Due to the health situation, shipments are currently suspended. Orders are recorded and will be processed as soon as possible. Many thanks!
les presses du réel

Shape of Time

David Claerbout - Shape of Time
The artist's first comprehensive monograph, the book features works ranging from 1996 to 2007 and includes specially commissioned essays, as well as numerous reproductions and, for the first time, the preparatory drawings for the films and installations.
Published for the exhibitions at the Centre Pompidou, Paris; the MIT List Center, Cambridge; the De Pont Foundation, Tilburg; Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, University of British Columbia, Vancouver; and the Kunstmuseum St. Gallen.
The works of Belgian artist David Claerbout (*1969) are marked by an interrogation of time as an artistic medium. Inspired both by phenomenology and by Gilles Deleuze's writings on the image and cinema (“The Time-Image” and “The Movement-Image,” 1983), he has developed a kind of “photography in movement,” a “still movement,” into which he introduces narrative elements.
Navigating between the still and the moving image, between photographic and digital techniques, Claerbout produces works that are not easy to “consume”: looking at his work means spending enough time waiting for things to happen—an experience of duration which provides the viewer both the conditions and the desire to re-think what narration and story-telling can be in face of the image and its current technologies.

See also Thierry Davila: Shadow Pieces (David Claerbout).
Edited by Christine Van Assche.
Texts by Raymond Bellour, Françoise Parfait, Dirk Snauwaert, Christine Van Assche.
 
published in 2008
English edition
23,8 x 28,6 cm (softcover)
160 pages (150 color & 150 b/w ill.)
 
40.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-905829-38-9
EAN : 9783905829389
 
in stock
Shape of Time Shape of Time Shape of Time


 top of page

les presses du réel

Shape of Time

David Claerbout - Shape of Time
Première monographie complète, avec de nombreuses reproductions des œuvres produites entre 1996 et 2007, plusieurs essais, ainsi que les dessins préparatoires pour les films et les installations de Claerbout, dévoilés pour la première fois.
Publié suite aux expositions organisées en 2007 et 2008 au Centre Pompidou, Paris, au MIT List Center, Cambridge, à la De Pont Foundation, Tilburg, à la Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, Vancouver et au Kunstmuseum St. Gallen.

Egalement disponible en édition française.
Le travail de l'artiste belge David Claerbout (né en 1969) est marqué par une réflexion sur le temps, considéré comme médium artistique. Inspiré par la phénoménologie et par les écrits de Gilles Deleuze sur l'image et le cinéma, il a développé une sorte de "photographie en mouvement" qui lui permet d'introduire des éléments narratifs dans l'image.
Entre image fixe et image en mouvement, entre photographie et techniques numériques, les œuvres de Claerbout sont exigeantes, difficiles à "consommer" : en attendant que "quelque chose se passe", le spectateur accepte une expérience de la durée qui produit à la fois les conditions et le désir d'une réflexion sur les rapports entre la narration, l'image et ses supports technologiques.

Voir aussi Thierry Davila : Shadow Pieces (David Claerbout).
 
Edité par Christine Van Assche.
Textes de Raymond Bellour, Françoise Parfait, Dirk Snauwaert, Christine Van Assche.
 
paru en 2008
édition anglaise
23,8 x 28,6 cm (broché)
160 pages (150 ill. en coul., 150 ill. n&b)
 
40.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-905829-38-9
EAN : 9783905829389
 
en stock
Shape of Time Shape of Time Shape of Time


 haut de page