les presses du réel

Performance Works

 - Performance Works
An anthology of both newly commissioned and reprinted essays, as well as interviews and fiction that reflect on performance today.
Imagine a cow left for a day on Ipanema, an urban beach in Rio de Janeiro, where no animal has been seen for at least a century. Imagine taking a close look at bacteria writing a poem, or a group of friends gathered in a bar, each  member enjoying a glass of some fermented beverage. What these events have in common can be encapsulated in one word that unleashes a lot of emotion and critical commentary yet evades simplistic classification: performance.
Performance Works is based on the premise that living art can only be defined through praxis, so the writers have reinforced their texts with action: accompanying artists during rehearsals and onstage, passing time together, and collectively reflecting on the essence of performance. The publication is an anthology of both newly commissioned and reprinted essays, as well as interviews and fiction that reflect on performance today. It is structured around four major sections that investigate the new performance phenomenologies by looking at artistic institutions, curatorial practices, and exhibition formats, as well as the technological turn and performative fiction.
Over recent decades, the definition of performance has changed. Performance Works examines changes taking place in the traditional exhibition format, which has recently taken a back seat to hybrid forms that link the visual arts with the performing arts, literature, and music. The book reflects on the changing role of the viewer, who increasingly has become a performer and active participant. Authors also analyze the role of the performer's body and the work that is involved in extended performative exhibitions. Additionally, Performance Works presents the research outcomes linked to the performance program launched in 2016 at Ujazdowski Castle Centre for Contemporary Art in Warsaw, which examined the performative turn in visual arts and its consequences for art institutions, as well as artistic and curatorial practices.
Edited by Joanna Zielińska.
Texts by Oreet Ashery, Pierre Bal-Blanc, Claire Bishop, Marie de Brugerolle, Yann Chateigné, Korina Giaxoglou, Michał Grzegorzek, Shannon Jackson, Eliel Jones, Chris Kraus, Laura Lima, David Maroto, Ingo Niermann, Kathy Noble, Johannes Paul Raether, Mark von Schlegell, Agnieszka Sosnowska, Ana Teixeira Pinto, Transformella, Joanna Zielińska.
 
published in June 2020
English edition
17 x 24 cm (softcover)
272 pages (ill.)
 
25.00
 
ISBN : 978-88-6749-430-9
EAN : 9788867494309
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Performance Works

 - Performance Works
Une anthologie d'essais, d'entretiens et de fictions pour cerner les pratiques performatives d'aujourd'hui.
Performance Works part du principe que l'art vivant ne peut être défini que par la praxis. Les auteurs ont donc renforcé leurs textes par l'action : accompagner les artistes pendant les répétitions et sur scène, passer du temps ensemble et réfléchir collectivement à l'essence de la performance. Cette publication constitue une anthologie d'essais inédits ou réédités, ainsi que d'entretiens et de fictions qui réfléchissent sur la performance aujourd'hui. Elle s'articule autour de quatre grandes sections qui examinent les nouvelles phénoménologies de la performance en se penchant sur les institutions artistiques, les pratiques curatoriales et les formats d'exposition, ainsi que sur le virage technologique et la fiction performative.
Au cours des dernières décennies, la définition de la performance a évolué. Performance Works examine les changements qui se produisent dans le format d'exposition traditionnel, de plus en plus relégué au second plan au profit de formes hybrides qui lient les arts visuels aux arts du spectacle, à la littérature et à la musique. Le livre examine l'évolution du rôle du spectateur, qui devient interprète et participant actif. Les auteurs analysent également le rôle du corps de l'artiste et le travail impliqué dans les expositions performatives sur la durée. En outre, Performance Works présente les résultats de la recherche liée au programme de performance lancé en 2016 au Centre d'art contemporain du château Ujazdowski à Varsovie, qui a examiné le virage performatif dans les arts visuels et ses implications pour les institutions artistiques, ainsi que les pratiques artistiques et curatoriales.
Edité par Joanna Zielińska.
Textes de Oreet Ashery, Pierre Bal-Blanc, Claire Bishop, Marie de Brugerolle, Yann Chateigné, Korina Giaxoglou, Michał Grzegorzek, Shannon Jackson, Eliel Jones, Chris Kraus, Laura Lima, David Maroto, Ingo Niermann, Kathy Noble, Johannes Paul Raether, Mark von Schlegell, Agnieszka Sosnowska, Ana Teixeira Pinto, Transformella, Joanna Zielińska.
 
paru en juin 2020
édition anglaise
17 x 24 cm (broché)
272 pages (ill.)
 
25.00
 
ISBN : 978-88-6749-430-9
EAN : 9788867494309
 
en stock
Performance Works Performance Works Performance Works Performance Works Performance Works Performance Works Performance Works


 haut de page