les presses du réel

TarantismoOdyssey of an Italian ritual – Limited Edition (book + 2 vinyl LP)

 - Tarantismo
Limited edition including a double LP compilation and a 168-page publication gathering a complete documentation on Tarantismo, a project dedicated to a centuries-old choreo-musical ritual from Southern Italy, to exorcise women of a mysterious evil caused by the bite of a spider.
FLEE is proud to present its new project: Tarantismo: Odissey of an Italian Ritual. Dedicated to Tarentism, this project tells the story of a centuries-old dance and music ritual from Southern Italy, mobilizing frenetic rhythms and maniac dances, to exorcise women of a mysterious evil caused by the bite of a spider.
Trans-disciplinary, this effort of documentation and artistic re-interpretation of one Europe's most mysterious trance phenomenon is comprised of a double LP vinyl compilation and a hardcover Italian/English book.

A gatefold record:
This double LP captures original field recordings of musicians-exorcists registered by Diego Carpitella, Ernesto de Martino and Alan Lomax in the late 1950's in Puglia as well as six unique reworks by contemporary vanguard electronic musicians and producers such as: Bjorn Torske & Trym Søvdsnes (NO), LNS (CA), UFFE (DK), KMRU (KE), Bottin (IT), and Don't DJ (DE).

A hardcover book:
With nine essays focusing on various dimensions of the ritual, this bilingual publication gives the voice to artists, photographers, sociologists, anthropologists, and catholic priests. Witnesses, experts or actors of the history of this music exorcism, the book contains the contributions and exclusive photographs of: Chiara Samugheo (Pier Paolo Pasolini's photographer), Edoardo Winspeare, Claudia Attimonelli, Pamela Dia- mante, Luigi Chiriatti, Salvatore Bevilacqua, Gino Di Mitri and Mattia Zappellaro.
Contributions by Chiara Samugheo, Edoardo Winspeare, Claudia Attimonelli, Pamela Diamante, Luigi Chiriatti, Salvatore Bevilacqua, Gino Di Mitri, Mattia Zappellaro, Diego Carpitella, Alan Lomax, Ernesto de Martino, Bjorn Torske & Trym Søvdsnes, LNS, UFFE, KMRU, Bottin, Don't DJ.

 
published in December 2019
bilingual edition (English / Italian)
2 vinyl LP + book (16,5 x 23,5 cm, hardcover), in custom-made silkscreen printed enveloppe
168 pages (color & b/w ill.), 12 tracks (45'30)
 
65.98 58.99
(special offer)
 
in stock


 top of page

En raison de la situation sanitaire, les expéditions sont actuellement interrompues. Les commandes sont bien entendu notées et seront traitées dès que possible. Merci !
les presses du réel

TarantismoOdyssey of an Italian ritual – Edition limitée (livre + 2 vinyl LP)

 - Tarantismo
Edition limitée composée d'un double vinyle et d'une publication de 168 pages, formant la documentation complète du projet Tarantismo, consacré au rituel choréo-musical du tarentisme, un exorcisme utilisé dans le sud de l'Italie pour guérir les femmes d'un mal mystérieux causé par la morsure d'une araignée.
FLEE est fier est présenter son nouveau projet Tarantismo: Odyssey of an Italian Ritual, dédié au tarentisme, rituel centenaire musical et dansé du Mezzogiorno (Sud de l'Italie), utilisé pour guérir les femmes victimes d'un mal mystérieux causé par la morsure d'une araignée à travers des exorcismes faits de rythmes frénétiques et de danses maniaques.
Trans-disciplinaire, ce travail de documentation et de ré-interpretation artistique d'un des phénomènes transcendantaux les plus mystérieux d'Europe se compose d'une compilation vinyle ainsi que d'un livre édité en langues italienne et anglaise.

Une compilation vinyle :
Ce double LP comporte des enregistrements de terrain originaux de musiciens-exorcistes des Pouilles de la fin des années 1950 réalisés par Diego Carpitella, Alan Lomax et Ernesto de Martino, ainsi que six remixes exclusifs de ces travaux par des musiciens et producteurs de musique électronique d'avant-garde parmi lesquels : Bjorn Torske & Trym Søvdsnes (NO), LNS (CA), UFFE (DK), KMRU (KE), Bottin (IT), et Don't DJ (DE).

Un livre :
Avec neuf essais abordant les différentes dimensions et facettes du rituel, cette publication bilingue donne la voix aux artistes, photographes, sociologues, anthropologues, religieux et scientifiques. Ces témoins, experts et acteurs de l'histoire passée et contemporaine de cet exorcisme musical apportent leur contributions et photographies exclusives avec les apports de : Chiara Samugheo (photographe de Pier Paolo Pasolini), Edoardo Winspeare, Claudia Attimonelli, Pamela Diamante, Luigi Chiriatti, Salvatore Bevilacqua, Gino Di Mitri et Mattia Zappellaro.
Contributions de Chiara Samugheo, Edoardo Winspeare, Claudia Attimonelli, Pamela Diamante, Luigi Chiriatti, Salvatore Bevilacqua, Gino Di Mitri, Mattia Zappellaro, Diego Carpitella, Alan Lomax, Ernesto de Martino, Bjorn Torske & Trym Søvdsnes, LNS, UFFE, KMRU, Bottin, Don't DJ.

 
paru en décembre 2019
édition bilingue (anglais / italien)
2 vinyles + livre (16,5 x 23,5 cm, relié), sous pochette sérigraphié
168 pages (ill. coul. et n&b), 12 titres (45'30)
 
65.98 58.99
(offre spéciale)
 
en stock
Tarantismo


 haut de page