summer break: we are closed until August 29 (orders will be processed in priority as soon as we are back)—many thanks for your patience!
les presses du réel

Connexions/Collections #1

Alice Anderson - Connexions/Collections #1
The first volume of the "Connexions/Collections" series is dedicated to the French and British artist Alice Anderson who was invited to dialogue with the objects of the Fontevraud Museum of Modern Art, by placing her own works in the spaces of the permanent collections. The publication contains texts by the exhibition curators as well as an interview with the artist. It is enlivened by numerous illustrations, including in situ shots.
"There is a power in every object that goes far beyond its primary function. For my part, I have always made ties with non-human entities. As such, objects have a power of interaction and exchange with each other as well as with us, in a universal language that I find intrinsically in dance. To dance is to rediscover the Nature that is within.
My choices are not based on 'aesthetic' criteria. Aesthetics in itself do not interest me. When I visited the spaces of the museum, I reacted rather to what emanated from certain entities. I particularly remember the attic flap of the Dogon people of Mali. I also recall the seated statuette from the remojadas culture of Mexico, the funerary mask from the Chancay culture of central Peru, the ibeji twin statuettes from the Yoruba people of Nigeria, the female idols from the Cyclades in Greece, one of the tea bowls (chawan) from Japan, and the birdstones from the Mound Builders people of North America."
Alice Anderson
Published on the occasion of the exponymous exhibition at the musée d’Art moderne de Fontevraud - Collections nationales Martine et Léon Cligman, in 2021-2022.
Born 1976, Alice Anderson is a Franco-British sculptor and video artist known in particular for her objects and structures wrapped in copper wire, wrappings that give rise to dazzling or meditative performances. Her work resonates with ancestral cultures—such as that of the Kogi Indians—and transhumanist thought, which aims to increase human capacities through technology. Alice Anderson was nominated for the Marcel Duchamp Prize in 2020. Her work is exhibited internationally and some of her works have entered public collections such as the Centre Pompidou in Paris.
Edited by Dominique Gagneux and Gatien Du Bois.
Contributions by Alice Anderson, Dominique Gagneux, Gatien Du Bois.

Graphic design: Aurore Chassé.

Published with Édition FAM.
 
2022 (publication expected by 3rd quarter)
bilingual edition (English / French)
16,5 x 21 cm (softcover)
64 pages (ill.)
 
20.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9169-9814-5
EAN : 9782916998145
 
forthcoming
Alice Anderson: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel

Connexions/Collections #1

Connexions/Collections #1 Alice Anderson - Connexions/Collections #1
Le premier volume de la collection « Connexions/Collections » est consacré à l'artiste franco-britannique Alice Anderson qui a été invitée à dialoguer avec les objets du musée d'Art moderne de Fontevraud, en plaçant ses propres œuvres dans les interstices du parcours des collections permanentes. L'ouvrage contient des textes des commissaires de l'exposition ainsi qu'un entretien avec l'artiste. Elle est enrichie de nombreuses illustrations, incluant des prises de vue in situ.
« Il y a un pouvoir dans chaque objet qui va bien au-delà de sa simple fonction primaire. Pour ma part, j'ai toujours noué des liens avec des entités non-humaines. En tant que tels, les objets ont une puissance d'interaction et échangent aussi bien entre eux qu'avec nous, dans un langage universel que je retrouve intrinsèquement dans la danse. Danser, c'est retrouver la Nature qui est en soi.
Mes choix ne reposent pas sur des critères "esthétisants". L'esthétique en soi ne m'intéresse pas. Quand j'ai visité les salles du musée, j'ai plutôt réagi à ce qui émanait de certaines entités. Je garde particulièrement en mémoire le volet de grenier du peuple Dogon du Mali. Je revois aussi la statuette assise de la culture remojadas du Mexique, le masque funéraire de la culture chancay du Pérou central, les statuettes de jumeaux ibeji du peuple Yoruba du Nigeria, les idoles féminines des Cyclades en Grèce, un des bols à thé (chawan) du Japon et les birdstones du peuple Mound Builders d'Amérique du Nord. »
Alice Anderson
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme au musée d’Art moderne de Fontevraud - Collections nationales Martine et Léon Cligman, du 23 octobre 2021 au 16 janvier 2022.
Née en 1976, Alice Anderson est une sculptrice et vidéaste franco-britannique connue notamment pour ses objets et structures enveloppées de fil de cuivre, enveloppements donnant lieu à des performances, fulgurantes ou méditatives. Son œuvre fait résonner cultures ancestrales – comme celle des indiens Kogis – et pensée transhumaniste, visant à augmenter les capacités humaines par la technologie. Alice Anderson a été nommée pour le prix Marcel Duchamp en 2020. Son travail est exposé internationalement et certaines de ses œuvres sont entrées dans les collections publiques comme celles du Centre Pompidou à Paris.
Edité par Dominique Gagneux et Gatien Du Bois.
Contributions d'Alice Anderson, Dominique Gagneux, Gatien Du Bois.

Conception graphique : Aurore Chassé.

Publié avec Édition FAM.
 
2022 (parution prévue au 2e trimestre)
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
16,5 x 21 cm (broché, couv. toilée)
64 pages (16 ill. coul. et 6 ill. n&b)
 
20.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-9169-9814-5
EAN : 9782916998145
 
à paraître
Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1 Connexions/Collections #1
Alice Anderson : autre titre



 haut de page