les presses du réel

Didone (vinyl LP)

Alessandro Bosetti - Didone (vinyl LP)
A "poly-autobiographical" musical combinatory poem inspired by the life stories of a group of musicians whose testimonies Alessandro Bosetti has collected, exploring the shifting and multiple dimension of identities through voice expression, between electro-acoustic research, jazz and experimental opera.
In September 2019 Alessandro Bosetti was invited by fellow composer and curator Riccardo La Foresta to create a new work for a newly created ensemble as part of a residency program hosted by Centro Musica in Modena, Italy.
The very first encounter took place on Skype – kind of a prediction of the forthcoming physically distanced pandemic times. The first, straight-to-the-point question Bosetti posed to each musician was to tell him the history of their life.
The materials collected in the interviews subsequently underwent a process of anonymization, selection and cut-up in order to create the imaginary autobiography of Didone, a genderless character on whom Bosetti composed a combinatory poem in 84 aphorisms, six of which have been translated into music.
The ensemble consists of extremely different musical profiles: the contemporary soprano Giulia Zaniboni, minimalist banjo and acoustic guitar player Glauco Salvo, and four musicians with a jazz background such as guitarist Luca Perciballi, drummers Andrea Grillini and Simone Sferruzza, and saxophonist Dan Kinzelman (also part of Hobby Horse trio and long-time collaborator of Enrico Rava). Some of the stylistic features of Bosetti's project Trophies (along with Kenta Nagai and Tony Buck) can be detected here and there. Persistent repetitions, mesmerizing sonic masses and extended, oblique melodic lines are here led by the clear and precise voice of soprano Giulia Zaniboni.
The voice is at the heart of this work: the textual fragments of the autobiographies are filtered through Zaniboni's contemporary vocality, while informing the instrumental writing as well. Themes and textures unveil traces of words or sentences; fragments of biographies are embedded in the intricate instrumental dialogue between the two drummers.
A final layer was added by Ettore Tripodi, a unique and out-of-time visual artist who imagined Didone in a series of illustrations accompanying the poem.
Didone is a work about the reconfiguration and recombination of identities, where every specific sense of belonging melts into an indistinct swarming of possibilities.
With Giulia Zaniboni (voice), Dan Kinzelman (tenor saxophone, flute), Luca Perciballi (electric and acoustic guitar), Glauco Salvo (electric guitar, banjo), Simone Sferruzza (drums), Andrea Grillini (drums).

Recorded at Centro Musica, Modena between 18th and 22nd September 2019, under the residency program "Autobiografie strumentali" hosted by Centro Musica – Comune di Modena and funded by Legge 2/18 Regione Emilia-Romagna – Progetto Sonda.

Alessandro Bosetti (born 1973 in Milan, lives and works in Marseille) is a composer and sound artist who focuses is in the fringe area between spoken language and music, working on the musicality of spoken words and unusual aspects of spoken communication, producing text-sound compositions featured in live performances, radio broadcastings and published recordings. In his work he moves across the line between sound anthropology and composition, often including translation and misunderstanding in the creative process. Field research and interviews build the basis for abstract compositions, along with electro-acoustic and acoustic collages, relational strategies, trained and untrained instrumental practices, vocal explorations and digital manipulations.
Bosetti created a series of highly compelling sound works where relational aesthetics meets innovative composition and published more than a dozen of cd's of his own music along with countless other collaborations.  Since 2000 he has been a key Ars Acustica figure, and created a vast body of electro acoustic and text sound works for institutions as WDR Studio Akustische Kunst, DeutschlandRadio and GRM among many other . Pieces like Il Fiore della Bocca (Rossbin/DLR 2005)—a work on the vocality of the mentally and physically impaired— and African Feedback—a collaborative scrutiny on experimental music in West Africa—(Errant Bodies Press, 2004) have received wide recognition and are considered classic contributions to the genre. Alessandro Bosetti is an emotional performer that has consistently toured in Europe, Asia and the United States as a soloist, leading his speech ensemble Trophies with Tony Buck and Kenta Nagai and in collaborations with fellow vocal performers as Jennifer Walshe and Tomomi Adachi and with pianist Chris Abrahams.
Music and concept by Alessandro Bosetti.
Mixed by Alessandro Bosetti.
Mastered by Giuseppe Ielasi.
Cover and illustrations by Ettore Tripodi.
Layout by Campomarzio.

Published by Kohlhaas.
 
published in July 2021
 
16.50
 
in stock
Alessandro Bosetti: other titles







 top of page

Fermeture estivale du 7 au 22 août inclus (les commandes passées après le 4 août seront traitées en priorité dès notre retour – merci pour votre patience !)
les presses du réel

Didone (vinyl LP)

Alessandro Bosetti - Didone (vinyl LP)
Un poème musical combinatoire « poly-autobiographique » nourri des récits des vies d'un ensemble de musiciens dont Alessandro Bosetti a recueilli les témoignages, explorant la dimension mouvante et multiple des identités à travers l'expression vocale, entre recherche électro-acoustique, jazz et opéra expérimental.
En septembre 2019, Alessandro Bosetti a été invité par son collègue compositeur et conservateur Riccardo La Foresta à créer une nouvelle œuvre pour un ensemble nouvellement créé dans le cadre d'un programme de résidence accueilli par le Centro Musica à Modène, en Italie.
La toute première rencontre a eu lieu sur Skype, comme une prémonition de l'ère pandémique de la distanciation physique à venir. Bosetti a commencé à demander, de manière directe, à chaque musicien de lui raconter l'histoire de leur vie.
Les matériaux recueillis lors des entretiens ont ensuite été anonymisés, sélectionnés et découpés afin de créer l'autobiographie imaginaire de Didone, un personnage non genré autour duquel Bosetti a composé un poème combinatoire en 84 aphorismes, dont six ont été traduits en musique.
L'ensemble est composé de profils musicaux extrêmement différents : la soprano contemporaine Giulia Zaniboni, le joueur de banjo et de guitare acoustique minimaliste Glauco Salvo, et quatre musiciens issus du jazz comme le guitariste Luca Perciballi, les batteurs Andrea Grillini et Simone Sferruzza, et le saxophoniste Dan Kinzelman (également membre du trio Hobby Horse et collaborateur de longue date d'Enrico Rava). Certaines caractéristiques stylistiques du projet Trophies de Bosetti (avec Kenta Nagai et Tony Buck) peuvent être apparaissent ici et là. Des répétitions persistantes, des masses sonores envoûtantes et des lignes mélodiques obliques et étendues sont ici menées par la voix claire et précise de la soprano Giulia Zaniboni.
La voix est au cœur de cette œuvre : les fragments textuels des autobiographies sont filtrés par la vocalité contemporaine de Zaniboni, tout en informant également l'écriture instrumentale. Les thèmes et les textures dévoilent des traces de mots ou de phrases ; des fragments de biographies sont intégrés dans le dialogue instrumental complexe entre les deux batteurs.
Une dernière strate a été ajoutée par Ettore Tripodi, un artiste visuel qui a imaginé Didone dans une série d'illustrations accompagnant le poème.
Didone est une œuvre sur la reconfiguration et la recombinaison des identités, où chaque sentiment d'appartenance spécifique se fond dans un fourmillement indistinct de possibilités.
Avec Giulia Zaniboni (voix), Dan Kinzelman (saxophone ténor, flûte), Luca Perciballi (guitare électrique et acoustique), Glauco Salvo (guitare électrique, banjo), Simone Sferruzza (batterie), Andrea Grillini (batterie).

Enregistré au Centro Musica, Modène, en 2019, dans le cadre du programme de résidence « Autobiografie strumentali » accueilli par le Centro Musica de Modène.

Le travail d'Alessandro Bosetti (né en 1973 à Milan, vit et travaille à Marseille), compositeur, musicien, artiste sonore et artiste radiophonique, basé sur la musicalité de la voix, du langage et des langues, explore la frontière entre le langage parlé et la musique. Ses compositions abstraites (sur disque, jouées lors de performances en public ou pour des diffusions radiophoniques) mêlent documents sonores et entretiens enregistrés, collages acoustiques et électro-acoustiques, stratégies relationnelles, pratiques instrumentales, explorations vocales et manipulations numériques. Un questionnement de la communication orale, des aléas des processus de traduction, et de l'écoute comme objet culturel, à la frontière entre anthropologie sonore et musique contemporaine.
Bosetti est l'auteur d'une série d'œuvres sonores remarquables, où l'esthétique relationnelle rencontre les méthodes de composition les plus novatrices, et a publié une quinzaine d'albums sous son nom, sans compter ses nombreuses collaborations. Il est depuis 2000 une figure majeure de l'Ars Acustica, et est l'auteur d'un vaste corpus d'œuvres électroacoustiques et de compositions texte-son, notamment pour des institutions telles que WDR Studio Akustische Kunst, la DeutschlandRadio ou encore le GRM, entre autres. Des pièces comme Il Fiore della Bocca (Rossbin / DLR 2005) – une œuvre autour du vocalisme des personnes présentant des déficiences physiques ou mentales – ou encore African Feedback – qui questionne la musique expérimentale, travail collaboratif avec les habitants d'un village d'Afrique de l'Ouest (Errant Bodies Press, 2004) ont obtenu une reconnaissance internationale, et comptent désormais parmi les classiques du genre. Alessandro Bosetti a déjà présenté ses performances pleines de sensibilité en Europe, en Asie et aux Etats-Unis, que ce soit en solo, à la tête de son ensemble Trophies avec Tony Buck et Kenta Nagai, en collaboration avec d'autres performers vocaux tels que Jennifer Walshe et Tomomi Adachi ou encore avec le pianiste Chris Abrahams.
Musique et concept : Alessandro Bosetti.
Mixage : Alessandro Bosetti.
Mastering : Giuseppe Ielasi.
Illustrations : Ettore Tripodi.
Conception graphique : Campomarzio.

Publié par Kohlhaas.
 
paru en juillet 2021
 
16.50
 
en stock
Alessandro Bosetti : autres titres







 haut de page