english version / version française
Steal This Book
Dora García [see all titles]
Paraguay Press [see all titles]
Dora García Steal This Book
Edited by François Piron and Dora García.

Graphic design: Alex Gifreu.
published in 2009
texts in English, Spanish and French
11 x 18 cm (softcover)
136 pages (b/w ill.)
€12.00
ISBN: 978-2-918252-04-7
EAN: 9782918252047
in stock
 
Eleven performance-based projects by Dora García, documented through letters, emails and other elements from the artist's private correspondence with various interpreters of performances, whether they were direct collaborators of simple spectators.
Edited and prefaced by François Piron, Steal This Book, a tribute to Abbie Hoffmann's pamphlet of the same name, is not a definitive attempt at rendering the pieces on which it is based; it calls for a free, active and contradictory reception, that of an open archive. Part epistolary novel, part rough screenplay and part user's manual, Steal This Book proposes a body of discussions, questions without answers and endless ramblings, in place of the critique's or the artist's voice.
The book has also been presented in exhibitions as a Dora García sculpture meant to be stolen, but it can also be purchased in selected bookstores worldwide.
Contrary to the idea that would have art addressing the greatest possible number of people, Dora García (born in 1965 in Valladolid, lives and works in Barcelona), best known for her performance devices, is interested in what is enacted at the individual scale: in a radically conceptual form, at once accessible and elegant, she elects to transmit oddly coded messages, their ask being to bestir a specific relation with each and every visitor. Dora García is interested in everything that intervenes in the communication between an artist and his/her public: art no longer represents the world, but itself becomes a producer of realities often on the borderline of fiction and make-believe. It urges us to undergo experiences other than ordinary situations, at once simple and hard to grasp.
Dora García has had solo exhibitions at the MACBA in Barcelona, the Reina Sofia in Madrid and the SMAK in Gent. She represented Spain at the Venice Biennale in 2011, and was a part of the Skulptur Projekte Münster 07, the Sydney Biennial in 2009, the Biennale de Lyon in 2009 and Documenta 13 in 2012.

les presses du réel

Steal This Book

Steal This Book Dora García - Steal This Book
Onze projets de Dora García documentés à partir de lettres, e-mails et autres éléments issus de la correspondance privée de l'artiste avec différents interprètes de ses performances, collaborateurs directs ou simples spectateurs.
Le livre, édité et préfacé par François Piron, ne cherche pas à rendre compte de manière définitive des pièces sur lesquelles il est basé ; comme le célèbre pamphlet d'Abbie Hoffmann dont il reprend le titre et le format, il appelle à une réception libre, active, contradictoire, d'une archive ouverte. Entre roman épistolaire, ébauche de scénario et mode d'emploi, Steal This Book substitue à la parole du critique et de l'artiste un ensemble de discussions, de questions sans réponse, de discussions sans fin.
Steal This Book a également été présenté dans des expositions, comme une sculpture susceptible d'être véritablement pillée.
Contrairement à l'idée qui voudrait que l'art s'adresse au plus grand nombre, le travail de l'artiste espagnole Dora García (née en 1965 à Valladolid, vit et travaille à Barcelone), principalement connue pour ses dispositifs de performance, porte sur ce qui se joue à l'échelle d'un individu : elle choisit sous une forme radicalement conceptuelle, accessible et élégante, d'émettre des messages singulièrement codés, chargés de susciter une relation spécifique avec chacun des visiteurs. Dora García s'intéresse à tout ce qui intervient dans la communication entre un artiste et son public : l'art ne représente plus le monde mais devient lui-même producteur de réalités souvent à la limite de la fiction. Il incite à vivre des expériences autres que les situations habituelles, à la fois simples et difficiles à saisir.
Le travail de Dora García a fait l'objet d'expositions monographiques notamment au MACBA à Barcelone, au Reina Sofia à Madrid et au SMAK à Gand. Elle a représenté l'Espagne à la Biennale de Venise en 2011, participé au Skulptur Projekte Münster 07, à la Biennale de Sydney et la Biennale de Lyon en 2009, ainsi qu'à Documenta 13 en 2012.
 
Edité par François Piron et Dora García.

Conception graphique : Alex Gifreu.
 
paru en 2009
textes en français, anglais, espagnol
11 x 18 cm (broché)
136 pages (ill. n&b)
 
12.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-918252-04-7
EAN : 9782918252047
 
en stock
 
Steal This Book Steal This Book Steal This Book Steal This Book Steal This Book Steal This Book Steal This Book


 haut de page