les presses du réel

Dirty Evidence

Lawrence Abu Hamdan - Dirty Evidence
Richly illustrated, this book provides for the first time a visual overview of Lawrence Abu Hamdan's works of more than a decade, and elaborates on a formal vocabulary characterized by the aesthetics of sound and language.
On the occasion of Lawrence Abu Hamdan's exhibition at Bonniers Konsthall in Stockholm in 2021, a group of authors have been invited to engage with individual works and their underlying concepts. Abu Hamdan recognizes the space for art as a site where attention can be drawn to real socio-political conditions in order to challenge the structures behind them. The artist can therefore push at the boundaries of what constitutes testimony. The title "Dirty Evidence" comes from Abu Hamdan's definition of evidence in which a truth value is derived from its very inadmissibility before the law. It is precisely the evidence's figurative dirt and dirtiness that works toward the production of truth.
Lawrence Abu Hamdan (born 1985 in Amman, Jordan, lives and works in Beirut, Lebanon) is an artist and “private ear” whose projects have taken the form of audiovisual installations, performances, graphic works, photography, Islamic sermons, cassette tape compositions, potato chip packets, essays, and lectures. Abu Hamdan's interest with sound and its intersection with politics originate from his background in DIY music. In 2013 Abu Hamdan's audio documentary The Freedom of Speech Itself was submitted as evidence at the UK asylum tribunal where the artist himself was called to testify as an expert witness. He continues to make sonic analyses for legal investigations and advocacy for organisations such as Amnesty International—and was prominently part the No More Forgotten Lives campaign for Defence for Children International. The artist's forensic audio investigations are conducted as part of his research for Forensic Architecture at Goldsmiths College London where he is also a PhD candidate. His solo exhibitions include “Earshot” at Portikus, Frankfurt (2016), “تقي” (Taqiyya) at Kunsthalle St Gallen (2015), “Tape Echo” (2013) at Beirut in Cairo and Van AbbeMuseum, Eindhoven, “The Freedom Of Speech Itself” (2012) at Showroom, London, “The Whole Truth” (2012) at Casco, Utrecht. Additionally his works have been exhibited and performed at venues such as The Shanghai Biennial (2014), The Whitechapel Gallery London, MACBA Barcelona, Tate Modern London, M HKA Antwerp, the Beirut Art Center and The Taipei Biennial (2012). Abu Hamdan's writing can be found in Forensis, Manifesta Journal and Cabinet Magazine. His works are part of collections at MoMA New York, Van Abbemuseum Eindhoven and the Arts Council, England.
Edited by Fabian Schöneich.
Texts by Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Natasha Ginwala, Ruba Katrib, Andrea Lissoni, Ramona Naddaff, Fabian Schöneich, Yasmine Seale, Theodor Ringborg, Eyal Weizman.

Graphic design: David Bennewith.

Published with Bonnier Konsthall.
 
published in May 2022
English edition
19 x 25 cm (hardcover, cloth binding)
256 pages (ill.)
 
40.00
 
ISBN : 979-12-80579-08-9
EAN : 9791280579089
 
in stock
Lawrence Abu Hamdan: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel

Dirty Evidence

Lawrence Abu Hamdan - Dirty Evidence
Abondamment illustrée, cette monographie offre pour la première fois un aperçu complet des œuvres de l'artiste libanais réalisées depuis plus d'une décennie, et analyse un vocabulaire formel caractérisé par l'esthétique du son et du langage.
A l'occasion de l'exposition de Lawrence Abu Hamdan au Bonniers Konsthall de Stockholm en 2021, un groupe d'auteurs a été invité à analyser un ensemble de ses œuvres et les idées sous-jacentes. Abu Hamdan considère l'espace de l'art comme un site où l'on peut attirer l'attention sur des conditions sociopolitiques réelles afin de remettre en question les structures qui les sous-tendent. L'artiste repousse ainsi les limites de ce qui constitue un témoignage. Le titre « Dirty Evidence » vient de la définition que donne Abu Hamdan de la preuve, dans laquelle une valeur de vérité est dérivée de son inadmissibilité même devant la loi. C'est précisément la dimension « impropre » figurative de la preuve qui contribue à la production de la vérité.
Lawrence Abu Hamdan (né en 1985 à Amman, Jordanie, vit et travaille à Beyrouth, Liban) est un artiste dont les projets ont pris la forme d'installations audiovisuelles, de performances, d'œuvres graphiques, de photographies, de sermons islamiques, de cassettes audio, de paquets de chips, d'essais et de discours. L'intérêt d'Abu Hamdan pour l'intersection du politique et du sonore a pour origine ses débuts dans le milieu musical DIY. En 2013, son documentaire audio The Freedom of Speech Itself est utilisé comme preuve lors d'une session de la Cour britannique du droit d'asile à laquelle il témoigne en qualité d'expert. Ses analyses sonores ont servi à plusieurs reprises lors d'investigations judiciaires et de plaidoyers pour des organisations comme Amnesty International. Il a également fait partie de la campagne No More Forgotten Lives pour Defence for Children International. Ses analyses audio sont menées dans le cadre de ses recherches au laboratoire Forensic Architecture du Goldsmiths College à Londres, où il réalise également une thèse. Ses expositions personnelles incluent « Earshot » à Portikus, Francfort-sur-le-Main (2016), « تقيه » (Taqiyya) à la Kunsthalle St Gallen (2015), « Tape Echo » (2013) à la galerie Beirut au Caire et au Van AbbeMuseum, Eindhoven, « The Freedom Of Speech Itself » (2012) au Showroom, Londres, et « The Whole Truth » (2012) à Casco, Utrecht. Il a exposé ses travaux lors d'événements à la biennale de Shanghai (2014), à la Whitechapel Gallery, Londres, au MACBA, Barcelone, à la Tate Modern, Londres, au M HKA, Anvers, au Beirut Art Center et à la biennale de Taipei (2012). Il a collaboré à l'ouvrage Forensis et écrit pour Manifesta Journal et Cabinet Magazine. Ses œuvres sont présentes au sein des collections du MoMA New York, du Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven, et de l'Arts Council en Angleterre.
Edité par Fabian Schöneich.
Textes de Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Natasha Ginwala, Ruba Katrib, Andrea Lissoni, Ramona Naddaff, Fabian Schöneich, Yasmine Seale, Theodor Ringborg, Eyal Weizman.

Conception graphique : David Bennewith.

Publié avec le Bonnier Konsthall.
 
paru en mai 2022
édition anglaise
19 x 25 cm (relié, couv. toilée)
256 pages (ill.)
 
40.00
 
ISBN : 979-12-80579-08-9
EAN : 9791280579089
 
en stock
Dirty Evidence Dirty Evidence Dirty Evidence Dirty Evidence Dirty Evidence Dirty Evidence Dirty Evidence Dirty Evidence
Lawrence Abu Hamdan : autre titre



 haut de page