les presses du réel

TarantismoOdyssey of an Italian ritual (2 vinyl LP)

 - Tarantismo
This double LP forms a tribute to Pizzica, an antique music from Southern Italy, used to heal people suffering from tarantism, a mysterious disease caused by a spider. It includes field recordings of musicians-exorcists in the 1950's in Puglia, and six reworks by contemporary electronic musicians.
FLEE is proud to present its new project: Tarantismo: Odissey of an Italian Ritual. Dedicated to Tarentism, this project tells the story of a centuries-old dance and music ritual from Southern Italy, mobilizing frenetic rhythms and maniac dances, to exorcise women of a mysterious evil caused by the bite of a spider.
Trans-disciplinary, this effort of documentation and artistic re-interpretation of one Europe's most mysterious trance phenomenon is comprised of a double LP vinyl compilation and a hardcover Italian/English book.

This double LP captures original field recordings of musicians-exorcists registered by Diego Carpitella, Ernesto de Martino and Alan Lomax in the late 1950's in Puglia as well as six unique reworks by contemporary vanguard electronic musicians and producers such as: Bjorn Torske & Trym Søvdsnes (NO), LNS (CA), UFFE (DK), KMRU (KE), Bottin (IT), and Don't DJ (DE).
Contributions by Alan Lomax, Ernesto de Martino, Bjorn Torske & Trym Søvdsnes, LNS, UFFE, KMRU, Bottin, Don't DJ.

 
published in December 2019
2 vinyl LP
12 tracks (45'30)
 
32.99
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

TarantismoOdyssey of an Italian ritual (2 vinyl LP)

 - Tarantismo
Ce double album est un hommage au Pizzica, une musique ancienne du sud de l'Italie qui guérissait du tarentisme, une maladie mystérieuse causée par une araignée. Il comprend des enregistrements de musiciens exorcistes des années 1950 et leurs remixes par des artistes électroniques contemporains.
FLEE est fier est présenter son nouveau projet Tarantismo: Odyssey of an Italian Ritual, dédié au tarentisme, rituel centenaire musical et dansé du Mezzogiorno (Sud de l'Italie), utilisé pour guérir les femmes victimes d'un mal mystérieux causé par la morsure d'une araignée à travers des exorcismes faits de rythmes frénétiques et de danses maniaques.
Trans-disciplinaire, ce travail de documentation et de ré-interpretation artistique d'un des phénomènes transcendantaux les plus mystérieux d'Europe se compose d'une compilation vinyle ainsi que d'un livre édité en langues italienne et anglaise.

Ce double LP comporte des enregistrements de terrain originaux de musiciens-exorcistes des Pouilles de la fin des années 1950 réalisés par Diego Carpitella, Alan Lomax et Ernesto de Martino, ainsi que six remixes exclusifs de ces travaux par des musiciens et producteurs de musique éléctronique d'avant garde parmi lesquels : Bjorn Torske & Trym Søvdsnes (NO), LNS (CA), UFFE (DK), KMRU (KE), Bottin (IT), et Don't DJ (DE).
Egalement disponible dans le cadre d'une offre groupée avec le disque et le livre, assemblés dans une pochette.
Contributions d'Alan Lomax, Ernesto de Martino, Bjorn Torske & Trym Søvdsnes, LNS, UFFE, KMRU, Bottin, Don't DJ.

 
2019 (parution prévue au 4e trimestre)
2 vinyles
12 titres (45'30)
 
32.99
 
à paraître
Tarantismo Tarantismo Tarantismo


 haut de page