les presses du réel

Spectres #01 – Composing Listening

Spectres  - Spectres #01
Spectres – Composing Listening presents a series of texts by composers (Félicia Atkinson, François Bayle, Brunhild Ferrari, Stephen O'Malley, Jim O'Rourke, Éliane Radigue, Chris Watson...) who discuss personal dimension in the practice of experimental sound art and music.
This book has been conceived as both a prism and a manual. Following the “traditional” arc of electroacoustic composition (listen—record—compose—deploy—feel), each of the contributions collected together here focuses in on a personal aspect, a fragment of that thrilling territory that is sonic and musical experimentation.
Although the term “experimental music” may now have be understood as referring to a genre, or even a particular style, we ought to hold on to the original use of this term, which was based more on an approach than on any particular aesthetic line to be followed. The experimental is first and foremost a spirit, the spirit of the exploration of unknown territories, a spirit of invention which sees musical composition more as a voyage into uncertain territories than as a self-assured approach working safe within the bosom of fully mapped out and recognized lands.
Third edition (2023).
Spectres is an annual publication dedicated to sound and music experimentation, co-published by Shelter Press and Ina GRM – Groupe de Recherches Musicales.
Edited by François J. Bonnet and Bartolomé Sanson.
Texts by Félicia Atkinson, François Bayle, François J. Bonnet, Drew Daniel, Brunhild Ferrari, Beatriz Ferreyra, Stephen O'Malley, Jim O'Rourke, Éliane Radigue, Régis Renouard Larivière, Espen Sommer Eide, Daniel Teruggi, Chris Watson.

Graphic design: Bartolomé Sanson.

Published with the INA GRM.
published in February 2019
bilingual edition (English / French)
12,5 x 20 cm (softcover)
256 pages (ill.)
ISBN : 978-2-36582-031-8
EAN : 9782365820318
currently out of stock
Spectres Spectres Spectres Spectres

 top of page