les presses du réel

Perceptual Geography (CD)

Thomas Ankersmit - Perceptual Geography (CD)
An album created as a loosely structured piece for live performance in 2018-2019, commissioned by CTM in Berlin and Sonic Acts in Amsterdam, and premiered there on the GRM Acousmonium. The music is inspired by—and dedicated to—the pioneering research of American composer and installation artist Maryanne Amacher (1938-2009), and created entirely on the Serge Modular analog synthesizer.
Ankersmit and Amacher first met in New York in 2000, and kept in touch over the following years. Her concerts and installations left a deep impression on him. Amacher, being close to the Tcherepnin family, also first introduced Ankersmit to the Serge synthesizer, developed by Serge Tcherepnin in the 1970s.
In the piece, Ankersmit explores different "modes" of listening: not just which sounds are heard and when, but also how and where sounds are experienced (in the room, in the body, inside the head, far away, nearby). So-called otoacoustic emissions (sounds emanating from inside the head, generated by the ears themselves) play a prominent role. When turned up loud, the material moves beyond the loudspeakers and starts to trigger additional tones inside the listener's head; tones that are not present in the recorded music. Cupping the ears with the hands and slight movements of the head also help to bring these tones to life. Maryanne Amacher was the first artist to systematically explore the musical use of these phenomena, often referring to them as "ear tones".
The title is a reference to Amacher's essay "Psychoacoustic Phenomena in Musical Composition: Some Features of a Perceptual Geography", and despite the all-electronic instrumentation, a dramatic sense of landscape and environment often emerges. There are sparks of fire, howling wind, distant thunder, a swarm of bats disappearing into the distance. Ghostly, floating tones are contrasted with highly dynamic sounds darting around the listener, and large, heavy waves rolling in slowly. "Ear tone" stimuli weave in and out of these textures, emerging from them. Once or twice, the music seems to completely freeze in time, but a slight movement of the listener's head reveals changes.
For each live performance, Ankersmit tunes his instrument to the resonant characteristics of the performance space, so that the sounds activate the structure, traveling through the architecture and setting it in motion.
The record is accompanied by an extensive conversation between Ankersmit and Serge Tcherepnin, creator of the Serge Modular and friend and collaborator of Amacher.
This is a digital-only release because the "ear tone" material can't be adequately transferred to vinyl.
Please play loud and use speakers, not headphones. 
Thomas Ankersmit (born 1979 in Leiden, Netherlands, lives and works in Amsterdam and Berlin) is an electronic musician and composer. He plays the Serge Modular synthesizer, both live and in the studio, and collaborates with artists like Phill Niblock, Kevin Drumm, and Valerio Tricoli. His music combines intricate sonic detail and raw electric power, with an extremely physical and spatial experience of sound. Acoustic phenomena such as infrasound and otoacoustic emissions (sounds emanating from inside the head, generated by the ears themselves) play a central role in his work, as does a deliberate misuse of the equipment.
His work has been presented at Hamburger Bahnhof and KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin; Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam; Kunsthalle, Basel; Tate Modern, London; Serralves Museum, Porto; MoMA PS1, New York; and at festivals for experimental and contemporary music all over the world. He's also lectured at universities like Harvard, Stanford, CalArts, and Goldsmiths. Ankersmit's music is released on the PAN, Touch, and Shelter Press labels.
Mastered by Kassian Troyer.

Graphic design: Bartolomé Sanson.
 
published in July 2021
 
16.00
 
in stock
Thomas Ankersmit: other titles




 top of page

les presses du réel

Perceptual Geography (CD)

Thomas Ankersmit - Perceptual Geography (CD)
Un album créé à partir d'une performance live en 2018-2019, commandée par CTM à Berlin et Sonic Acts à Amsterdam et réalisée sur l'acousmonium du GRM. La musique est inspirée par – et dédiée à – la recherche pionnière de la compositrice et artiste Maryanne Amacher (1938-2009) autour de l'holophonie, et créée entièrement sur le synthétiseur analogique Serge Modular.
Dans cette pièce, Ankersmit explore différentes « modalités » d'écoute : non seulement quels sons sont entendus et à quel moment, mais aussi comment et où les sons sont perçus (dans la pièce, dans le corps, dans la tête, loin, à proximité). Les émissions otoacoustiques (sons émanant de l'intérieur de la tête, générés par les oreilles elles-mêmes) jouent un rôle important. Lorsque le volume est élevé, le signal dépasse les haut-parleurs et commence à déclencher des sons supplémentaires dans la tête de l'auditeur, des sons qui ne sont pas présents dans la musique enregistrée. Le fait de tenir les oreilles avec les mains et de faire de légers mouvements de la tête contribue également à donner vie à ces tonalités. Maryanne Amacher a été la première artiste à explorer systématiquement l'utilisation musicale de ces phénomènes, qu'elle appelle « ear tones ».
Le titre fait référence à l'essai d'Amacher intitulé Psychoacoustic Phenomena in Musical Composition: Some Features of a Perceptual Geography, et malgré l'instrumentation entièrement électronique, le paysage et l'environnement y sont fortemeent présents. Il y a des étincelles de feu, un vent hurlant, un tonnerre lointain, un essaim de chauves-souris qui disparaît au loin. Des sons fantomatiques et flottants contrastent avec des sons très dynamiques qui tournent autour de l'auditeur et avec de grandes et lourdes vagues qui déferlent lentement. Les stimuli sonores des « ear tones » se mêlent à ces textures et en émergent. Une ou deux fois, la musique semble se figer complètement dans le temps, mais un léger mouvement de la tête de l'auditeur révèle des changements.
Pour chaque performance en direct, Ankersmit accorde son instrument aux caractéristiques de résonance de l'espace de performance, de sorte que les sons activent la structure, traversant l'architecture et la mettant en mouvement.
Le disque est accompagné d'une longue conversation entre Ankersmit et Serge Tcherepnin, créateur du Serge Modular et ami et collaborateur d'Amacher.
Il s'agit d'une version numérique uniquement, car le procédé produisant les « ear tones » ne peut être transféré de manière adéquate sur vinyle.
Une écoute à haut niveau est recommandée, sur haut-parleurs et non pas au casque.
Thomas Ankersmit (né en 1979 à Leye, Pays-Bas, vit et travaille à Amsterdam et à Berlin) est un compositeur de musique électronique. Cet adepte du synthétiseur modulaire Serge collabore avec des artistes tels que Phill Niblock, Kevin Drumm et Valerio Tricoli. Sa musique combine complexité sonore et puissance électrique brute, pour une expérience intensément physique. Il s'intéresse principalement aux phénomènes acoustiques tels que les infrasons ou les otoémissions acoustiques.
Son travail a été présenté à Hamburger Bahnhof et à l'Institut KW pour l'art contemporain, Berlin ; au Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam ; à la Kunsthalle, Bâle ; à la Tate Modern, Londres ; au Musée Serralves, Porto ; au MoMA PS1, New York et lors de festivals de musique expérimentale et contemporaine dans le monde entier. Il a également enseigné dans les universités Harvard, Stanford, CalArts et Goldsmiths. Sa musique est diffusée par les labels PAN, Touch et Shelter Press.
Mastering : Kassian Troyer.

Conception graphique : Bartolomé Sanson.
 
paru en juillet 2021
 
16.00
 
en stock
Perceptual Geography (CD) Perceptual Geography (CD) Perceptual Geography (CD) Perceptual Geography (CD) Perceptual Geography (CD)
Thomas Ankersmit : autres titres




 haut de page