les presses du réel

Another State of Stagnation / Piano Pieces (1991-2021) (CD)

Milan Knížák - Another State of Stagnation / Piano Pieces (1991-2021) (CD)
Another State of Stagnation contains six unreleased piano pieces by Milan Knízák, written between 1991 and 2021, played by Czech piano virtuoso Miroslav Beinhauer in August 2020 and recorded in August 2021 at Czech Radio Ostrava under the Petr Bakla's recording direction.
Milan Knížák (born 1940 in Plzeň, Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia, today Czech Republic) is a Czech performance artist, sculptor, musician, installation artist, dissident, graphic artist, art theorist and pedagogue of art.
Before everyone elseChristian Marclay, Philip Jeck, eRikm, Martin Tétreault, Otomo Yoshihide—there was Milan Knížák. In 1964, Knížák, a member of Fluxus from behind the Iron Curtain, sat down on a sidewalk near the Charles Bridge in Prague, laid down a paper carpet right into the street, and starts tearing pages out of books and burning them... Around the same time, he began to create music from defective, worn, damaged or broken LP's, which would ultimately result in 1979's Broken Music, his major musical work.
Leading figure of contemporary art in Eastern countries before the fall of USSR, Milan Knížák directed the National Gallery in Prague and teaches since 1990 at the Academy of Fine Arts, Prague.
Piano: Miroslav Beinhauer.
Produced by re-set production.
 
published in September 2022
 
13.50
EAN : 5411867115267
 
in stock
Milan Knížák: other titles





 top of page

les presses du réel

Another State of Stagnation / Piano Pieces (1991-2021) (CD)

Milan Knížák - Another State of Stagnation / Piano Pieces (1991-2021) (CD)
Another State of Stagnation contient six pièces pour piano inédites de Milan Knízák, composées entre 1991 et 2021, interprétées par le virtuose tchèque du piano Miroslav Beinhauer en août 2020 et enregistrées en août 2021 à la Radio tchèque d'Ostrava sous la direction d'enregistrement de Petr Bakla.
Milan Knížák (né en 1940 à Pilsen, Protectorat de Bohême-Moravie, actuelle République Tchèque) est un artiste tchèque, sculpteur, musicien, dissident, graphiste, théoricien de l'art et professeur.
Milan Knížák fait figure de précurseur ayant ouvert la voie (d'une manière d'emblée radicale) au « turntablism » et aux expérimentations menées à partir du support et du dispositif de lecture de la musique enregistrée par Christian Marclay, Philip Jeck, eRikm, Martin Tétreault, Otomo Yoshihide, etc. Dans les années 1960, alors membre de Fluxus, Knížák multiplie les actions dans les rues de Prague et commence a composer de la musique à partir de disques défectueux, usés, endommagés ou cassés, ce qui donnera Broken Music en 1979, œuvre musicale majeure de Knížák.
Figure importante dans le développement des nouvelles pratiques artistiques contemporaines dans les pays de l'Est avant la chute du mur, Milan Knížák a également été directeur de la Galerie nationale de Prague et enseigne depuis 1990 à l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Prague.
Piano : Miroslav Beinhauer.
Produit par re-set production.
 
paru en septembre 2022
 
13.50
EAN : 5411867115267
 
en stock
Milan Knížák : autres titres





 haut de page