les presses du réel

Peinture : obsolescence déprogramméeLa peinture dans l’environnement numérique

 - Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée
The current state and future of painting in the digital age.
The book Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée (Painting: Unplanned Obsolescence) focuses on the current state and future of painting in the digital age. It is a thought-provoking illustration of how the pictorial medium evolves and reinvents itself in the face of new technologies. The omnipresence of screens and the encroachment of algorithms into everyday life, as recent as they are meteoric, have led to a different way of viewing that some painters have sought to portray in their works. The proliferation of digital "windows" and images upsets and challenges the concept of the painting as a window as defined by Alberti during the Renaissance — a concept that has formed the cornerstone of Western painting and image from the dawn of the modern era until the present day. While hybrid forms of painting gained ground in the mid-20th century through its exposure to photography, cinema and video art, it was digital technology that shaped one of the most prolific emulations from the 1990s-2000s onwards. The aim of the book is to provide an outline of current painting practice, by looking at the reinventions and recent reconfigurations of the pictorial medium within a very wide-ranging corpus of works. At the same time, the inclusion of photographs, digital prints and installations highlights the extent to which painting is still liable to nourish and inspire other media. The book shows that, far from being made redundant by new technologies, painting is being revitalised by them and "unplans" this obsolescence.
Published on the occasion of conferences of Esad Talm, Angers and INHA, Paris, and exhibition at MASC, museum of modern and contemporary art, Les Sables d'Olonne, in 2021.

Works by Carole Benzaken, Amélie Bertrand, Édouard Boyer, Victor Brauner & Roberto Matta, Alex Brown, Bernard Caillaud, Nina Childress, Roy Colmer, Philippe Cognée, Wade Guyton, Raymond Hains, Dan Hays, Philippe Hurteau, Rémy Hysbergue, Alain Jacquet, Anne-marie Jugnet & Alain Clairet, Johannes Kahrs, Hiroshi Kawano, Régine Kolle, Jean-Benoit Lallemant, Daniel Lefcourt, Miltos Manetas, Flavio De Marco, Manfred Mohr, Vera Molnar, Emmanuel Morales, Albert Oehlen, Loïc Raguénès, Martial Raysse, David Reed, Thomas Scheibitz, Antoine Schmitt, Ida Tursic & Wilfried Mille, Nam June Paik.
Edited by Camille Debrabant.
Texts by Camille Debrabant, Fleur Chevalier & Caroline Tron-Carroz, Camille Lenglois, Philippe Hurteau, Vanina Géré, Vincent Pécoil, Erik Verhagen, Christophe Viart, Aude Launay, Hélène Trespeuch, Antoine Perrot, Marjolaine Lévy.

Graphic design: Malou Messien.
 
published in October 2020
French edition
16 x 24 cm (relié)
232 pages (75 color & b/w ill.)
 
21.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-913981-71-3
EAN : 9782913981713
 
in stock
 


 top of page

les presses du réel

Peinture : obsolescence déprogramméeLa peinture dans l’environnement numérique

Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée  - Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée
L'actualité et le devenir de la peinture à l'ère du numérique.
L'ouvrage Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée donne à voir et à penser l'évolution du medium pictural et son renouvellement au contact des nouvelles technologies. L'omniprésence des écrans et l'intrusion des algorithmes dans la vie quotidienne, aussi récentes que fulgurantes, ont pour conséquence une évolution du regard que certains peintres s'attachent à traduire dans leurs œuvres. La prolifération des images et des « fenêtres » numériques bouscule et interroge le dispositif du tableau-fenêtre défini à la Renaissance par Alberti, dispositif qui a fondé la conception de la peinture et de l'image occidentales à l'aube de l'époque moderne et jusqu'à aujourd'hui. Alors que l'hybridation de la peinture s'accélère au milieu du XXe siècle à la faveur de sa confrontation avec la photographie, le cinéma et l'art vidéo, c'est avec le numérique que s'opère l'une des émulations les plus fécondes à partir des années 1990-2000. L'enjeu de cette publication consiste à cerner les contours de la pratique actuelle de la peinture, en s'intéressant aux réinventions et récentes reconfigurations du medium pictural déployées dans un corpus d'œuvres très ouvert. En contrepoint, l'intégration de photographies, d'impressions numériques et d'installations permet d'apprécier à quel point la peinture est toujours susceptible d'irriguer et d'inspirer d'autres media. Cet ouvrage montre que, loin d'être fossilisée par les nouvelles technologies, la peinture s'en trouve revitalisée et « déprogramme » cette obsolescence.
Actes des colloques organisés à l'Esad Talm d'Angers et à l'INHA de Paris, publiés à l'occasion de l'exposition présentée au MASC, musée d'Art moderne et contemporain des Sables d'Olonne, du 7 février au 23 mai 2021.

Œuvres de Carole Benzaken, Amélie Bertrand, Édouard Boyer, Victor Brauner & Roberto Matta, Alex Brown, Bernard Caillaud, Nina Childress, Roy Colmer, Philippe Cognée, Wade Guyton, Raymond Hains, Dan Hays, Philippe Hurteau, Rémy Hysbergue, Alain Jacquet, Anne-marie Jugnet & Alain Clairet, Johannes Kahrs, Hiroshi Kawano, Régine Kolle, Jean-Benoit Lallemant, Daniel Lefcourt, Miltos Manetas, Flavio De Marco, Manfred Mohr, Vera Molnar, Emmanuel Morales, Albert Oehlen, Loïc Raguénès, Martial Raysse, David Reed, Thomas Scheibitz, Antoine Schmitt, Ida Tursic & Wilfried Mille, Nam June Paik.
Edité par Camille Debrabant.
Textes de Camille Debrabant, Fleur Chevalier & Caroline Tron-Carroz, Camille Lenglois, Philippe Hurteau, Vanina Géré, Vincent Pécoil, Erik Verhagen, Christophe Viart, Aude Launay, Hélène Trespeuch, Antoine Perrot, Marjolaine Lévy.

Conception graphique : Malou Messien.
 
paru en octobre 2020
édition française
16 x 24 cm (broché)
232 pages (75 ill. coul. et n&b)
 
21.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-913981-71-3
EAN : 9782913981713
 
en stock
 
Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée Peinture : obsolescence déprogrammée


 haut de page