les presses du réel

Rhizome Cupules EclosionPermanent displays in public spaces

Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Christine Maigne - Rhizome Cupules Eclosion
First monograph, presenting four perennial works created by Christine Maigne as part of public and private commissions and which are organically articulated to the ground.
Christine Maigne tackles surfaces and spaces as environments where rudimentary forms can develop, leaving their true nature and what they might become as unknowns. Her works can be organised in taxonomic families in stages of becoming appearing as holes, bumps, dots and pilosities. They appear at different scales, as intimate drawings or small volumes manufactured in the studio, to installations spreading over a whole room, garden or neighbourhood. This catalogue shows Christine Maigne's outside perennial works, which all relate to the topic of growth. The four works presented here were created with artisans for public and private commissions. They emerge from the ground and inscribe themselves in a common reality with the given topology, function of the space and social environment. The residents or passerbys of these different areas cohabitate with the installations.
Le Rhizome occupies virtually the whole of the Bihorel neighbourhood, close to Rouen, with incidental growths that inscribe themselves in varying environments from urban to vegetal.
– The Cupules attune to the water held in the retention basin located in a college in Essonne. The rainwater held in the artworks draw small mirrors on their surface that progressively evaporate, creating a constantly changing artwork.
Éclosion creates a surge of great bursts of grass topped by white growths and was the object of an articulated terrain modeling spreading in the garden and playground of a school in Normandy.
Le Champ d'expériences (Field of explorations) is a diversified and organic exploration of concrete done in collaboration with Compagnons du Devoir composed of ten architectural structures displayed in a garden in Angers.
Christine Maigne comes from the French region of Auvergne, which she has always explored through her interest in its living soil and what buds from it. Alongside her perennial public artworks presented in this publication, Christine also creates installations, volumes, drawings, photos and videos, all inspired by natural phenomena.
It was the snowy ground of Montreal's town centre that saw her first large in situ outdoor project (The vegetable garden, Galerie Vox, 1999). Her year-long stay in Canada (with a 6-month artist residency in the Topo centre) instigated other installation projects and some personal exhibitions in art centres in Montreal: Lessons in gardening (Articule, 2000) and Eruption (Dare Dare, 2001). Her indoor installations usually take on the shape of immersive experiences exemplified in her work Implants (exhibition and residency at l'H du Siège, Valenciennes, 2005) and Rémanence which was created for the Caen Artotheque in 2010 and later presented at Plateforme-Paris in 2015.
In 2009 she moved to New York and established herself in a studio in Queens. This year-long sojourn inspired her to make a series of graphic works on whiteness. Since then she has maintained a regular practice creating works mixing 2D and 3D in her Villejuif studio near Paris. These volumes have been presented in various solo exhibits (In vitro, Galerie NextLevel, Paris, 2014), orders (Raies, hall of residence for young workers of Orly, 2016) and group exhibitions (Boites noires, Lyon Planetarium, 2015; Prime Matter, Teckningsmuseet-The Museum of Drawings, Laholm, Sweden, 2015; Akroma, Latvian National Museum, Riga, Latvia, 2018; Laniakea, La Ruche-Seydoux Foundation, Paris, 2021).
Her video installation White Pulse on a carpet of white salt was presented at Minus20degree-Landscape for contemporary art and architecture (Flashau, Austria, 2016), at the NextLevel gallery (Paris, 2016), and later in the Videoformes festival (Clermont-Ferrand, 2017) where Turbulences Vidéo magazine dedicated a 26-page portrait dossier to the artist. In 2020 this same publication issued her Journal of an Exhibition in Self Isolation regarding Prima il Punto (AOC F58- galleria Bruno Lisi, Rome). After 6 months of confinement this exhibition opened and got more coverage in the press including Erika Camerata's text in Chiasmo (Christine Maigne e l'estetica dell'organicità nativa) as well as the interview by Camilla Boemio on the Californian website TheDreamingMachine.
Christine Maigne is an alumni of Art and Design at the École Normale Supérieure de Paris-Saclay (ex-Cachan). She teaches visual arts at Ensaama-Olivier de Serres, a design school in Paris.
Introduction by Paul Ardenne.
Texts by Christine Maigne.

Graphic design: Manuel Marsoudet & Maxime Marois.
 
published in May 2022
bilingual edition (English / French)
16,5 x 26 cm
108 pages (ill.)
 
22.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-96141-33-3
EAN : 9791096141333
 
in stock
Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion Rhizome Cupules Eclosion


 top of page

les presses du réel

Rhizome Cupules ÉclosionŒuvres pérennes dans l'espace public

Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Christine Maigne - Rhizome Cupules Éclosion
Première monographie, présentant quatre œuvres pérennes réalisées par Christine Maigne dans le cadre de commandes publiques ou privées et qui s’articulent organiquement au sol.
Christine Maigne aborde surfaces et espaces comme des milieux où se développent des formes élémentaires dont la nature et le devenir nous sont inconnus. Ses œuvres s'organisent sous forme de familles d'éléments en croissance, trous, bosses, points, pilosités, et se déploient à différentes échelles, du dessin intimiste ou de petits volumes réalisés en atelier à des installations couvrant une pièce entière, ou occupant une cour d'école, un jardin public ou un espace urbain. Ce catalogue porte sur ses œuvres pérennes réalisées en extérieur. Les quatre œuvres présentées ici ont été réalisées avec des artisans pour des commandes publiques ou privées. Elles prennent la forme de pousses fictives qui s'articulent étroitement au sol et s'inscrivent dans une réalité avec sa typologie, sa fonction et son contexte social. Les habitants ou usagers des différents lieux vivent en leur compagnie.
Le Rhizome occupe virtuellement tout un quartier de Bihorel, près de Rouen, par des pousses incidentes qui s'immiscent dans différentes zones, végétales ou urbaines.
– Les Cupules retiennent l'eau de pluie pour dessiner de petites flaques miroirs qui s'évaporent progressivement, elles forment une œuvre changeante au fond du bassin de rétention d'un collège en Essonne.
– L'Éclosion provoque l'émergence de grandes cloques de pelouse surmontées de pousses blanches, elle a fait l'objet d'un travail de modelé de terrain articulé au jardin et à la cour d'une école en Normandie.
– Le Champ d'expériences, composé de dix cellules architecturales disposées dans un jardin à Angers, est une exploration diversifiée et organique du matériau béton menée avec les Compagnons du Devoir.
Christine Maigne est originaire d'Auvergne dont elle a toujours exploré le sol vivant et ce qui s'y développe. En parallèle à ses œuvres pérennes dans l'espace public, présentées dans cet ouvrage, elle déploie un travail d'installation, de volume, de dessin, de photo et de vidéo, également inspiré par les phénomènes naturels.
C'est le sol enneigé du centre-ville de Montréal qui a abrité son premier grand projet in situ en extérieur (Le potager, Galerie Vox, 1999). Son séjour d'un an au Canada (résidence de travail de 6 mois au centre Topo) a initié d'autres projets d'installations et d'expositions personnelles dans des centres d'art montréalais : Leçon de jardinage (Articule, 2000) et Éruption (Dare Dare, 2001). Ses installations dans l'espace intérieur sont souvent immersives, comme ses Implants (exposition et résidence à l'H du Siège, Valenciennes, 2005), et Rémanence, créé pour l'Artothèque de Caen en 2010 et présenté à Plateforme-Paris en 2015.
Son séjour d'un an à New York en 2009 a inspiré des séries de travaux graphiques sur la blancheur réalisés dans son atelier du Queens. Elle développe depuis dans son atelier de Villejuif, à côté de Paris, une pratique autour de pièces graphiques et en volume qu'elle a présenté dans diverses expositions personnelles (In vitro, Galerie NextLevel, Paris, 2014), commandes (Raies, hall de la résidence pour jeunes travailleurs d'Orly, 2016) et expositions collectives (Boites noires, Planétarium de Lyon, 2015 ; Prime Matter, Teckningsmuseet-The Museum of Drawings, Laholm, Suède, 2015 ; Akroma, Latvian National Museum, Riga, Lettonie, 2018 ; Laniakea, Fondation La Ruche-Seydoux, Paris, 2021).
Son installation vidéo White pulse sur tapis de sel a été présentée à Minus20degree-Landscape for contemporary art and architecture (Flashau, Autriche, 2016), à la galerie NextLevel (Paris, 2016), et dans le festival Videoformes (Clermont-Ferrand, 2017) où un dossier portrait de 26 pages a été consacré à l'artiste dans la revue Turbulences Vidéo. Cette même revue a publié en 2020 son Journal d'une exposition confinée à propos de Prima il punto (AOC F58-galleria Bruno Lisi, Rome). Cette exposition, confinée pendant 6 mois avant ouverture, a fait l'objet d'autres publications dont le texte d'Erika Camerata dans Chiasmo (Christine Maigne e l'estetica dell'organicità nativa) ou l'entretien par Camilla Boemio sur le site californien TheDreamingMachine.
Ancienne élève en art et design à l'École Normale Supérieure de Paris-Saclay (ex-Cachan), Christine Maigne est aussi agrégée d'arts plastiques et enseigne à l'Ensaama-Olivier de Serres à Paris.
Introduction de Paul Ardenne.
Textes de Christine Maigne.

Conception graphique : Manuel Marsoudet & Maxime Marois.
 
paru en mai 2022
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16,5 x 26 cm
108 pages (ill.)
 
22.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-96141-33-3
EAN : 9791096141333
 
en stock
Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion Rhizome Cupules Éclosion


 haut de page