temporary interruption of shipments on January 31 and February 1 (orders will be shipped in priority as soon as operations resume—many thanks for your patience!)
les presses du réel

Social Fabric Earth Return

Claudia Hill - Social Fabric Earth Return
A travel diary of a handwoven poncho with the keynote of interconnectedness.
Over a period of ten years, the poncho was sent out as a textile avatar to meet various artists around the world. The interactions with the poncho, through photography and correspondence, sketch out the journey and tell a story of togetherness in a world that has changed drastically over those years. The project inspires the question: What is the most essential element of what you do, and how can it be shared in a significant way?
With Mark Borthwick, Rirkrit Tiravanija, The Wooster Group, David K. Shields, Boris Achour, Ariko Inaoka, Takashi Homma & Takehito Koganezawa, Mayu Tsuruta & Daisuke Nakayama, Meg Stuart & Sketches / Notebook Group & Iris Janke, Ezra Green, Stephane Leonard, Arkadi Zaides & David Adika, Amit Berlowitz, Ruti Sela (Noa Eshkol Chamber Dance Group) & Ruth Agassi, Nelly Agassi, Lori Waxman, Gus Powell, Antoinette Aurell, Annaleen Louwes, Daphna Saker Massey, Elizabeth Young, Christophe Rihet, Mauricio Guillén, Assume Vivid Astro Focus, Asi Rua & Charlotte J. Ward, CAConrad, Vladimir Miller, Barbara Raes & HAU Hebbel am Ufer with Dorothea Tuch, Kirsty Bell.
Claudia Hill is a Berlin-based cross-disciplinary artist who makes objects that create possibilities for personal encounters and community. Hill's work developed from a career in fashion presenting her collections between New York and Japan. As her designs expanded beyond the boundaries of the industry she made costumes for choreographer William Forsythe, The Wooster Group, and became a frequent collaborator with choreographer Meg Stuart.
Her interventions range from performative designs to constructing large scale, textile based sculptures, and conceiving participatory actions for art centers such as Centre Pompidou Paris, and ZKM Center for Art and Media, Karlsruhe. Hill's own artist film Kŏn′voi′ has been presented in several international film festivals.
Graphic design: Studio Manuel Raeder.
 
published in December 2021
English edition
22 × 29,5 (spiral bound)
104 pages (ill.)
 
26.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-96436-034-2
EAN : 9783964360342
 
in stock


 top of page

interruption exceptionnelle des expéditions les 31 janvier et 1er février (les commandes seront expédiées en priorité dès la reprise des opérations – merci pour votre patience !)
les presses du réel

Social Fabric Earth Return

Claudia Hill - Social Fabric Earth Return
Le carnet de voyage d'un poncho tissé à la main, sous le signe de l'interconnexion.
Sur une période de dix ans, le poncho a été envoyé comme avatar textile à la rencontre de divers artistes à travers le monde. Les interactions avec le poncho, par le biais de la photographie et de la correspondance, esquissent le voyage et racontent une histoire d'unité dans un monde qui a radicalement changé au cours de ces années. Le projet soulève la question suivante : comment partager de manière significative ce qui est essentiel dans nos actions ?
Avec Mark Borthwick, Rirkrit Tiravanija, The Wooster Group, David K. Shields, Boris Achour, Ariko Inaoka, Takashi Homma & Takehito Koganezawa, Mayu Tsuruta & Daisuke Nakayama, Meg Stuart & Sketches / Notebook Group & Iris Janke, Ezra Green, Stephane Leonard, Arkadi Zaides & David Adika, Amit Berlowitz, Ruti Sela (Noa Eshkol Chamber Dance Group) & Ruth Agassi, Nelly Agassi, Lori Waxman, Gus Powell, Antoinette Aurell, Annaleen Louwes, Daphna Saker Massey, Elizabeth Young, Christophe Rihet, Mauricio Guillén, Assume Vivid Astro Focus, Asi Rua & Charlotte J. Ward, CAConrad, Vladimir Miller, Barbara Raes & HAU Hebbel am Ufer with Dorothea Tuch, Kirsty Bell.
Claudia Hill est une artiste pluridisciplinaire basée à Berlin qui fabrique des objets créant des possibilités de rencontres personnelles et de communauté. Le travail de Hill s'est développé à partir d'une carrière dans la mode, présentant ses collections entre New York et le Japon. Alors que ses créations dépassent les frontières de l'industrie, elle réalise des costumes pour le chorégraphe William Forsythe et le Wooster Group, et devient une collaboratrice fréquente de la chorégraphe Meg Stuart.
Ses interventions vont de la conception de performances à la construction de sculptures textiles à grande échelle, en passant par l'organisation d'actions participatives pour des centres d'art tels que le Centre Pompidou Paris et le ZKM Center for Art and Media de Karlsruhe.
Conception graphique : Studio Manuel Raeder.
 
paru en décembre 2021
édition anglaise
22 × 29,5 (reliure spirale)
104 pages (ill.)
 
26.00
 
ISBN : 978-3-96436-034-2
EAN : 9783964360342
 
en stock
Social Fabric Earth Return Social Fabric Earth Return Social Fabric Earth Return Social Fabric Earth Return Social Fabric Earth Return Social Fabric Earth Return


 haut de page