temporary interruption of shipments from May 25 to 29 (many thanks for your patience!)
les presses du réel

Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat

Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Rita McBride, Koenraad Dedobbeleer - Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat
This artist's book is part of the artistic collaboration between the sculptors Rita McBride and Koenraad Dedobbeleer, initiated by the Frac Bourgogne in the form of an exhibition at Dijon in 2008, which was then developed by the Kunsthalle Bern and at the Ostend Mu.ZEE (2009). The book presents the at once shared and personal responses of both artists in the differing exhibition settings in Dijon, Bern, and Ostend.
Rita McBride and Koenraad Dedobbeleer share an interest in forms coming from reality. Both often set about analyzing architectural features and urban fixtures, all structures which organize space. Their movement and appropriation in the exhibition venue illustrate a perceptible approach to forms, a questioning of they way they are received, and a line of thinking about their history and the economic and industrial conditions of their production.
For this project Rita McBride has reproduced a form of service station called a “roof shelter” based on a photograph. Koenraad Dedobbeleer has elected to shift the wooden frame of the attic of a residential block. Inferior purlin, joists and entrance are all identically made and assembled in the exhibition space.
Each artist has produced rich photographic documentation showing their sources of inspiration. Each ensemble unfurls chronologically, like a travel narrative, and converges in the exhibition views.
Rita McBride (born 1960 in Des Moines, USA) is an American artist and sculptor. Her very varied works take a very keen look at art, design and architecture, as factors which reveal the present-day world.
Born in 1975 in Halle (Belgium), Koenraad Dedobbeleer lives and works in Brussels.
Graphic design: Luc Derycke & Thomas Desmet.

Published by Frac Bourgogne with MER Paper Kunsthalle vzw, Gand, Kunsthalle Bern and Mu.ZEE, Ostend.
 
published in 2009
English edition
19,5 x 28,5 cm (hardcover)
208 pages (color ill.)
 
39.00 25.00
(special offer)
 
ISBN : 978-9-076979-8-61
EAN : 9789076979861
 
in stock
(last copies available!)
 
Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat
Rita McBride, Koenraad Dedobbeleer: other title



 top of page

les presses du réel

Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat

Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Rita McBride, Koenraad Dedobbeleer - Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat
Ce livre d'artiste est un élément de la collaboration artistique des sculpteurs Rita McBride et Koenraad Dedobbeleer initiée par le Frac Bourgogne sous la forme d'une exposition à Dijon en 2008 qui a été développée à la Kunsthalle Bern et au Mu.ZEE d'Ostende (2009). L'ouvrage présente les réponses à la fois communes et personnelles des deux artistes dans les différents contextes d'exposition à Dijon, Berne et Ostende.
Rita McBride et Koenraad Dedobbeleer ont un intérêt commun pour les formes issues du réel. L'un et l'autre procèdent souvent à l'analyse d'éléments architecturaux ou de mobiliers urbains, autant de structures qui organisent l'espace. Leur déplacement et détournement dans le lieu d'exposition témoignent d'une approche sensible des formes, d'un questionnement sur leur réception et d'une réflexion sur leur histoire, leurs conditions de production économiques ou industrielles.
Pour ce projet, Rita McBride a reproduit une forme de station-service dite de « toit-abri » à partir d'une photographie. Koenraad Dedobbeleer a choisi de déplacer la charpente en bois d'une sous-pente d'un immeuble d'habitation. Sablière, chevrons, entrait, sont fabriqués à l'identique et assemblés dans l'espace.
Chaque artiste a produit une riche documentation photographique montrant ses sources d'inspiration. Chaque ensemble se déploie de manière chronologique tel un récit de voyage pour converger vers les vues d'exposition.
Les œuvres de Rita McBride (née en 1960 à Des Moines, États-Unis), essentiellement sculpturales mais prenant parfois une dimension architecturale, traitent l'art, le design et l'architecture comme autant de révélateurs du monde actuel. Son travail a fait l'objet de nombreuses expositions personnelles comme en 2002 à l'Institut d'art contemporain de Villeurbanne, au Wiels de Bruxelles et à la Dia Art Foundation de New York en 2017.
Né en 1975 à Hal (Belgique), Koenraad Dedobbeleer vit et travaille à Bruxelles.
Graphisme : Luc Derycke & Thomas Desmet.

Publié par le Frac Bourgogne avec la MER Paper Kunsthalle vzw, Gand, la Kunsthalle Bern et le Mu.ZEE, Ostend.
 
paru en 2009
édition anglaise
19,5 x 28,5 cm (relié)
208 pages (ill. coul.)
 
39.00 25.00
(offre spéciale)
 
ISBN : 978-9-076979-8-61
EAN : 9789076979861
 
en stock
(derniers exemplaires disponibles !)
 
Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat Tight: Repeating Boredom / Hall / Privaat
Rita McBride, Koenraad Dedobbeleer : autre titre



 haut de page