Summer break: we are closed from August 7 to 23. Orders placed meanwhile will be processed from August 24. Many thanks for your patience!
les presses du réel

Julia (Uncovered)The work of Julia Scher – a conversation

Dan Graham, Antoine Catala, Mieko Meguro - Julia (Uncovered)
A talk between three artists around Julia Scher's work.
The Dan Graham – Melanges collection is much more than a tribute to Dan Graham. It is an attempt to catch up with the artist's use of conversations and monologues and sketch a somewhat see-through portrait of him, a two way reflection. This collection brings together short texts, lectures, conversations, newly-commissioned essays and varia.
Les presses du réel and Dan Graham have had a long-standing friendship. Here is an attempt to celebrate it.
Dan Graham (born in 1942, lives in New York City) is a highly influential figure in the field of contemporary art, both as an artist and as a well-respected critic and theorist. He was the founding director of the John Daniels Gallery (1964–1965), where he presented Sol LeWitt's first solo exhibition and showed works by Donald Judd, Dan Flavin, and Robert Smithson. Graham is known for his early conceptual work for magazines, his groundbreaking video work, and his site-specific architectural pavilions.
Antoine Catala (born 1975 in Toulouse, lives and works in New York) is a French artist. He uses lo-fi and analog technology as a riposte to the digital virtuosity of today's media. Shot through with jokes and wordplay that often mask a certain seriousness, his works display a material and conceptual continuity founded equally on the aesthetics of science and semiotics.
Mieko Meguro (born in Hokkaido, lives and works in New York) is a Japanese artist. She works in various mediums as well as making illustrated book. Her works combine vulnerability and humour with her unique view of transnational identities and cross-cultural histories. She is the long-time partner of Dan Graham.
Edited and prefaced by Franck Gautherot.
 
published in December 2019
English edition
11 x 16 cm (softcover)
40 pages (color ill.)
 
13.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-37896-118-3
EAN : 9782378961183
 
in stock
Dan Graham, Antoine Catala, Mieko Meguro: other titles











 top of page

Fermeture des bureaux & interruption des expéditions du 7 au 23 août : les commandes reçues dans l'intervalle seront traitées à partir du 24. Merci pour votre patience !
les presses du réel

Julia (Uncovered)The work of Julia Scher – a conversation

Julia (Uncovered) Dan Graham, Antoine Catala, Mieko Meguro - Julia (Uncovered)
Une conversation entre trois artistes autour de l'œuvre de Julia Scher.
Au-delà d'un hommage à Dan Graham, la collection Dan Graham – Melanges entend rendre compte de l'usage que l'artiste fait des conversations et des monologues et esquisser un portrait de lui, une réflexion à double sens. La collection rassemble des textes courts, des conférences, des conversations, des essais inédit et divers projets.
Les presses du réel et Dan Graham entretiennent une amitié de longue date. Voici une tentative de la célébrer.
Dan Graham (né en 1942, vit et travaille à New York) est une figure parmi les plus influentes dans le champ de l'art contemporain, bien sûr en tant qu'artiste mais également comme critique et théoricien. Célèbre pour ses premiers travaux conceptuels pour des magazines, ses œuvres vidéo révolutionnaires et ses installations architecturales spécifiques, Dan Graham fut le fondateur et le directeur de la John Daniels Gallery (1964-1965), où il a présenté la première exposition monographique de Sol LeWitt et a montré les travaux de Donald Judd, Dan Flavin et Robert Smithson.
Antoine Catala (né en 1975 à Toulouse, vit et travaille à New York) est un artiste français. Il répond à la très haute technicité des médias numériques actuels en s'aidant du lo-fi et de l'analogique. Parsemées d'humour et de jeux de mots qui dissimulent souvent une certaine gravité, ses œuvres s'enchaînent dans une continuité à la fois matérielle et conceptuelle et s'appuient aussi bien sur l'esthétique du projet de sciences que sur la sémiotique.
Mieko Meguro (née à Hokkaido, vit et travaille à New York) est une artiste japonaise. Elle travaille avec des médiums variés et réalise des livres illustrés. Son œuvre explore les identités transnationales et les histoires interculturelles en mêlant fragilité et humour. Elle est la compagne de longue date de Dan Graham.
Edité et préfacé par Franck Gautherot.
 
paru en décembre 2019
édition anglaise
11 x 16 cm (broché, couv. à rabats)
40 pages (ill. coul.)
 
13.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-37896-118-3
EAN : 9782378961183
 
en stock
Julia (Uncovered) Julia (Uncovered) Julia (Uncovered) Julia (Uncovered) Julia (Uncovered) Julia (Uncovered)
Dan Graham, Antoine Catala, Mieko Meguro : autres titres











 haut de page