les presses du réel

Shooting Log

John Miller - Shooting Log
John Miller's photographic diary.
In 1994, John Miller began a series entitled The Middle of the Day, comprising thousands of photographs taken between 12pm and 2pm. This goes against the elementary rules of the discipline: not to photograph when the sun, shining at its zenith, makes shadows and contrasts disappear. What these photographs show at first glance are harmless, almost banal scenes. 
Divided into two sections, Shooting Log offers in its first part a text taking the form of a diary split into ten chapters accompanied by ten images all taken in 1994, including his very first photograph. 
The second section comprises a set of photographs from the series the Middle of the Day taken between 20 May 1994 and 4 July 2008.
The story of Shooting Log starts in the present, examining a picture taken in the past. Agreement between the past and present tenses of the photograph activates memories of the circumstances of the shooting and sometimes recovers those associated with what was actually photographed. Does the picture (re)awaken the memories? Or is it today's perception that (re-)reads the image and enhances it with a new story?
The Middle of the Day series at the heart of Shooting Log is also a diary in the strictest sense of the word since it accumulates documents, in this case photographs, which provide a day to day account. The journal is kept for the purpose of remembering past events, things seen, thoughts and emotions evoked. In Shooting Log, John Miller matches the coming and going between two superimposed "journals" with introspective comments on the photographic act.
Limited edition of 270 numbered copies.
Among such contemporaries as Mike Kelley and Jim Shaw, but also Tony Oursler and Stephen Prina, John Miller (born 1954 in Cleveland, Ohio, lives and works in New York City and Berlin) embodies a singular position: he articulates the synthesis of an ideologically committed critique of representation with a postconceptual shift toward the “real.” Using completely stereotyped genres (figurative painting, travel photography, landscape painting, and so on), Miller, like Sherrie Levine and Richard Prince, has, since the end of the 1970s, challenged the function of the author and the concomitant loss of aura of the artwork. Yet this critique is for him only a means of revealing the repressed aspect of the ideological aggregates of day-to-day late-capitalist Western culture.
First noticed for his brown “faux” abstract painting and objects recovered by a brown impasto, he resisted to what he calls “aesthetic appropriation” by regularly shifting his practice, introducing series such as the “Middle of the Day” photographs, game show sets and paintings, and golden maquettes through the 1980s and 1990s. This strategy of resistance to a reduction of his work to any critical tag explains why, despite the early critical recognition of his work by theoreticians such as Hal Foster, he is still overlooked among his generation.
Also a writer, John Miller became in 1987 the US Editor for Artscribe; he founded Acme Journal in 1991. For the past two decades, he has written intensively and published texts in Artforum, October and Texte zur Kunst, as well as in numerous museum publications. He has taught art at Columbia University, the School of Visual Art in New York, Yale University, and Cooper Union.
Graphic design: Thomas Bizzarri.
 
published in 2009
21,6 x 27,9 cm (softcover, box set)
112 pages (ill.)
 
95.00
 
in stock
John Miller: other titles







 top of page

les presses du réel

Shooting Log

John Miller - Shooting Log
Le journal intime photographique de John Miller.
Depuis 1994, John Miller a débuté une série intitulée The Middle of the Day, comprenant des milliers de photographies réalisées entre 12h et 14h. Cela enfreint déjà les usages élémentaires de la discipline : ne pas photographier lorsque le soleil, brillant au zénith, fait disparaître ombres et contrastes, mais aussi dans son sujet en figurant une vacance, un moment durant lequel les activités de tout un chacun s'interrompent pour marquer une pause. Ce que ces photographies montrent au premier regard sont des scènes anodines, presque banales. 
Divisé en deux sections, Shooting Log propose dans sa première partie un texte prenant la forme d'un journal intime divisé en dix chapitres accompagnés de dix images toutes prises en 1994, dont sa toute première photographie. 
La seconde section comprend un ensemble de photographies issues de la série the Middle of the Day réalisées entre le 20 mai 1994 et le 4 juillet 2008.
L'histoire de Shooting Log prend racine dans le présent tout en examinant une photo prise dans le passé. La concordance entre les temps du présent et du passé active les souvenirs des circonstances de la prise de vue. Elle permet également de retrouver, parfois, les circonstances associées à ce qui a vraiment été photographié. L'image (r)éveille-t-elle les souvenirs ? Ou est-ce la perception d'aujourd'hui qui (re)lit l'image et l'enrichit d'une nouvelle histoire ?
La série The Middle of the Day au cœur du Shooting Log est aussi un journal intime au sens strict du terme puisqu'elle accumule des documents, en l'occurrence des photographies, qui fournissent un récit au jour le jour. Le journal est tenu dans le but de se souvenir des événements passés, des choses vues, des pensées et des émotions évoquées. Dans Shooting Log, John Miller fait coïncider les allées et venues entre deux « journaux » superposés, accompagnés de commentaires introspectifs sur l'acte photographique.
Edition limitée à 270 exemplaires numérotés.
Aux côtés de Mike Kelley, de Jim Shaw, mais aussi de Tony Oursler ou de Stephen Prina, John Miller (né en 1954 à Cleveland, Ohio, vit et travaille à New York et à Berlin) incarne une position singulière dans l'art contemporain, et représente une synthèse entre une critique radicale de la représentation et un retour post-conceptuel vers le « réel ». Utilisant des genres surdéterminés (peinture figurative, photographie de voyage, peinture de paysages, etc.), Miller joue depuis la fin des années 1970 sur la valorisation de la fonction de l'auteur et la diminution concomitante de l'aura de l'œuvre, partageant certaines préoccupations de Sherrie Levine et de Richard Prince, tout en résistant à la tentation d'une simple « appropriation esthétique ». Ce refus de toute réduction de son travail à un pur discours critique, qui s'est illustré dans l'évolution d'une œuvre complexe à partir des années 1980, explique sans doute sa relative confidentialité, malgré la reconnaissance critique de théoriciens comme Hal Forster.
Egalement écrivain, John Miller a travaillé comme rédacteur américain pour Artscribe à partir de 1987 et a fondé Acme journal en 1991. Depuis une trentaine d'années, il a écrit intensément et publié des textes dans Artforum, October et Texte zur Kunst, ainsi que dans de nombreux catalogues d'exposition. Il a enseigné l'art à l'université de Columbia, à l'école des arts visuels à New York, à l'université de Yale et à la Cooper Union.
Conception graphique : Thomas Bizzarri.
 
paru en 2009
21,6 x 27,9 cm (broché, sous étui)
112 pages (ill.)
 
95.00
 
en stock
Shooting Log Shooting Log Shooting Log Shooting Log Shooting Log Shooting Log Shooting Log Shooting Log Shooting Log Shooting Log Shooting Log Shooting Log
John Miller : autres titres







 haut de page