les presses du réel

The Art of No​-​Art (book + download code)

Philip Corner - The Art of No​-​Art (book + download code)
A large book-object of scores by artist and composer Philip Corner, including a numbered art print and a supplemental audio download which features recordings of many scores from the book, played on a variety of instruments by 10 musicians (limited edition of 100 hand-numbered copies).
The Art of No-Art is a collection of 385 new graphic scores written between 2019 and 2022. Each score is a single-page meditation based around octaves. Though written mostly for piano, the scores could be arranged for other instrumentation (for those with fewer than an 8 octave range).
The Art of No-Art explores the endless possibilities of one musical note (and its bounded harmonics). The pieces can be performed by people of any skill level; rudimentary or advanced navigations are possible.
A supplemental audio download is included, which features recordings of many scores from the book, played on a variety of instruments by Agnese Toniutti, Rhodri Davies, Sarah Davachi, Derek Baron, Philip Corner, Matt Hannafin, Charlie Morrow, Zachary Paul, and Silvia Tarozzi. Additionally, Philip Corner wrote instructions for Sean McCann to collage all these recordings into a grand piece of No-Art.
A numbered art print of the score "Life's A Joke" is included, a piece for voice which invites the reader to sing (or shout), "LIFE'S A JOKE AND ALL THINGS SHOW IT, I THOUGHT SO ONCE AND NOW I KNOW IT."
Philip Corner (born 1933 in New York) is an American composer. His interdisciplinary works have been performed throughout the world and he is also active as a performer, visual artist and writer. He has participated in various concerts, exhibitions and festivals with the name Fluxus since 1961, served as a resident composer and musician to the Judson Dance Theater and collaborated with the Experimental Intermedia Foundation in New York. He co-founded several ensembles (the Tone Roads Chamber Ensemble, Malcolm Goldstein and James Tenne; Sounds Out of Silent Spaces, with Julie Winter; Gamelan Son of Lion, with Barbara Benary and Daniel Goode). His publications include the book I Can Walk Through the World as Music (1966, unpublished; 1980, Printed Editions).
Edited by Philip Corner and Sean McCann.
 
published in October 2022
30 x 24,5 cm (softcover)
364 pages (b/w ill.)
 
65.00
 
in stock
The Art of No​-​Art (book + download code) The Art of No​-​Art (book + download code) The Art of No​-​Art (book + download code) The Art of No​-​Art (book + download code) The Art of No​-​Art (book + download code)
Philip Corner: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel

The Art of No​-​Art (livre + code de téléchargement)

Philip Corner - The Art of No​-​Art (livre + code de téléchargement)
Un grand livre-objet livre de partitions de l'artiste et compositeur Philip Corner, comprenant une reproduction numérotée et un accès au téléchargement d'enregistrements de nombreuses partitions du livre, interprétées sur une variété d'instruments par 10 musiciens (édition limitée à 100 exemplaires numérotés à la main).
The Art of No-Art est un recueil de 385 nouvelles partitions graphiques écrites entre 2019 et 2022. Chaque partition est une méditation d'une seule page basée sur les octaves. Bien qu'écrites principalement pour piano, les partitions pourraient être arrangées pour d'autres instrumentations (pour ceux qui ont moins de huit octaves).
The Art of No-Art explore les possibilités infinies d'une note de musique (et de ses harmoniques déterminées). Les morceaux peuvent être interprétés par des personnes de tout niveau de compétence.
Un lien donne accès au téléchargement d'enregistrements de nombreuses partitions du livre, interprétées sur divers instruments par Agnese Toniutti, Rhodri Davies, Sarah Davachi, Derek Baron, Philip Corner, Matt Hannafin, Charlie Morrow, Zachary Paul et Silvia Tarozzi.
Une reproduction numérotée de la partition « Life's A Joke » est incluse, un morceau pour la voix qui invite le lecteur à chanter (ou à crier) « LIFE'S A JOKE AND ALL THINGS SHOW IT, I THOUGHT SO ONCE AND NOW I KNOW IT ».
Philip Corner (né en 1933 à New York) est un compositeur américain. Son travail interdisciplinaire a été présenté dans le monde entier et il est également actif en tant que performeur, artiste et écrivain. Dès 1961, il participe à de nombreux concerts, expositions et festivals Fluxus et il collabore régulièrement avec le Judson Dance Theater et l'Experimental Intermedia. Il a cofondé plusieurs ensembles musicaux (Tone Roads Chamber Ensemble, avec Malcolm Goldstein et James Tenney ; Sounds Out of Silent Spaces, avec Julie Winter ; Gamelan Son of Lion, avec Barbara Benary et Daniel Goode). Son œuvre comporte des compositions orchestrales, chorales, pour piano, mais aussi électroniques, ainsi que des œuvres plastiques, collages, dessins, calligraphies et poèmes. Parmi ses publications, le livre I Can Walk Through the World as Music (1966, non publié ; 1980, Printed Editions).
Edité par Philip Corner et Sean McCann.
 
paru en octobre 2022
30 x 24,5 cm (broché)
364 pages (ill. n&b)
 
65.00
 
en stock
The Art of No​-​Art (livre + code de téléchargement) The Art of No​-​Art (livre + code de téléchargement) The Art of No​-​Art (livre + code de téléchargement) The Art of No​-​Art (livre + code de téléchargement) The Art of No​-​Art (livre + code de téléchargement)
Philip Corner : autre titre



 haut de page