temporary interruption of shipments on January 31 and February 1 (orders will be shipped in priority as soon as operations resume—many thanks for your patience!)
les presses du réel

Stories I-XX

Richard Tuttle - Stories I-XX
Discover Richard Tuttle as story teller and writer: first publication of 44 short stories by the artist paired with 22 sculptural works from the "Stories" Series.
In his new body of work Stories, I–XX Richard Tuttle elaborates on the displacement of painting into other realms to engage us in a rhythmical and phenomenological reflection on color. Using various aspects of painting in a freehanded way his work exceeds rational determinations and occupies a liminal space in-between mediums. As we move from one Story to the next, the idiosyncratic nature of these cutout plywood pieces comes to confront their seriality—form and logic sporadically emerge and disappear. 
In this volume each work is paired with 2 short stories from his writings during the Covid confinement, in the spirit of the Decamerone, that inspired the titling of his new body of art works. The book ends with color images of Tuttle's solo exhibition Stories I-XX at Galerie Greta Meert, Brussels.
Born 1941 in Rahway, New Jersey, Richard Dean Tuttle lives and works in New Mexico and New York. His work spans a range of media, from sculpture, painting, drawing, printmaking and artist's books to installation and furniture. During the 1980s, Richard Tuttle began experimenting with materials and framing devices to probe art's relationship to scale, form and systems of display. Diverting from the cold precision of Minimalist his approach to art making embraces a playful and handmade quality that promotes the idea that things are always "just beginning". Often made out of humble materials such as plywood, cardboard, Styrofoam and paper, his work pushes the viewer to find forms of appreciation that aren't related to craftsmanship. In his own words, Tuttle proclaims that he loves materials, and at the same time is not really interested in them. The subtlety of this paradigm exemplifies his attitude towards art as a tool for life and an activity of sublimation engrossed in language and story telling.
Text by Richard Tuttle.
 
published in May 2021
English edition
29 x 33 cm (hardcover)
128 pages (ill.)
 
69.00
 
ISBN : 978-9-46393-415-2
EAN : 9789463934152
 
in stock
Richard Tuttle: other titles





 top of page

interruption exceptionnelle des expéditions les 31 janvier et 1er février (les commandes seront expédiées en priorité dès la reprise des opérations – merci pour votre patience !)
les presses du réel

Stories I-XX

Richard Tuttle - Stories I-XX
Richard Tuttle en conteur et écrivain : la première publication de 44 nouvelles rédigées par l'artiste, aux côtés de 22 œuvres sculpturales issues de la série « Stories ».
Dans son nouvel ensemble de travaux Stories, I–XX, Richard Tuttle s'étend sur le transfert de la peinture vers d'autres domaines, dans l'optique de nous inviter à une réflexion phénoménologique et rythmique sur la couleur. Reposant librement sur différents aspects de la peinture, son travail dépasse le côté rationnel et se veut à la frontière de deux mondes. D'une « Story » à une autre, la nature idiosyncrasique de ces pièces découpées en contreplaqué se confronte à leur sérialité – la logique et la forme se dévoilent et disparaissent par intermittence.
Dans ce volume, chaque œuvre est accompagnée de deux nouvelles rédigées par ses soins pendant le confinement lié au COVID, dans l'esprit de Decamerone, recueil qui a inspiré le titre de son nouvel ensemble de travaux artistiques. L'ouvrage se termine par des images en couleur de l'exposition Stories I-XX de Tuttle à la Galerie Greta Meert (Bruxelles).
Richard Dean Tuttle (né en 1941 à Rahway, New Jersey, vit et travaille à New York) est l'un des artistes contemporains les plus singuliers. Son œuvre échappe à toute classification et abolit les frontières entre sculpture, peinture, dessin, installation et gravure. Depuis sa première exposition personnelle à New York en 1965, Richard Tuttle a développé une pratique très libre, non conventionnelle et en constante évolution. S'écartant de l'extrême rigueur du minimalisme, ses sculptures sont empreintes d'une certaine fragilité de par leurs matériaux et composition. Tuttle n'a de cesse de modifier notre appréhension de l'objet d'art, son rapport à l'espace et de subtilement redéfinir notre conception de la sculpture. Richard Tuttle emploie magistralement différents matériaux pour élaborer un lexique personnel où le carton, le métal, le bois, le papier ou le textile deviennent comme les mots d'un poème ou les notes d'une partition. Ses sculptures se caractérisent également par l'absence de référence ou d'interprétation.
Texte de Richard Tuttle.
 
paru en mai 2021
édition anglaise
29 x 33 cm (relié)
128 pages (ill.)
 
69.00
 
ISBN : 978-9-46393-415-2
EAN : 9789463934152
 
en stock
Stories I-XX Stories I-XX Stories I-XX Stories I-XX Stories I-XX Stories I-XX Stories I-XX Stories I-XX Stories I-XX Stories I-XX
Richard Tuttle : autres titres





 haut de page