les presses du réel

Fragen & BlumenEine Retrospektive

Peter Fischli & David Weiss - Fragen & Blumen
This unique book, developed in collaboration with the artists, accompanies a major, touring retrospective exhibition and is the most extensive visual record of their extraordinarily varied work yet published. The writers featured include critics, curators, cultural commentators, artists and filmmakers, bringing a variety of voices to bear on a career that defies boundaries as easily as it evades simple classification.
Texts by Boris Groys, John Waters, Iwona Blazwick, Francesco Bonami, Alison M. Gingeras, Daniel Birnbaum, Robert Fleck, Claire Bishop, Tacita Dean, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Nancy Spector, Christy Lange, Max Küng, Lynne Cooke, Renate Goldmann, Frederic Tuten, Beat Wyss, Stefan Zweifel, Arthur C. Danto, Thomas Kapielski, John Kelsey, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Andres Lutz, Patrick Frey, Bice Curiger, Mark Godfrey, Vincent Pécoil, Valentin Groebner, Jörg Heiser, Veit Loers and Max Wechsler.
Peter Fischli (born 1952 in Zurich) and David Weiss (born 1946 in Zurich, died on 27 April 2012) have been collaborating since 1979 on a body of work that humorously celebrates the sheer banality of everyday existence. Indebted to Dada, Surrealism, Pop Art, and Conceptual Art, utilising a variety of media including photography, film, video, artists' books, installation and sculpture, their work playfully ignores the traditional distinction between high and low art, while at the same time commenting on the human condition. Fischli & Weiss have represented Switzerland at the Venice Biennale several times during their career.

See also: David Weiss.
Edited by Bice Curiger, Peter Fischli, David Weiss.

Published in collaboration with the Kunsthaus Zurich.
 
published in 2006
German edition
16,5 x 23,5 cm (softcover)
352 pages (182 colour ill.)
 
ISBN : 978-3-905770-08-7
EAN : 9783905770087
 
sold out
Fragen & Blumen Fragen & Blumen Fragen & Blumen
Peter Fischli & David Weiss: other titles




 top of page

les presses du réel

Fragen & BlumenEine Retrospektive

Peter Fischli & David Weiss - Fragen & Blumen
Conçu en collaboration avec les artistes à l'occasion d'une grande exposition rétrospective itinérante, cet ouvrage rend compte de l'extraordinaire variété du travail de Peter Fischli et David Weiss (photographie, vidéo, livres d'artiste, installations, sculptures), commenté par des critiques, des commissaires, des artistes, des cinéastes.
Textes de Boris Groys, John Waters, Iwona Blazwick, Francesco Bonami, Alison M. Gingeras, Daniel Birnbaum, Robert Fleck, Claire Bishop, Tacita Dean, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Nancy Spector, Christy Lange, Max Küng, Lynne Cooke, Renate Goldmann, Frederic Tuten, Beat Wyss, Stefan Zweifel, Arthur C. Danto, Thomas Kapielski, John Kelsey, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Andres Lutz, Patrick Frey, Bice Curiger, Mark Godfrey, Vincent Pécoil, Valentin Groebner, Jörg Heiser, Veit Loers et Max Wechsler.
Peter Fischli et David Weiss (nés respectivement en 1952 et 1946 à Zurich) ont collaboré de 1979 à la mort de David Weiss, le 27 avril 2012. Leur œuvre célèbre avec humour la banalité absolue du quotidien. Influencés par Dada, le surréalisme, le Pop art et l'art conceptuel, utilisant une variété de médias, de la photographie au film, de la vidéo aux livres d'artistes, de l'installation et à la sculpture, Fischli & Weiss prennent plaisir à ignorer les distinctions traditionnelles entre art légitime et populaire, tout en maintenant un propos sur la condition humaine. Ils auront représenté la Suisse à la Biennale de Venise à de nombreuses reprises durant leur carrière.

Voir aussi : David Weiss.
 
Édité par Bice Curiger, Peter Fischli, David Weiss.

Publié avec la Kunsthaus Zurich.
 
paru en 2006
édition allemande
16,5 x 23,5 cm (broché)
352 pages (182 ill. coul.)
 
ISBN : 978-3-905770-08-7
EAN : 9783905770087
 
épuisé
Fragen & Blumen Fragen & Blumen Fragen & Blumen


 haut de page