth, Massachusetts, lives and works in New York City and Southern California) became associated with a group of photo artists who would become known as the Boston School, of which Nan Goldin was also a central figure. Pierson's practice embodies an array of media spanning from wall-drawings, word-pieces, installations, drawings, sculpture, paintings and photographs. His photographic works have often been compared to images from road movies, movies whose rapturous race toward fulfilment have become etched into the American landscape. His favourite subjects are drawn mostly from his daily life as a contemporary artist: fragments of urban landscapes, still lives of ordinary objects, homoerotic nudes, evocative words worked into collages or transformed into neons. Far from simply seeking to create traditional variations on the American Dream, the artist seeks instead to explore the flip side of the concept, searching to express what he calls “the tragedy inherent in the pursuit of glamour”.
Edited and designed by Jack Pierson and Roger Bywater

Published by Bywater Bros. Editions.
 
published in May 2020
English edition
18,4 x 25,4 cm (softcover)
168 pages (color ill.)
 
37.00
 
ISBN : 978-1-988469-14-0
EAN : 9781988469140
 
in stock


 top of page

Fermeture des bureaux & interruption des expéditions du 7 au 23 août : les commandes reçues dans l'intervalle seront traitées à partir du 24. Merci pour votre patience !
les presses du réel

Tomorrow's Man 5

Jack Pierson - Tomorrow\'s Man 5
Le cinquième volume de la célèbre série de livres d'artiste de Jack Pierson : associant en un libre collage documents iconographiques et travaux d'artistes contemporains, Tomorrow's Man présente une vision explosée du paysage visuel actuel, drapée d'un homoérotisme vintage et glamour.
Contributions de Dietmar Busse, David Carrino, Jeff Davis, Florence Derive, David Dupuis, Gareth McConnell, Jack Pierson, Samoa, Clement PJ Schneider, Janet Stein, Paula Stuttman, Richard Tinkler, Jordan Wolfson.

Tomorrow's Man 5 se présente sous cinq couvertures différentes, distribuées de manière aléatoire.

Tomorrow's Man est une série de livres d'artiste réalisée par Jack Pierson. Le titre est tiré d'un célèbre magazine de culturisme des années 1950 et 1960. Jack Pierson s'est également réapproprié l'esthétique rétro homoérotique du magazine, plongeant le lecteur au cœur d'un voyage visuel vertigineux qui emprunte à un très large spectre de références culturelles.
Pendant ses études au Massachusetts College of Art à Boston, Jack Pierson (né en 1960 à Plymouth, vit et travaille à New York et la Californie du Sud) a formé avec d'autres artistes photographes, dont Nan Goldin, le groupe dit des « Cinq de Boston ». Il a adopté une démarche transdisciplinaire qui couvre un large éventail de techniques, depuis la photographie jusqu'à l'installation en passant par le dessin mural, la peinture, la sculpture, l'assemblage de lettres et le dessin. On a souvent comparé ses photographies aux clichés d'un road movie, ces mots à des notes de voyage dans la course au bonheur propre à la culture américaine. Les sujets qu'il préfère appartiennent tous au quotidien d'un artiste contemporain : des fragments de paysages urbains, des natures mortes aux objets ordinaires, des nus fort marqués par l'érotisme homosexuel, des mots évocateurs élaborés en collages ou représentés en néon. Loin de vouloir décliner les formules figées de l'imagerie de l'American dream, cependant, l'artiste s'attache à leur revers émotif, à ce qu'il appelle « le drame inhérent à la recherche du glamour ».
Edité par Jack Pierson et Roger Bywater.

Conception graphique : Jack Pierson.

Publié par Bywater Bros. Editions.
 
paru en mai 2020
édition anglaise
18,4 x 25,4 cm (broché)
168 pages (ill. coul.)
 
37.00
 
ISBN : 978-1-988469-14-0
EAN : 9781988469140
 
en stock
Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5 Tomorrow's Man 5


 haut de page