les presses du réel

Five Stories of São Paulo

Éva Le Roi, Pierre Burquel - Five Stories of São Paulo
A project by Éva Le Roi & Pierre Burquel (drawings and sketches of São Paulo); hand drawings by Éva Le Roi.
In summer 2019, artist Éva Le Roi and architect Pierre Burquel travelled to São Paulo to research its particular urban conditions, in conjunction with the exhibition TODO DIA / EVERYDAY, 12th Bienal de Arquitetura de São Paulo. Five urban situation have been selected and interpreted through a subjective axonometric drawing on a 1:1000 scale alongside a projection of its daily use: Telhados, Piscinões, Condomínios, Campos and Galerias. Éva Le Roi's hand drawings are reproduced in the book at their original scale.
Éva Le Roi (born 1987 in Caen, France) is an independent artist and illustrator based in Brussels. She studied illustration at the École Estienne in Paris and visual arts at the École Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Strasbourg. In her work, she explores the relationships between construction and its environment through the specificity of hand drawing. She has collaborated with architecture practices such as XDGA, 51N4E and AUC on exhibitions, competitions and institutional events, also illustrating editorial projects (OASE #90, Accattone #6). She participated three times in the Venice architecture biennale: in 2012, she collaborated to the project POST-CITY, Luxembourg pavilion; in 2014, she realised the graphic contribution to the project Architecture of Fulfilment, exhibited in the main section Monditalia; and in 2018 she exhibited a selection of her works in the Japanese pavilion. She teaches architectural representation to master students at the UCLouvain Faculty of architecture (LOCI, Brussels).
Pierre Burquel (born 1982 in Ichocan, Peru) is an independent architect based in Brussels, graduated at La Cambre in 2010. He is interested in a systemic and multiscale approach to architecture, the city and the territory, setting up a practice that explores the faint boundaries between architecture, urbanism and their embeddedness in reality. He has practised for seven years as a collaborator and project leader for XDGA (Xaveer De Geyter architects) and was co-founder of CENTRAL. With CENTRAL he presented the project EUROPA at the 2018 Venice architecture biennale and the project Virtuous Situations from the Industrial Past and some Ideas for the “Climatic Metropolis” to Come at the first Architecture and Landscape Biennial in Versailles, 2019. He teaches architecture design studio at the Faculties of architecture La Cambre Horta (ULB, Brussels) and LOCI Tournai.
Graphic design: Ismaël Bennani & Orfée Grandhomme.
 
published in March 2020
English edition
21 x 28 cm (softcover)
64 pages (ill.)
 
25.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9602530-2-3
EAN : 9782960253023
 
in stock


 top of page

En raison de la situation sanitaire, les expéditions sont actuellement interrompues. Les commandes sont bien entendu notées et seront traitées dès que possible. Merci !
les presses du réel

Five Stories of São Paulo

Éva Le Roi, Pierre Burquel - Five Stories of São Paulo
Le projet de l'artiste Éva Le Roi et de l'architecte Pierre Burquel autour des conditions métropolitaines de São Paulo (dessins à la main d'Éva Le Roi).
Durant l'été 2019, l'artiste Éva Le Roi et l'architecte Pierre Burquel ont étudié les conditions métropolitaines particulières de la ville à São Paulo. Ils ont présenté ce projet dans le cadre de l'exposition TODO DIA / EVERYDAY, 12e Bienal de Arquitetura de São Paulo. Cinq situations urbaines spécifiques ont été sélectionnées et interprétées au travers d'une axonométrie subjective à l'échelle 1:1000, accompagnée d'une projection de son usage quotidien : Telhados, Piscinões, Condomínios, Campos et Galerias. Les dessins à la main d'Éva Le Roi sont reproduits dans le livre à leur échelle originale.
Éva Le Roi (née en 1987 à Caen) est une artiste et illustratrice indépendante basée à Bruxelles. Elle a étudié l'illustration à l'École Estienne à Paris et à l'École Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Strasbourg. Elle explore les relations entre les structures construites et leur environnement au travers des spécificités du dessin manuel. Depuis 2010 elle collabore avec des bureaux d'architecture tels que XDGA, 51N4E et L'AUC dans le cadre d'expositions, de concours et d'événements institutionnels, illustrant également des projets éditoriaux (OASE #90, Accattone #6). Elle a participé à trois reprises à la Biennale d'architecture de Venise : en 2012 elle collabore au projet POST-CITY au pavillon du Luxembourg ; en 2014 elle contribue au projet Architecture of Fulfilment, exposé dans la section principale Monditalia ; en 2018 elle expose une sélection de ses œuvres dans le pavillon japonais. Elle enseigne la représentation architecturale en master à l'UCL, Faculté d'architecture (LOCI, Bruxelles).
Pierre Burquel (né en 1982 à Ichocan, Pérou) est un architecte indépendant basé à Bruxelles. Il a obtenu son diplôme d'architecte à La Cambre en 2010. Il développe une approche systémique et multiscalaire de l'architecture, élaborant une pratique qui explore les frontières labiles entre l'architecture, l'urbanisme et leur ancrage dans la réalité. Il a exercé pendant sept ans en tant que collaborateur et chef de projet pour XDGA (Xaveer De Geyter architectes) et a été co-fondateur du bureau CENTRAL. Avec CENTRAL il présente le projet EUROPA à la Biennale d'architecture de Venise en 2018 et le projet Situations vertueuses du passé industriel et quelques idées pour la métropole climatique à venir à la première Biennale d'architecture et de paysage de Versailles, en 2019. Il enseigne le projet d'architecture à la Faculté d'architecture La Cambre Horta (ULB, Bruxelles) et à la Faculté d'architecture (LOCI, Tournai) de l'UCL.
Conception graphique : Ismaël Bennani & Orfée Grandhomme.
 
paru en mars 2020
édition anglaise
21 x 28 cm (broché)
64 pages (ill.)
 
25.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9602530-2-3
EAN : 9782960253023
 
en stock
Five Stories of São Paulo Five Stories of São Paulo Five Stories of São Paulo Five Stories of São Paulo Five Stories of São Paulo Five Stories of São Paulo Five Stories of São Paulo


 haut de page