les presses du réel

Convex Thoughts293 Digital Drawings

Yves Netzhammer - Convex Thoughts
293 new digital drawings by the Swiss artist.
Since early in his career the Swiss artist Yves Netzhammer has used digital drawings as the basis of his work, which oscillates between sculpture and the moving image. Lines drawn into a space in abeyance visualize his figurative thought and beguile the viewer into bizarre, comical and eerie associations. Netzhammer's refined and precise pictorial rhetoric plays a subtle game that permits the viewer a variety of interpretations and continually evades the deceptive moment of unambiguity. This results in images in which complexity and levity, formal strictness or conceptual proliferation come to the fore depending on one's point of view.
Convex Thoughts is a bibliographical space that complements its predecessor, Concave Thoughts, and like it is a vade mecum for dreamers and musers, an endless storyboard from an art at the highs and lows of its time.
Yves Netzhammer (born 1970 in Affoltern am Albis, Switzerland, lives and works in Zurich) works at the boundary between computer art, video, animation, drawing, and sculpture. His art has been presented internationally in solo exhibitions at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Minsheng Art Museum, Kunstmuseum Bern, Shenzhen Animation Biennale, Kiev Biennale and elsewhere. In 2007 he configured the Swiss Pavilion at the Venice Biennale.

See also AlbumOn/around the work of Urs Fischer, Yves Netzhammer, Ugo Rondinone and Christine Streuli.
 
published in October 2022
English edition
12,7 x 20 cm (softcover)
512 pages (b/w ill.)
 
30.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-0358-0510-9
EAN : 9783035805109
 
in stock
Yves Netzhammer: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel

Convex Thoughts293 Digital Drawings

Yves Netzhammer - Convex Thoughts
293 nouveaux dessins numériques de l'artiste suisse.
Depuis le début de sa carrière, l'artiste suisse Yves Netzhammer utilise des dessins numériques comme base de son travail, qui oscille entre la sculpture et l'image en mouvement. Les lignes tracées dans un espace en suspens matérialisent sa pensée figurative et suggèrent des associations bizarres, comiques et insolites. La rhétorique picturale subtile et précise de Netzhammer joue un jeu délicat qui s'ouvre à une variété d'interprétations et échappe continuellement à la tentation de l'univocité. Il en résulte des images dans lesquelles la complexité et la légèreté, la rigueur formelle ou la prolifération conceptuelle prennent le dessus, selon le point de vue de chacun.
Convex Thoughts constitue un espace bibliographique qui complète son prédécesseur, Concave Thoughts, et comme lui, un vade-mecum pour les rêveurs et les muses, un storyboard sans fin d'un art qui connaît les hauts et les bas de son époque.
Yves Netzhammer (né en 1970 à Affoltern am Albis, Suisse, vit et travaille à Zurich) travaille à la frontière de l'art informatique, de la vidéo, de l'animation, du dessin et de la sculpture. Ses œuvres ont notamment été présentées au San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, au Musée d'art de Minsheng, au Kunstmuseum Bern, à la Biennale d'animation de Shenzhen et à la Biennale de Kiev. En 2007, il est l'artiste invité du pavillon suisse à la Biennale de Venise.

Voir aussi AlbumOn/around the work of Urs Fischer, Yves Netzhammer, Ugo Rondinone and Christine Streuli.
 
paru en octobre 2022
édition anglaise
12,7 x 20 cm (broché)
512 pages (ill. n&b)
 
30.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-0358-0510-9
EAN : 9783035805109
 
en stock
Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts Convex Thoughts
Yves Netzhammer : autre titre



 haut de page