les presses du réel
Stephanie Oursler - 5 CUTS
Facsimile edition of Stephanie Oursler's 1975 artist's book.
Stephanie Oursler self-published “5 CUTS” in 1975 with a small number of copies, on the occasion of her exhibition of the same name which took place in Rome, Bari, Milan and Como. She combines stills from unidentified silent films with autobiographical texts, and in doing so creates an open narration of her life, which is both an intimate recollection and a literary construction. A poetic depth unfolds in Oursler's language, which—in connection with the sometimes concrete, sometimes surreal and enigmatic images—approaches the essence of memory.
The new edition of “5 CUTS” is a reproduction true to the original book from 1975, supplemented by a newly commissioned text by art historian and critic Giovanna Zapperi.
Giovanna Zapperi lives in Paris and is professor of art history at the Université de Tours. Her research focuses on the connections between art criticism, visual culture and feminism. Her texts have been published in numerous exhibition catalogues and magazines, including Afterall, e-flux, Texte zur Kunst, Feminist Review and Oxford Journal. Author of Carla Lonzi: un art de la vie – Critique d'art et féminisme en Italie (1968-1981) (Les presses du réel, 2019), she is the editor of Carla Lonzi: Autoportrait (JRP|Ringier, 2012).
Stephanie Oursler (1938, Baltimore – 2018, Rome) was a visual artist and political activist. Black Panther activist in 1966-67, she emigrated from New York to Rome in the early 1970s, where she co-founded the woman artists' group “Cooperativa Beato Angelico” with, among others, Carla Arcadi and Suzanne Santoro. Reflected in her work are both ideas that were circulating in the late 1960s in New York, and influences of Roman feminism from the early 1970s. Typical for these contexts, the introspection of the female subject in patriarchal society is for the artist the foundation of both her politicisation and her artistic work.
Texts by Italo Mussa and Giovanna Zapperi.
 
2021 (publication expected by 2nd quarter)
bilingual edition (English / Italian)
17 x 24 cm
64 pages (b/w ill.)
 
20.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-94820-004-6
EAN : 9783948200046
 
forthcoming


 top of page

les presses du réel
Stephanie Oursler - 5 CUTS
La réédition en fac-similé du livre d'artiste publié par Stephanie Oursler en 1975.
Stephanie Oursler a auto-publié 5 CUTS en 1975 à un petit nombre d'exemplaires, à l'occasion de son exposition du même nom qui a eu lieu à Rome, Bari, Milan et Côme. Elle y combine des images fixes de films muets non identifiés avec des textes autobiographiques, et crée ainsi une narration ouverte de sa vie, qui est à la fois un souvenir intime et une construction littéraire. Une profondeur poétique se déploie dans la langue d'Oursler, qui, en lien avec les images tantôt concrètes, tantôt surréalistes et énigmatiques, aborde l'essence de la mémoire.
La nouvelle édition de 5 CUTS est une reproduction fidèle du livre original, complété par un texte inédit de Giovanna Zapperi.
Giovanna Zapperi est professeure d'histoire de l'art contemporain à l'Université de Tours. Ses recherches portent sur les relations entre critique d'art, culture visuelle et féminisme. Auteure de nombreux textes dans des catalogues et revues internationales (Afterall, e-flux, Texte zur Kunst, Feminist Review and Oxford Journal), elle a publié notamment L'artiste est une femme. La modernité de Marcel Duchamp (PUF, 2012), Carla Lonzi : un art de la vie – Critique d'art et féminisme en Italie (1968-1981) (Les presses du réel, 2019) et a édité la traduction française de l'ouvrage de Carla Lonzi, Autoportrait (JRP|Ringier, 2012).
Stephanie Oursler (1938, Baltimore – 2018, Rome) était une artiste et une militante politique. Proche des Black Panther en 1966-67, elle quitte New York pour Rome au début des années 1970, où elle cofonde le groupe d'artistes femmes « Cooperativa Beato Angelico » avec notamment Carla Arcadi et Suzanne Santoro. Son travail reflète à la fois les idées qui circulaient à la fin des années 1960 à New York et les influences du féminisme romain du début des années 1970. Typique de ces contextes, l'introspection du sujet féminin dans la société patriarcale est pour l'artiste le fondement à la fois de sa politisation et de son travail artistique.
Textes de Italo Mussa et Giovanna Zapperi.
 
2021 (parution prévue au 2e trimestre)
édition bilingue (anglais / italien)
17 x 24 cm
64 pages (ill. n&b)
 
20.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-94820-004-6
EAN : 9783948200046
 
à paraître
5 CUTS 5 CUTS 5 CUTS 5 CUTS


 haut de page