les presses du réel

U Killed me First (Melody)

David Douard - U Killed me First (Melody)
Publication constituting a continuation of Melody, the installation created by David Douard for Sculpture Garden, acquired by the city of Geneva, and which was subsequently vandalized. This last point is at the heart of the book, which presents a graphic section bringing together reproductions of preparatory works for the piece, plates of images of the work in situ, and a discussion between the artist and the curator Devrim Bayar dealing with the status of this work during and after degradation. 
Born 1983 in Perpignan, David Douard lives and works in Aubervilliers (France). Language is the very basis of his work. The texts and poems he collects on the Internet are manipulated, transformed in order to become a vital flow, feeding into his sculptures. Through language as an ingredient, David Douard redefines space as hybrid and collective by injecting anonymous, chaotic, deviant, ill and frustrating poems in it. As he recreates an infected environment where the real world used to be, the fantasy brought by new digital technologies expands.
David Douard's work has been shown in solo and collective exhibitions by international institutions such as: FRAC Île-de-France, Paris (2020); Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin (2019); KURA. c/o Fonderia Artistica Battaglia, Milan (2018); Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2014 and 2018); Musée d'Art Moderne, Paris (2015 and 2017); Kunstverein Braunschweig (2016); Fridericianum, Kassel (2015); Sculpture Center, New York (2014); Astrup Fearnley Museet, Oslo (2014); Fondation Pernod Ricard, Paris (2012). He participated in numerous biennials: Biennale de Lyon (2013); Taipei Biennial (2014); Gwangju Biennale (2018). In 2017 David Douard received the Fondazione Ettore Fico Prize on the occasion of the Artissima fair in Turin.
Texts by Devrim Bayar and David Douard.

Graphic design: Émilie Ferrat and Julie Héneault.

Published by Ness Books.
 
published in November 2022
English edition
21 x 19,7 cm (softcover)
52 pages (ill.)
 
10.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-415-0510-4
EAN : 9791041505104
 
in stock
David Douard: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel

U Killed me First (Melody)

U Killed me First (Melody) David Douard - U Killed me First (Melody)
Publication constituant une continuation de Melody, l'installation réalisée par David Douard pour Sculpture Garden, acquise par la ville de Genève, et qui a été par la suite vandalisée. Ce dernier point est au cœur du livre, qui présente une partie graphique réunissant des reproductions de travaux préparatoires à la pièce, des planches d'images de l'œuvre in situ, et enfin une discussion entre l'artiste et la curatrice Devrim Bayar traitant du statut de cette œuvre pendant et après dégradation. 
Né en 1983 à Perpignan, David Douard vit et travaille à Aubervilliers. Le langage est la source de son travail. Les textes et les poèmes qu'il collecte sur l'internet sont manipulés, transformés et deviennent ainsi un flux / fluide vital qui alimente ses sculptures. Le langage agit dans le travail de David Douard comme un matériau en tant que tel. Par ce biais, il redéfinit un nouvel espace social, hybride, en pleine mutation. En y injectant les poèmes d'anonymes toujours empreints d'une forme de chaos, déviance, maladie ou frustration, il recrée un environnement contaminé en parallèle du monde réel, augmenté par le fantasme des nouvelles technologies numériques.
Le travail de David Douard a été présenté dans le cadre d'expositions personnelles et collectives par des institutions internationales telles que, le FRAC Île-de-France, Paris (2020) ; Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin, Irlande (2019) ; KURA. c/o Fonderia Artistica Battaglia, Milan (2018) ; Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2014 et 2018) ; Musée d'Art Moderne, Paris (2015 et 2017) ; Kunstverein Braunschweig (2016) ; Fridericianum, Kassel (2015) ; Sculpture Center, New York (2014) ; Astrup Fearnley Museet, Oslo (2014) ; Fondation Pernod Ricard, Paris (2012). Il a participé à plusieurs biennales parmi lesquelles, la Biennale de Lyon (2013), la Biennale de Taipei (2014), la Biennale de Gwangju (2018). Ses œuvres ont rejoint les collections du Musée d'Art Moderne, Paris, France ; Fonds national d'art contemporain, France ; FRAC Île-de-France, Paris, France ; FRAC Limousin, Limoges, France. David Douard a reçu en 2017 le prix Fondazione Ettore Fico dans le cadre de la foire Artissima, à Turin.
Textes de Devrim Bayar et David Douard.

Conception graphique : Émilie Ferrat et Julie Héneault.

Publié par Ness Books.
 
paru en novembre 2022
édition anglaise
21 x 19,7 cm (broché)
52 pages (ill.)
 
10.00
 
ISBN : 979-10-415-0510-4
EAN : 9791041505104
 
en stock
U Killed me First (Melody) U Killed me First (Melody) U Killed me First (Melody) U Killed me First (Melody) U Killed me First (Melody) U Killed me First (Melody) U Killed me First (Melody) U Killed me First (Melody) U Killed me First (Melody) U Killed me First (Melody) U Killed me First (Melody) U Killed me First (Melody)
David Douard : autre titre



 haut de page