les presses du réel

Contre-Courbes (2 CD)

Bertrand Gauguet, John Tilbury - Contre-Courbes (2 CD)
Two improvised concerts where are woven between the piano and the saxophone subtle games of harmonic textures, appearances of differential sounds, resonances and sometimes some more noisy sequences.
CD1 was recorded 2016 April 16 in the Saint-Maximin church in Metz, France. CD2 was recorded 2019 November 22 by the Radio France teams for Anne Montaron's programme "À l'improviste" broadcast 2019 December 15 on France Musique with also an interview with John Tilbury and Bertrand Gauguet.
John Tilbury and Bertrand Gauguet improvise a music of slowness, sometimes silent, sometimes tempestuous. Playing with the acoustic qualities of the place, are woven between the piano and the saxophone subtle games of harmonic textures, appearances of differential sounds, resonances and sometimes some more noisy sequences. A music to stretch the listening like a bow.
The artwork on the cover is a drawing made in 2016 by the French artist Pierre Mabille.
Bertrand Gauguet is a musician trudging through a practice without hierarchy involving sound and music: as an improvising saxophonist, composer of electronic music and as a sounds collector. He has been playing since the early 2000s the alto saxophone in contexts of solo and group improvisation. His approach to the saxophone explores extended techniques, multiphony and microphony. He has been programmed in numerous festivals of new and experimental music in France and abroad (Europe, USA, Japan…). Collaborations includes Éliane Radigue, John Tilbury, Robin Hayward, Eddie Prevost, Franz Hautzinger, Thomas Lehn, Xavier Charles, Sophie Agnel, Andrea Neumann, Pascal Battus, Eric La Casa, Robin Hayward, Michel Doneda, l'Insub Meta Orchestra, Seijiro Murayama, Tetuzi Akiyama, Toshimaru Nakamura, John Butcher, Axel Dörner, Isabelle Duthoit, Catherine Contour
Bertrand Gauguet runs the label Akousis Records.
A pioneer of minimalist music and electro-acoustic improvisation, John Tilbury (born 1936) is considered as the leading interpreter of piano works by Morton Feldman, John Cage, Christian Wolff and Cornelius Cardew. An emblematic figure of the English experimental scene, in which he has been involved since the 1950s, and a member of the AMM improvisation group since the 1980s, John Tilbury cultivates both improvisational practice and written music.
Bertrand Gauguet : alto saxophone.
John Tilbury : piano.

Original drawing: Pierre Mabille.
Graphic design: Atelier Ter Bekke & Behage.
 
published in March 2021
 
12.00
 
in stock
Bertrand Gauguet, John Tilbury: other titles




 top of page

les presses du réel

Contre-Courbes (2 CD)

Bertrand Gauguet, John Tilbury - Contre-Courbes (2 CD)
Deux concerts improvisés où se tissent entre le piano et le saxophone des jeux subtils de textures harmoniques, d'apparitions de sons différentiels, de résonances et parfois de quelques séquences plus bruitistes.
Le CD1 a été enregistré le 16 avril 2016 à l'église Saint-Maximin de Metz. Le CD2 a été enregistré le 22 novembre 2019 par les équipes de Radio France pour l'émission d'Anne Montaron « À l'improviste » diffusée le 15 décembre 2019 sur France Musique et contient également une interview de John Tilbury et Bertrand Gauguet.
John Tilbury et Bertrand Gauguet improvisent une musique de la lenteur, parfois silencieuse, parfois tempétueuse. Jouant avec les qualités acoustiques du lieu, se tissent entre le piano et le saxophone des jeux subtils de textures harmoniques, d'apparitions de sons différentiels, de résonances et parfois de quelques séquences plus bruitistes. Une musique pour étirer l'écoute comme un arc.
L'illustration de la couverture est un dessin réalisé en 2016 par l'artiste français Pierre Mabille.
Bertrand Gauguet chemine dans une pratique impliquant sans hiérarchie le sonore et le musical : comme saxophoniste improvisateur, comme compositeur de musique électronique et comme collecteur de sons. Il pratique l'improvisation depuis le début des années 2000 dans des contextes collectifs ou solo. Son approche au saxophone explore les techniques étendues, la multiphonie et la microphonie. Il a été programmé dans de nombreux festivals de musiques nouvelles et expérimentales en France et à l'étranger (Europe, USA, Japon…). Collaborations avec Éliane Radigue, John Tilbury, Robin Hayward, Eddie Prevost, Franz Hautzinger, Thomas Lehn, Xavier Charles, Sophie Agnel, Andrea Neumann, Pascal Battus, Eric La Casa, Robin Hayward, Michel Doneda, l'Insub Meta Orchestra, Seijiro Murayama, Tetuzi Akiyama, Toshimaru Nakamura, John Butcher, Axel Dörner, Isabelle Duthoit, Catherine Contour
Bertrand Gauguet est le fondateur du label Akousis Records.
Pionnier des musiques minimalistes et de l'improvisation électro-acoustique, John Tilbury (né en 1936) est reconnu comme l'interprète de référence des œuvres pour piano de Morton Feldman, John Cage, Christian Wolff et Cornelius Cardew. Figure emblématique de la scène expérimentale anglaise, dans laquelle il est engagé depuis les années 1950, membre du groupe d'improvisation AMM depuis les années 1980, John Tilbury cultive à la fois une pratique de l'improvisation et de la musique écrite.
Bertrand Gauguet : saxophone alto.
John Tilbury : piano.

Dessin original : Pierre Mabille.
Graphic design: Atelier Ter Bekke & Behage.
 
paru en mars 2021
 
12.00
 
en stock
Contre-Courbes (2 CD) Contre-Courbes (2 CD)
Bertrand Gauguet, John Tilbury : autres titres




 haut de page