les presses du réel

The Ballad

Caroline Mesquita - The Ballad
The catalogue of the eponymous exhibition by Caroline Mesquita, published on the occasion of her Fondation Ricard Prize. The French artist works primarily with metal, creating sculptures and staged video with strong narratives.
Caroline Mesquita's sculptural practice intertwines the materiality of her altered, oxidized, and painted brass sheets with theatrical playfulness. Her metallurgic experiments result in life-size figures, interacting with each other in a mise-en-scène crafted from sculpted sheet metal and an environment of coated steel. For the exhibition “The Ballad”, Mesquita produced a series of twelve sculpted characters interacting and facing each other or the viewer, as their presence blurs the line between fiction and reality, humans and mannequins. It is a procession, a form of public celebration, a moment of communion, frozen in time and space.
Published following the eponymous exhibitions at Fondation d'entreprise Ricard, Paris, from January 24 to March 11, 2017, and at 221A, Vancouver, from April 4 to June 3, 2017.
Caroline Mesquita (born 1989 in Brest, lives and works in Marseille) is a sculptor and video artist, mainly working with metal. She creates sculptures like airplanes, spaceships and motorcycles, all journey in the direction of a radical imagination. Raw material provides the spark that animates her narrative engagement with notions of science fiction, religion, embodiment, transformation, sensuality, and sociability. Mesquita's works are darkened, patinated and roughly textured through an oxidation process. With this technique, Mesquita manipulates the metal like a form of painting. These material transformations provide a format for storytelling about the human experience and the directness of action and exchange in relationships. Either around or using her metallic creations, she also creates videos, sound environments and performance films in which she appears herself. Caroline Mesquita is the winner of the 2017 Prize of the Fondation d'entreprise Ricard.
 
Edited by Martha Kirszenbaum.
Text by Elise Lammer, interview with Caroline Mesquita by Martha Kirszenbaum .

Graphic design: Andrea Baccin.

Published with Fondation d'entreprise Ricard, Paris, and 221A, Vancouver.

 
published in November 2019
bilingue (English / French)
18 x 25 cm (softcover)
104 pages (color ill.)
 
20.00
 
ISBN : 978-88-99776-20-6
EAN : 9788899776206
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

The Ballad

Caroline Mesquita - The Ballad
Le catalogue de l'exposition éponyme de Caroline Mesquita, dans le cadre de l'obtention du prix de la Fondation Ricard. L'artiste française inscrit le métal au cœur d'une pratique sculpturale qui s'étend au médium vidéo, proposant des expérimentations multimédia à forte charge narrative.
La pratique sculpturale de Caroline Mesquita mêle la matérialité des plaques de cuivre et de laiton qu'elle altère, peint ou oxyde avec l'allégresse du théâtre et de la performance. Ses expérimentations métallurgiques ont donné naissance à un ensemble de personnages à taille humaine, qui interagissent au cours d'une mise en scène élaborée à partir des plaques de métal sculptées, formant un environnement d'acier mat. Pour l'exposition « The Ballad » présentée à la Fondation d'entreprise Ricard, l'artiste a créé une série de douze personnages qui ponctuent l'espace en se faisant face, tandis que leur présence devant le spectateur brouille la frontière entre fiction et réalité, humains et mannequins. Il s'agit d'une procession, d'une forme de célébration publique, d'un moment de communion.
Publié suite aux expositions éponymes à la Fondation d'entreprise Ricard, Paris, du 24 janvier au 11 mars 2017 et à 221A, Vancouver, du 4 avril au 3 juin 2017.
Caroline Mesquita (née en 1989 à Brest, vit et travaille à Marseille) est une sculpteure et artiste vidéo, travaillant principalement le métal. Ses sculptures s'inspirent des appareils de mécaniques aéronautiques, aérospatiales et automobiles, associés au pouvoir d'une imagination radicale. Les matières premières utilisées fournissent l'étincelle qui anime son engagement narratif, nourri de notions tirées de la science-fiction et de la religion, et des concepts d'incarnation, de transformation, de sensualité et de sociabilité. Les œuvres de Caroline Mesquita sont assombries, patinées et grossièrement texturées via un processus d'oxydation. Grâce à cette technique, l'artiste manie le métal comme on peint une peinture. Caroline Mesquita crée également des vidéos, des environnements sonores et des performances filmées dans lesquels elle se met en scène. Caroline Mesquita est lauréate du prix 2017 de la Fondation d'entreprise Ricard.
 
Edité par Martha Kirszenbaum.
Texte d'Elise Lammer, entretien avec Caroline Mesquita par Martha Kirszenbaum.

Conception graphique : Andrea Baccin.

Publié avec la Fondation d'entreprise Ricard, Paris, et 221A, Vancouver.

 
paru en novembre 2019
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
18 x 25 cm (broché)
104 pages (ill. coul.)
 
20.00
 
ISBN : 978-88-99776-20-6
EAN : 9788899776206
 
en stock
The Ballad The Ballad The Ballad The Ballad The Ballad The Ballad The Ballad The Ballad The Ballad


 haut de page