Éric La Casa

 
For more than 20 years, while listening to the environment, Éric La Casa (born 1968, Tours, lives and works in Paris) has been questioning the perception of reality and has expanded the notion of what's musical today. Through his aesthetic of capturing sound, his work fits equally into the fields of sound art and music. As a result of his in situ listening processes, he creates forms (of attention) that creep into the venues, slowly infuse there, and become other possible spaces. In the same way that the letter stimulates a country's reading, the in situ aesthetic object renews our relationship to space and landscape.

(external link : ericlacasa.info)
 
Éric La Casa - Installations (book / CD)
2020
Swarming
Stereophonic versions based on the recordings and mixes used for the 4 sound installations, made in-situ between 2005 and 2016 (with Jean-Luc Guionnet, Arnau Horta, Seijiro Murayama and Michaële-Andréa Schatt).
Éric La Casa - Intérieurs (book / CD)
2020
Swarming
Éric La Casa probes his inner sound environment through the recording of his Parisian apartment, an artist's studio and the empty spaces of a museum.
Éric La Casa - Friche - Transition (CD)
2019
Swarming
During Spring 2015, Eamon Sprod (Tarab) and Eric La Casa spent one week to record on waste grounds, at the north east of Paris, and along the canal Ourcq. Spaces which are somehow both inside yet apart from the city; waiting spaces from which to listen to the threshold of the city.
Éric La Casa - Métro Pré Saint-Gervais (CD)
2018
Swarming
Reissue of the CD released on the label Chloë (USA) in 2002, recorded in July 2001 in the Paris metro station, during the last two hours of service. A reference, between site-specific improvisation and sound art.
Éric La Casa - Chantier 4 - Philharmonie 1/2/3 (CD)
2018
Swarming
Chantier is a collective project with Pascal Battus on found objects, Bertrand Gauguet on saxophone, and Eric La Casa on microphones. The trio's proposal is to develop a sound practice created on building sites, amongst the machines and the builders. The fourth part of this project was recorded on the building site of the Philharmonie in Paris.
Éric La Casa - AIR.ratio (CD)
2017
Swarming
Eric La Casa continues his series dedicated to Paris with the reedition of the classic AIR.ratio, a study of the sounds generated by ventilation systems in various Parisian buildings.
Éric La Casa - Paris quotidien (book / CD)
2017
bilingual edition (English / French)
Swarming
For two years, Eric La Casa has been recording the urban sonic environment of Paris from the windows of his own apartment. Between a temporary inventory and a musical documentary, Paris Quotidien is the result of this long experiment. Includes a 60-page documentation booklet with photographs.
Éric La Casa - Reflected Waves (book / DVD)
2016
bilingual edition (English / French)
Swarming
20.00 12.00 €
This publication documents the making of a sound mapping project of the city of Melbourne by artists Jean-Luc Guionnet and Eric La Casa.


 top of page

Éric La Casa

 
Depuis le milieu des années 1990, à l'écoute de l'environnement, Éric La Casa (né en 1968 à Tours, vit et travaille à Paris) interroge la perception du réel et élargit la question du musical aujourd'hui. Par son approche esthétique de la prise de son, son travail s'inscrit tout autant dans les champs de l'art sonore que de la musique. Conséquences de ses processus in-situ d'écoute, il crée des formes (d'attention) qui s'insinuent dans les sites, y infusent lentement et en deviennent d'autres espaces possibles. De même que la carte stimule la lecture d'un pays, l'objet esthétique in situ renouvelle notre relation à l'espace et au paysage.

(lien externe : ericlacasa.info)
 
Éric La Casa - Intérieurs (livre / CD)
2020
Swarming
Éric La Casa sonde son milieu sonore intérieur au travers de l'enregistrement de son appartement parisien, d'un atelier d'artiste et des espaces vides d'un musée.
Éric La Casa - Friche - Transition (CD)
2019
Swarming
momentanément indisponible
Au printemps 2015, Eamon Sprod (Tarab) et Eric La Casa enregistrent durant une semaine sur des terrains vagues du nord-est de Paris, et du canal de l'Ourcq. Ils y écoutent comment ces espaces en attente énoncent le seuil de la ville.
Éric La Casa - Métro Pré Saint-Gervais (CD)
2018
Swarming
Réédition du CD paru sur le label Chloë (USA) en 2002, enregistré en juillet 2001 dans la station de métro parisien, à trois, la nuit, pendant les deux dernières heures du service. Une référence, entre improvisation musicale in situ et art sonore.
Éric La Casa - Chantier 4 - Philharmonie 1/2/3 (CD)
2018
Swarming
Chantier est un projet collectif constitué de Pascal Battus aux objets trouvés, Bertrand Gauguet au saxophone et Eric La Casa aux microphones. Les trois artistes déploient leur pratique sonore dans des espaces en construction, auprès des machines et des ouvriers. Cet opus a été composé à partir d'enregistrements réalisés sur le chantier de la Philharmonie de Paris.
Éric La Casa - AIR.ratio (CD)
2017
Swarming
Eric La Casa poursuit sa collection consacrée à Paris avec la réédition du classique AIR.ratio, un projet d'écoute de la ventilation mécanique au sein de divers bâtiments parisiens.
Éric La Casa - Paris quotidien (livre / CD)
2017
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Swarming
Durant deux années, Eric La Casa a enregistré son environnement proche et lointain, depuis le seuil de son appartement parisien. Paris Quotidien est le résultat de cette écoute prolongée, entre inventaire temporaire et documentaire musical – extraordinaire –, d'un milieu ordinaire. Accompagné d'un livret de 60 pages offrant documentation textuelle et photographique.
Éric La Casa - Reflected Waves (ondes réfléchies) (livre / DVD)
2016
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
Swarming
20.00 12.00 €
Cette publication rend compte, à travers un livre et un DVD, de la réalisation d'un projet de cartographie sonore de la ville de Melbourne par deux figures de la musique expérimentale contemporaine et des arts sonores.


 haut de page