les presses du réel

Album ArchitectureAbidjan

François-Xavier Gbré, Baptiste Manet, Martial Manet - Album Architecture
An iconographic work on the modern architecture of Abidjan which aims to offer a photographic survey of thirty buildings representative of the chosen moment of architecture that followed independence.
This is not an architecture book but a photography book on an architecture that expresses itself through diversity. It is a book that intends to offer a photographic view of buildings in Abidjan that bear the imprint of a certain «tropical modernism».
More precisely, Album Architectures, Abidjan is the testimony of an encounter between two individuals who live and share an aesthetic and emotional attachment to the lagoon city. Issa Diabaté, architect, contemporary actor of the architectural future of this city that never stops reinventing itself. François-Xavier Gbré, a photographer who has made architecture his preferred medium for apprehending the muted history of places by envisaging architectures as the sedimentary traces of the social and political changes of a country, the Ivory Coast.
This book, and the Album Architectures collection more broadly, aims to initiate a reflection on the definition of the notion of contemporary heritage through the valorisation of rich and singular architectural landscapes, not always identified, often invisibilised, of cities in perpetual urban change.
Born in 1978 in Lille (France), François-Xavier Gbré is a Franco-Ivorian photographer who lives and works between the Marais Poitevin in France and Abidjan.The photographic work of this mixed-race art-ist of Ivorian origin who grew up in the north of France apprehends architecture, landscape and urbanity in the form of a documentary testimony that evokes the architectural photography of Lewis Baltz, Stephen Shore and Guy Tillim. From Mali to Israel, from Lille to Rabat, François- Xavier Gbré photographs abandoned architectures bearing the traces of their country's social and political history. His photographs take a dis-tanced look at the buildings and the symbolic charge that history and historicity give them. They are inter-ested in the past, in the muted history of places, reveal the invisibilities of everyday life and petrify fragments of a world in perpetual mutation. In a soft radicality, he testifies of the in-between, of these moments of tipping revealed with force by the architecture.
François-Xavier Gbré's work can be found in the collections of the Centre Pompidou (Paris, France), the Tate Modern (London, UK), the Smithsonian Institution (Washington, USA), the Queensland Gallery of Modern Art (Brisbane, Australia), Philadelphia Museum of Art (Philadelphia), Chazen Museum of Art—University of Wisconsin (Madison USA), Walther Collection (Ulm, Germany), Rencontres d'Arles (Arles, France), Fonds National d'Art Contemporain (Paris, France) and Musée des Confluences (Lyon, France).
In 2020, François-Xavier Gbré is the win-ner of the Louis Roederer Prize of the Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie d'Arles.
Baptiste Manet is an architecte specialised in contemporary heritage. He is the co-founder and director, with Yann Legouis, of the Sapiens Architectes office. He is also the co-founder of the association Éditions Cosa Mentale and a teacher at the École nationale d'architecture de Paris-Belleville (Paris). In 2022, Baptiste Manet participated in the experimental residential programme for the research and study of artistic practice and thought, organised by the RAW Academy in Dakar and the Institute of Contemporary Art at the University of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia).
Martial Manet has a PhD in Law and graduated in philosophy from the École Normale Supérieure in Paris. He has been Visiting Scholar at the Institute for African Studies at Columbia University (New-York). He teaches at the University of Paris I Panthéon- Sorbonne (Paris)
Edited by Claudia Mion.
Photographs by François-Xavier Gbré.
Texts by Issa Diabaté, Baptiste Manet, Martial Manet, Suzanne Vogel-Tolstoï.

Graphic design: Spassky Fischer.

Published by Caryatide.
 
published in November 2022
bilingual edition (English / French)
24 x 32 cm (softcover)
128 pages (ill.)
 
30.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-493283-11-5
EAN : 9782493283115
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

Album ArchitectureAbidjan

François-Xavier Gbré, Baptiste Manet, Martial Manet - Album Architecture
Un ouvrage iconographique sur l'architecture moderne d'Abidjan qui entend proposer une recension photographique de trente bâtiments représentatifs de ce moment choisi d'architecture qui suivit les indépendances.
Travail d'un photographe – François-Xavier Gbré – qui fait de l'architecture son medium privilégié d'appréhension de la ville et de l'histoire sourde des lieux, le livre, et la collection Album d'architectures plus largement, souhaite initier une réflexion sur la définition de la notion de patrimoine contemporain à travers la valorisation de paysages architecturaux riches et singuliers, pas toujours identifiés, souvent invisibilisés, de villes en perpétuelle mutation urbaine. Ce regard iconographique sur une strate particulière de la sédimentation architecturale abidjanaise est introduit par le texte d'un architecte – Issa Diabaté –, acteur contemporain du devenir de l'architecture de cette cité lagunaire qui ne cesse de se réinventer.
Né en 1978 à Lille, François-Xavier Gbré est un photographe franco-ivoirien qui vit travaille entre le Marais Poitevin en France et Abidjan. L'œuvre photographique de cet artiste métis d'origine ivoirienne qui a grandi dans le nord de la France appréhende l'architecture, le paysage et l'urbanité dans la forme d'un témoignage documentaire qui évoque la photographie d'architecture de Lewis Baltz, Stephen Shore et Guy Tillim. Du Mali à Israël, de Lille à Rabat, François-Xavier Gbré photographie des architectures à l'abandon portant en elles les traces de l'histoire sociale et politique de leur pays. Ses photographies posent un regard distancié sur les bâtiments et la charge symbolique que leur confèrent l'Histoire et l'historicité. Elles s'intéressent au passé, à l'histoire sourde des lieux, révèle les invisibilités du quotidien et pétrifient des fragments du monde des fragments d'un monde en perpétuelle mutation. Dans une douce radicalité, il témoigne de l'entre-deux, de ces instants de basculement révélés avec force par l'architecture.
Le travail de François-Xavier Gbré est présent dans entre autres dans les collec tions du Centre Pompidou (Paris), de la Tate Modern (Londres), du Smithsonian Institution (Washington), du Queensland Gallery of Modern Art (Brisbane), Philadelphia Museum of Art (Philadelphie), du Chazen Museum of Art – University of Wisconsin (Madisson), de la Walther Collection (Ulm), des Rencontres d'Arles (Arles), du le Fonds National d'Art Contemporain (Paris) et du Musée des Confluences (Lyon).
En 2020, François-Xavier Gbré est lauréat du Prix Louis Roederer des Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie d'Arles.
Baptiste Manet est un architecte spécialisé dans le domaine du patrimoine contemporain. Il est le co-fondateur et directeur, avec Yann Legouis, de l'agence Sapiens architectes. Il est également le co-fondateur de l'association Éditions Cosa Mentale et enseignant à l'École nationale d'architecture de Paris-Belleville (Paris). En 2022, Baptiste Manet a participé au programme résidentiel expérimental pour la recherche et l'étude de la pratique et de la pensée artistique, organisé par la RAW Académie de Dakar et l'Institut d'Art Contemporain de l'Université de Pennsylvanie (Philadelphie).
Martial Manet est docteur en droit et diplômé en philosophie de l'École normale supérieure de Paris. Il a été Visiting Scholar à l'Institute for African Studies de Columbia University (New-York). Il enseigne à l'université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne (Paris).
Edité par Claudia Mion.
Photographies de François-Xavier Gbré.
Textes de Issa Diabaté, Baptiste Manet, Martial Manet, Suzanne Vogel-Tolstoï.

Conception graphique : Spassky Fischer.

Publié par Caryatide.
 
2022 (parution prévue au 4e trimestre)
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
24 x 32 cm (broché)
128 pages (ill.)
 
30.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-493283-11-5
EAN : 9782493283115
 
à paraître
Album Architecture Album Architecture Album Architecture Album Architecture Album Architecture Album Architecture Album Architecture Album Architecture


 haut de page