Due to the health situation, shipments are currently suspended. Orders are recorded and will be processed as soon as possible. Many thanks!
les presses du réel

Ulla von Brandenburg -
New monograph.
From a background rich in literature and the history of arts and architecture—as well as psychoanalysis, spiritism and magic—Ulla von Brandenburg explores the shaping of our social constructs with borrowings from theatrical codes and mechanisms, together with esoteric rituals and popular ceremonies. For her exhibition at the Palais de Tokyo she has conceived a total, constantly evolving project inspired by the theatre, its imaginary realm and its conventions. With ritual as her starting point, she invites the public to experience an immersive reinterpretation of the themes, forms and motifs—including movement, the stage, colour, music and textiles—that fuel her oeuvre.
This monographic book includes a rich iconography, in particular with views of the exhibition at the Palais de Tokyo, a conversation between the artist, Laure Fernandez, a researcher into the performing arts, and Yoann Gourmel, the curator of the exhibition, as well as two unpublished essays by the art historian Merel van Tilburg on the Ulla von Brandenburg's oeuvre and the historians Léonor Delaunay and Manuel Charpy on the history of the stage curtain.
Published on the occasion of Ulla von Brandenburg's solo exhibition “Le milieu est bleu” at the Palais de Tokyo, from Fébruary to May 2020.

Published in cooperation with Les presses du réel, this series of monographic books accompanies the Palais de Tokyo's exhibition program. Richly illustrated, with many views of the exhibition, accessible to all, each book will offer the reader an extended experience of the encounter with the artists' work. The artists' words will appear alongside original contributions by theoreticians, art critics, and curators, providing the reader with a deeper understanding of each artist's background and of the genesis of their project for the Palais de Tokyo. These books will allow the reader to follow the evolution of the artists' reflection on their work. Reproductions of artworks, preparatory documents, visual references, and studio views will bear witness to each step in the artist's process and accompany interviews and essays.

Manuel Charpy is an historian, research fellow at CNRS and director of the InVisu Laboratory (CNRS/INHA).

Léonor Delaunay is a theatre historian, and director of the Société d’Histoire du Théâtre.

Laure Fernandez is a researcher in the performing arts, and an associate researcher at the Thalim Laboratory (CNRS), where she co-directs the NoTHx (Nouvelles Théâtralités).

Yoann Gourmel is a curator at the Palais de Tokyo. He curated Ulla von Brandenburg’s solo show.

Merel van Tilburg is an art historian and an art critic.
The work of Ulla von Brandenburg (born 1974 in Karlsruhe, lives and works in Paris) is characterised by the diversity in the media she uses, which in turn translates into a thematic concentration. Certain motifs appear in different contexts, performances reger back to ideas in wall paintings, drawings prove themselves to be preliminary studies for films, and the props in films become objects in their own right. Her idea of carnival as a legitimate transgression of social order meets with the notion of mask as a desire for new identity and the confusion of reality and appearance in theatrical stagings.
Her work can be found in many prestigious French and international collections, including the Musée national d'art moderne – Centre Pompidou (Paris), la Tate Modern (London), the Kunsthalle of Hamburg and the Mamco – Musée national d'art moderne et contemporain, Geneva. Recently, several personal exhibitions have been consecrated to her: “Manchmal Ja, manchmal Nein,” Haus Konstruktiv, Zürich (2016), “24 Filme, kein Schnitt,” Mamco, Geneva (2014), “Innen ist nicht Aussen,” Secession, Vienna (2013) and “Die Straße,” Art : Concept, Paris (2013). In 2015-2016, her performance Sink Down Mountain, Rise Up Valley scheduled in Performa 15 (New York), in The Common Guild (Glasgow) and the Kaaitheater (Brussels) was acclaimed by critics.
Edited by Frédéric Grossi.
Texts by Merel van Tilburg, Léonor Delaunay & Manuel Charpy; interview with Ulla von Brandenburg by Laure Fernandez and Yoann Gourmel.
 
published in March 2020
bilingual edition (English / French)
16 x 24 cm (softcover)
112 pages (ill.)
 
17.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-37896-148-0
EAN : 9782378961480
 
in stock
 


 top of page

En raison de la situation sanitaire, les expéditions sont actuellement interrompues. Les commandes sont bien entendu notées et seront traitées dès que possible. Merci !
les presses du réel

Ulla von Brandenburg -
Nouvelle monographie, s'inscrivant dans la collection publiée avec Les presses du réel en lien avec les expositions du Palais de Tokyo, avec des vues d'exposition et une sélection d'œuvres emblématiques, une discussion entre Ulla von Brandenburg, Laure Fernandez et Yoann Gourmel ainsi que deux essais par Merel van Tilburg et par Léonor Delaunay et Manuel Charpy.
Nourrie de littérature, d'histoire des arts et de l'architecture, mais aussi de psychanalyse, de spiritisme et de magie, Ulla von Brandenburg emprunte aussi bien aux codes et aux mécanismes du théâtre qu'aux rituels ésotériques et aux cérémonies populaires afin d'explorer la construction de nos structures sociales. Pour son exposition au Palais de Tokyo, elle a imaginé un projet total et évolutif, inspiré du théâtre, de son imaginaire et de ses conventions. Autour de la notion de rituel, l'artiste invite le public à prendre part à une expérience immersive et renouvelée des thèmes, des formes et des motifs qui irriguent son œuvre : le mouvement, la scène, la couleur, la musique, le textile...
Cette monographie comprend une riche iconographie, intégrant des vues de l'exposition au Palais de Tokyo, une conversation entre l'artiste, Laure Fernandez, chercheuse en arts du spectacle et Yoann Gourmel, commissaire de l'exposition, ainsi que deux essais inédits de l'historienne de l'art Merel van Tilburg sur le travail d'Ulla von Brandenburg et des historien·ne·s Léonor Delaunay et Manuel Charpy sur l'histoire du rideau de scène.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition personnelle d'Ulla von Brandenburg « Le milieu est bleu » au Palais de Tokyo, du 21 février au 17 mai 2020.

Coéditée avec Les presses du réel, la collection de livres monographiques dans laquelle s'inscrit cet ouvrage est publiée en lien avec les expositions du Palais de Tokyo. Richement illustrés, comprenant de nombreuses vues de l'exposition, accessibles à tous, ces livres permettent de poursuivre l'expérience de la rencontre avec l'œuvre de l'artiste. Les propos des artistes, les contributions inédites de théoriciens, de critiques d'art et de commissaires d'expositions permettent de mieux comprendre le parcours de chaque artiste et la genèse de son projet au Palais de Tokyo. Le lecteur peut ainsi assister au cheminement d'une pensée. Des vues d'atelier, reproductions d'œuvres, documents préparatoires et images de référence témoignent des processus créateurs et complètent entretiens et essais.

Manuel Charpy est historien, chargé de recherche au CNRS et directeur du laboratoire InVisu (CNRS / INHA).

Léonor Delaunay est historienne du théâtre et directrice de la Société d'Histoire du Théâtre.

Laure Fernandez est chercheure en arts du spectacle et associée au laboratoire Thalim (CNRS) où elle codirige le groupe de recherche NoTHx (Nouvelles Théâtralités).

Yoann Gourmel est commissaire d'exposition au Palais de Tokyo. Il est le commissaire de l'exposition personnelle d'Ulla von Brandenburg.

Merel van Tilburg est historienne de l'art et critique d'art.
L'œuvre de Ulla von Brandenburg (née en 1974 à Karlsruhe, vit et travaille à Paris) se caractérise par la diversité des médiums et supports qu'elle utilise et transforme en une thématique complexe. Les motifs apparaissent alors dans des contextes différents, les performances renvoient aux wall paintings, aux dessins qui eux mêmes s'avèrent être les esquisses des vidéos réalisées par l'artiste ; vidéos qui à leur tour deviennent les matrices de futurs objets, sculptures manufacturées. L'idée et l'imagerie du carnaval sont très présentes dans son travail. Elles lui permettent de transgresser en quelque sorte l'ordre social et d'évoquer notre société au travers d'images anciennes, de masques, de costumes relevant de la tradition populaire, mais aussi de partir en quête d'une nouvelle identité tout en mêlant subtilement la réalité et les apparences dans des mises en scènes théâtrales.
Son travail est présent dans de nombreuses collections françaises et internationales, dont le Musée national d'art moderne – Centre Pompidou (Paris), la Tate Modern (Londres), la Kunsthalle de Hambourg et le Mamco – Musée national d'art moderne et contemporain, Genève. Récemment plusieurs expositions personnelles lui ont été consacrées : « Manchmal Ja, manchmal Nein », Haus Konstruktiv, Zurich (2016), « 24 Filme, kein Schnitt », Mamco, Genève (2014), « Innen ist nicht Aussen », Secession, Vienne (2013) et « Die Straße », Art : Concept, Paris (2013). En 2015-2016, sa performance Sink Down Mountain, Rise Up Valley, programmée à Performa 15 (New York), à The Common Guild (Glasgow) et au Kaaitheater (Bruxelles) est saluée par la critique.
Edité par Frédéric Grossi.
Textes de Merel van Tilburg, Léonor Delaunay & Manuel Charpy ; entretien avec Ulla von Brandenburg par Laure Fernandez et Yoann Gourmel.
 
paru en mars 2020
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16 x 24 cm (broché)
112 pages (ill.)
 
17.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-37896-148-0
EAN : 9782378961480
 
en stock
 


 haut de page