les presses du réel

Ecce Homo

General Idea - Ecce Homo
The General Idea drawings.
Focusing on one specific and lesser-known aspect of the manifold practice of General Idea, the Canadian collective founded in Toronto in 1969 by Felix Partz, Jorge Zontal—both deceased in 1994—and AA Bronson, this volume highlights their drawing practice. It offers a generous insight into 125 carefully selected drawings realized between 1985 and 1993—the period the collective spent in New York—spanning the diversity and innovation of their singular approach to drawing and art. The publication's design is inspired by George Grosz's legendary Ecce Homo album (1922–1923) because, according to AA Bronson, "the Anti-Semitism in Grosz's narrative is mirrored by the homophobia in ours."
Investigating motifs in the group's multimedia works such as poodles, stiletto heels, masks, heraldry, and metamorphosed genitalia, these drawings were primarily produced by Jorge Zontal during group meetings. However, given General Idea's mandate for co-authorship, as well as the circumstances under which they were executed, the drawings are considered to be collaborative. Although they are done entirely by hand, the repetition of specific motifs follows a viral logic that is akin to General Idea's own penchant for mass reproduction. Seen together, these drawings are a fascinating window into General Idea's distinct artistic vision as well as their unique notions of collaboration and co-authorship. As Claire Gilman states in her introduction: "The drawings are on the one hand dizzyingly full—this is particularly true of the later drawings where cockroaches spawn and multiply amid dots and splatters of color—and, on the other, hauntingly vacant consisting of mere stains or barely-there outlines, even within a single series. Lest we get too caught up in any one particular rendition, another follows, giving the lie to its predecessor. In their mutability and insistent flow, they are an intimate manifestation of the theatrical nature of existence, exposing representation's inadequacy while acknowledging its urgency."
Edited and introduced by Lionel Bovier and Claire Gilman, co-curators of the exhibition Ecce Homo. The Drawings of General Idea, 1985–1993 held in 2022–2023 at MAMCO Geneva and The Drawing Center, New York, the book also features a conversation with AA Bronson and an index of the drawings.
Founded in Toronto in 1969 by Felix Partz, Jorge Zontal—both dead in 1994—and AA Bronson, the collective General Idea adopted a generic identity that "freed it from the tyranny of individual genius." Their complex intermingling of reality and fiction took the form of a transgressive and often parodic take on art and society. Treating the image as a virus infiltrating every aspect of the real world, General Idea set out to colonize it, modify its content and so come up with an alternative version of reality.
Paintings, installations, sculptures, photographs, videos, magazines, and TV programs: General Idea's is an authentically multimedia oeuvre, that has lost nothing of its freshness and can now be seen as anticipating certain aspects of a current art scene undergoing radical transformation.

See also AA Bronson.
Edited by Claire Gilman and Lionel Bovier. Texts by AA Bronson, Claire Gilman, Lionel Bovier.
 
published in November 2022
English edition
26 x 35 cm (softcover)
200 pages (125 ill.)
 
50.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-03764-594-9
EAN : 9783037645949
 
in stock
General Idea: other titles






 top of page

les presses du réel

Ecce Homo

General Idea - Ecce Homo
Les dessins de General Idea.
En se concentrant sur un aspect spécifique et moins connu de la pratique multiple de General Idea, le collectif canadien fondé à Toronto en 1969 par Felix Partz, Jorge Zontal – tous deux décédés en 1994 – et AA Bronson, ce volume met en lumière leur pratique du dessin. Il offre un aperçu généreux de 125 dessins soigneusement sélectionnés, réalisés entre 1985 et 1993 – période pendant laquelle le collectif a séjourné à New York – qui témoignent de la diversité et de l'innovation de leur approche singulière du dessin et de l'art. La conception de la publication s'inspire du légendaire album Ecce Homo de George Grosz (1922-1923) car, selon AA Bronson, « l'antisémitisme du récit de Grosz se reflète dans l'homophobie du nôtre ».
Explorant les motifs des œuvres multimédias du groupe tels que les caniches, les talons aiguilles, les masques, l'héraldique et les organes génitaux métamorphosés, ces dessins ont été principalement réalisés par Jorge Zontal lors des réunions du groupe. Cependant, étant donné l'approche de General Idea des notions de collectif et de co-auteurité, ainsi que les circonstances dans lesquelles ils ont été exécutés, les dessins sont considérés comme des collaborations. Bien qu'ils soient réalisés entièrement à la main, la répétition de motifs spécifiques suit une logique virale qui s'apparente au penchant de General Idea pour la reproduction de masse. Comme l'écrit Claire Gilman dans son introduction : « Les dessins sont, d'une part, d'une richesse vertigineuse – c'est particulièrement vrai des derniers dessins où les cafards naissent et se multiplient au milieu de points et d'éclaboussures de couleur – et, d'autre part, d'une vacuité obsédante, consistant en de simples taches ou des contours à peine visibles, même au sein d'une seule série. Pour éviter que l'on ne s'attache trop à un rendu particulier, un autre suit, faisant mentir le précédent. Dans leur mutabilité et leur flux continu, ils sont une manifestation intime de la nature théâtrale de l'existence, démontrant l'insuffisance de la représentation tout en reconnaissant son urgence. »
Édité et introduit par Lionel Bovier et Claire Gilman, co-commissaires de l'exposition Ecce Homo. The Drawings of General Idea, 1985-1993 organisée en 2022-2023 au MAMCO, Genève et au Drawing Center, New York, l'ouvrage comprend également une conversation avec AA Bronson et un index des dessins.
Fondé à Toronto en 1969 par Felix Partz, Jorge Zontal – tous deux décédés en 1994 – et AA Bronson, le collectif General Idea se dote d'un nom générique lui permettant de se « libérer de la tyrannie du génie individuel ». Il élabore une œuvre complexe où s'entremêlent réel et fiction au service d'une relecture mordante, transgressive et souvent parodique du monde de l'art et de la société. General Idea part d'une conception de l'image vue tel un virus infiltrant le réel, s'en empare afin de l'habiter et d'en modifier le contenu. Il élabore ainsi une version alternative de la réalité.
Entre peintures et installations, sculptures et photographies, vidéos, magazines et programme télévisé, General Idea a produit une œuvre authentiquement multimédia qui n'a rien perdu de sa fraîcheur et apparaît aujourd'hui comme anticipatrice de certaines évolutions du monde de l'art actuel, visionnaire d'une société en pleine mutation.

Voir aussi AA Bronson.
Edité par Claire Gilman et Lionel Bovier. Textes de AA Bronson, Claire Gilman, Lionel Bovier.
 
paru en novembre 2022
édition anglaise
26 x 35 cm (broché)
200 pages (125 ill.)
 
50.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-03764-594-9
EAN : 9783037645949
 
en stock
Ecce Homo Ecce Homo Ecce Homo Ecce Homo Ecce Homo Ecce Homo Ecce Homo Ecce Homo
General Idea : autres titres






 haut de page