les presses du réel

À La Becque

Le fruit vert [see all titles]
Delphine Dora [see all titles]
Le fruit vert, Delphine Dora - À  La Becque
À La Becque is a semi-digital sonorous publication documenting the meeting of three musicians during their brief stay at La Becque, an artist residency in La Tour-de-Peilz (Switzerland). Both a digital album and artist book, the publication comprises 12 pages printed on a risograph, and includes a hyperlink to download seven improvisations (keyboards, voice, synthesizers and objects; 38 minutes).
In July of 2019, Delphine Dora and Le fruit vert sojourned at La Becque artist residence in La Tour-de-Peilz (Switzerland). Here they prepared a performance to be given at Festival La Cité in Lausanne (Switzerland), in the context of the carte blanche given to three:four records. From this encounter, a lively musical conversation emerged. À La Becque is a distillation of sketches, experimentations, and improvisations recorded in their practice studio. It is also a project that marks the beginning of a friendship, crystallizing a collaboration that began from a distance, several months earlier when Delphine Dora invited Le fruit vert to compose arrangements for two pieces that appear on her record, L'inattingible (2020, three:four records). 
Designed and printed on a risograph by Marie-Douce St-Jacques, the twelve-page booklet that accompanies this digital release can be likened to a game in collage form. The musicians, which we chance upon making field recordings — are cut out and dispersed across the landscape, creating a series of intriguing tableaux. 
Includes a digital download code.

First edition of 150, hand numbered.

Le laps publishing house presents a new series of hybrid print/digital releases. In this series the recordings, accessed by digital download, are rendered physical in the form of a risograph-printed artist book, inserted in a hand printed paper bag. The publication is comparable in size to the sleeve of a 45 and can be easily filed in any record collection.
Le fruit vert is the music project of sound artist Andrea-Jane Cornell (who currently resides in the United States) and publisher and interdisciplinary artist Marie-Douce St-Jacques (Canada). The duo has released two albums: Passiflore, on Los Discos Enfantasmes (2013, re-issued by Them There Records in 2018), and Paon perdu, released by three:four records (2017).
Pianist, vocalist, improviser, composer, and founder of the Wild Silence label, French artist Delphine Dora has been actively creating music since 2005 — releasing several records on French and international labels, notably, three:four records, Okraïna Records, Feeding Tube Records, Fort Evil Fruit, and Bezirk Tapes.
Delphine Dora: voice, keyboard.
Andrea-Jane Cornell: objects, synthesizer.
Marie-Douce St-Jacques: voice, keyboard, synthesizer.

Mastered by Sean McCann.

Graphic design and printing: Marie-Douce St-Jacques.
 
published in June 2020
French edition
18,5 x 18,5 cm (saddle staples), inserted in a hand printed paper bag (29 x 21,5 cm)
12 pages (ill.)
 
10.00
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel
Le fruit vert, Delphine Dora - À  La Becque
À La Becque est une publication sonore semi-numérique qui documente la rencontre de trois musiciennes lors de leur bref passage à la résidence d'artiste La Becque à La Tour-de-Peilz (Suisse). À la fois disque numérique et livre d'artiste, la publication compte douze pages imprimées au risographe, incluant un hyperlien pour télécharger sept improvisations (claviers, voix, synthétiseurs et objets ; 38 min.).
Invitées à donner un concert au Festival de la Cité à Lausanne (Suisse) pour la carte blanche du label three:four records, Delphine Dora et le duo Le fruit vert séjournent quelques jours à la résidence d'artistes La Becque à La Tour-de-Peilz (Suisse), en juillet 2019. De cette rencontre émerge une conversation musicale pétillante. À La Becque est un condensé d'esquisses, d'expérimentations et d'improvisations enregistrées dans leur studio de répétition. C'est aussi un projet qui marque la naissance d'une amitié et qui cristallise une collaboration entamée quelques mois auparavant, à distance, lorsque Delphine Dora invite Le fruit vert à composer des arrangements pour deux morceaux parus sur son album L'inattingible (2020, three:four records). 
Conçu et imprimé au risographe par Marie-Douce St-Jacques, le livret de douze pages qui accompagne le disque numérique s'apparente à un jeu sous forme de collage. Les musiciennes – que l'on aperçoit en train d'enregistrer des sons – sont découpées puis disséminées à travers le paysage, créant d'intrigants tableaux.
Contient un code de téléchargement.

Première édition limitée à 150 exemplaire, numérotés.

La maison d'édition Le laps propose une nouvelle collection de publications musicales semi-numériques. Le disque se matérialise ici sous la forme d'un livre d'artiste imprimé au risographe, inséré dans un sac de papier imprimé à la main. Facile à glisser dans sa discothèque personnelle, la publication – dont le format est comparable au 45 tours – inclut un hyperlien pour télécharger le contenu sonore.
Le fruit vert est le projet musical de l'artiste sonore Andrea-Jane Cornell (qui vit actuellement aux États-Unis) et de l'éditrice et artiste interdisciplinaire Marie-Douce St-Jacques (Canada). Le duo a fait paraître deux albums : Passiflore, sur le label Los Discos Enfantasmes (2013, réédité en 2018 par Them There Records), puis Paon perdu, paru chez three:four records (2017).
Pianiste, vocaliste, improvisatrice, compositrice et fondatrice du label Wild Silence, la Française Delphine Dora a fait paraître, depuis 2005, plusieurs disques sur des labels français et internationaux, notamment, three:four records, Okraïna Records, Feeding Tube Records, Fort Evil Fruit et Bezirk Tapes.
Delphine Dora : voix, claviers.
Andrea-Jane Cornell : objets, synthétiseur.
Marie-Douce St-Jacques : voix, claviers, synthétiseur.

Conception graphique et impression : Marie-Douce St-Jacques.

Mastering : Sean McCann.
 
paru en juin 2020
édition française
18,5 x 18,5 cm (broché à cheval), inséré dans un sac de papier imprimé à la main (29 x 21,5 cm)
12 pages (ill.)
 
10.00
 
en stock
À  La Becque À  La Becque


 haut de page