temporary interruption of shipments on January 31 and February 1 (orders will be shipped in priority as soon as operations resume—many thanks for your patience!)
les presses du réel

Closer

Francesc Ruiz - Closer
An artist's book paying tribute to Angoulême and comics, to Joy Division and the Situationist International at the same time.
CLOSER  is a comic book that emphasizes a "Handheld Mirror" while strolling through Angoulême (France), known for the International Comic Strip Festival since 1974. Leafing through the pages, the reader discovers various sights, many of them remnants of past events in the renowned "City of Comics". However, the reproduced surroundings appear deformed, as in a distorted mirror, a detournement of the place itself.
Each of the drawings is repeated on a double page, in this way becoming an "echo-comic" that duplicates the environment and the pages themselves. Enhanced by an accompanying voice that sings scattered fragments of songs from Joy Division's cult album Closer (1980), the book is a visual echolalia of a walk through the city that gently deforms its environment and soundscape in parallel, thus an introspection on the language of comics.
CLOSER also pays tribute to the journal Internationale Situationniste, published in Paris between 1958 and 1969. This publication brings together the main situationist strategies—drift and détournement—the concept of the reflective cover paper that, like moving mercury, reflects and deforms the immediate surroundings, and finally it reproduces the format of the original magazine (24 x 16 cm).
Visually complex and rich with references, this (site-specific) guide leads the reader through an ephemeral maze of multiple narratives on the way from the old central station of Angoulême to its emblematic Vaisseau Moebius edifice—a mirror cladded postmodern "phantom" built on the ruins of a former abbey, which today houses part of La  Cité internationale de la bande dessinée et de image.
Limited edition of 250 numbered copies.
Drawing, typography and graphic design are the tools used by Francesc Ruiz (born 1971, lives and works in Barcelona) to modify the publications that he mobilises in his installations, which for several years have tended towards architectural structures such as kiosks, bookshops, record shops or libraries. Francesc Ruiz is fascinated by the aesthetic of the comic books of which he has been an avid reader since childhood, and he is particularly interested in their narrative construction and the complexity of social systems conveyed by this aesthetic. Erotic and homosexual comic books in particular enable him to deal with issues such as censorship and creative freedom and thus to examine the evolution of social and individual identities. In parallel to his socio-political explorations Francesc Ruiz takes a more general interest, through the press and comic books, in the various aspects of popular culture which dissimulate their subversive nature behind amusing façades.
Edited by Moritz Küng.
Text by Moritz Küng.

Graphic design: Ariadna Serrahima.
 
published in January 2022
English edition
16 x 24 cm (softcover, staple-bound)
40 pages (ill.)
 
18.00
 
ISBN : 978-84-945901-8-4
EAN : 9788494590184
 
in stock
Francesc Ruiz: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel

Closer

Francesc Ruiz - Closer
Un livre d'artiste rendant hommage en même temps à Angoulême et à la bande dessinée, à Joy Division et à l'Internationale Situationniste.
Closer est une bande dessinée qui met en scène un « miroir de poche » lors d'une promenade dans Angoulême, célèbre pour son Festival international de la bande dessinée depuis 1974. En feuilletant les pages, le lecteur découvre divers sites, dont beaucoup sont des vestiges d'événements passés dans la « Cité de la bande dessinée ». Cependant, l'environnement reproduit apparaît déformé, comme dans un miroir trompeur.
Chacun des dessins est répété sur une double page, devenant ainsi un « écho-comique » qui duplique l'environnement et les pages elles-mêmes. Rehaussé par une voix d'accompagnement qui fredonne des fragments épars de chansons de l'album culte de Joy Division, Closer (1980), le livre est une écholalie visuelle d'une promenade dans la ville qui déforme doucement son environnement et son paysage sonore en parallèle, constituant une introspection sur le langage de la bande dessinée.
Closer rend également hommage à la revue Internationale Situationniste, publiée à Paris entre 1958 et 1969. Cette publication réunit les principales stratégies situationnistes – la dérive et le détournement –, le concept du papier de couverture réfléchissant qui, tel un mercure en mouvement, reflète et déforme l'environnement immédiat ; elle reproduit aussi le format de la revue originale (24 x 16 cm).
Visuellement complexe et riche en références, ce guide (in situ) conduit le lecteur à travers un labyrinthe éphémère de récits multiples, de l'ancienne gare centrale d'Angoulême à son emblématique édifice Vaisseau Moebius, un « fantôme » postmoderne recouvert de miroirs, construit sur les ruines d'une ancienne abbaye, qui abrite aujourd'hui une partie de la Cité internationale de la bande dessinée et de l'image.
Edition limitée à 250 exemplaires numérotés.
Le dessin, la typographie et le design graphique sont les outils que Francesc Ruiz (né en 1971, vit et travaille à Barcelone) utilise pour modifier les publications qu'il active dans ses installations, et qui tendent vers une forme architecturale, telle que le kiosque, la librairie, le magasin de disque ou la bibliothèque. Fasciné par l'esthétique de la bande dessinée, qu'il lit depuis son plus jeune âge, Francesc Ruiz s'intéresse à sa construction narrative et à la complexité des systèmes sociaux qu'elle véhicule. Les comics érotiques et homosexuels en particulier lui permettent de traiter de questions telles que la censure et la liberté de création et regarder ainsi l'évolution des identités sociales et individuelles. Parallèlement à une recherche socio-politique, Francesc Ruiz s'intéresse plus généralement, dans la presse et la bande dessinée, aux différents aspects de la culture populaire qui dissimulent, derrière leur côté divertissant, un caractère subversif.
Edité par Moritz Küng.
Texte de Moritz Küng.

Conception graphique : Ariadna Serrahima.
 
paru en janvier 2022
édition anglaise
16 x 24 cm (broché)
40 pages (ill.)
 
18.00
 
ISBN : 978-84-945901-8-4
EAN : 9788494590184
 
en stock
Closer Closer Closer Closer Closer Closer Closer
Francesc Ruiz : autre titre



 haut de page