les presses du réel

We Are OceanBerlin+Brandenburg

 - We Are Ocean
WE ARE OCEAN Berlin+Brandenburg brings together the documentation of the eponymous project carried out by ARTPORT_making waves , with relevant ideas about our ocean, fusing art, science, and education. Pairing students' experiences with writings by pioneering scientists, artists, and thinkers, it presents a diverse and interdisciplinary perspective on those threatened ecosystems and the crucial role they play in our adaption to climate change.
The WE ARE OCEAN Berlin+Brandenburg book is the synthesis of the first project of the WE ARE OCEAN Global Program, an interdisciplinary art program which gathers artists, students, scientists, policy makers, art collectors, teachers, curators and grassroots organisations in order to raise awareness and engage in dialogue about the environmental condition of the ocean and the role humans play in its current and future state. The program, endorsed by UNESCO as a UN Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development (2021-2030) Project, investigates how we interact with the ocean and how interdependent humans and the ocean are. The overall goal is to raise scientific and political awareness through the arts, particularly among young people, to stimulate behavioural change and social action and help them to act responsibly and become conscientious citizens. The program started in Berlin and Brandenburg, Germany, in 2019, with a long list of collaborators. This first publication of a decade long series gathers the voices of participants and the texts of Antje Boetius, Stefanie Hessler, T. J. Demos, Francesca Santoro, Julia Moritz, Lisa Rave and Anne-Marie Melster.
ARTPORT_making waves is an international curatorial practice that raises awareness about environmental issues with a focus on climate change and ocean protection through residency and educational programs, art exhibitions, video projects, as well as collaborations linking the arts, science, and politics with the aim to inspire social change. Founded in 2006 by Anne-Marie Melster and Corinne Erni, it has grown to an international arts orgnisation with non profit structures in Germany, France, Spain and Switzerland.
Edited by Anne-Marie Melster.
Contributions by Anne-Marie Melster, Antje Boetius, Julia Mpritz, Lisa Rave, Stefanie Hessler, T. J. Demos, Francesca Santoro.

Graphic design: Studio Anugraha.

Published by ARTPORT_making waves, Frankfurt am Main.
 
published in January 2023
bilingual edition (English / German)
16 x 22,5 cm (hardcover)
256 pages (ill.)
 
29.95
 
ISBN : 978-3-00-072669-9
EAN : 9783000726699
 
in stock


 top of page

les presses du réel

We Are OceanBerlin+Brandenburg

 - We Are Ocean
Issu du projet éponyme réalisé par ARTPORT_making waves, collectif curatorial dédié à la sensibilisation aux questions environnementales, cet ouvrage présente, à travers un ensemble de réflexions concrètes de scientifiques, d'artistes et de penseurs pionniers autour du milieu océanique, associant l'art, la science et l'éducation, des perspectives diversifiées et interdisciplinaires sur ces écosystèmes menacés et sur le rôle crucial qu'ils jouent dans notre adaptation au changement climatique.
WE ARE OCEAN Berlin+Brandenburg constitue la synthèse du premier projet du programme mondial WE ARE OCEAN, un programme artistique interdisciplinaire qui rassemble des artistes, des étudiants, des scientifiques, des décideurs politiques, des collectionneurs d'art, des enseignants, des conservateurs et des organisations locales afin de sensibiliser et d'engager le dialogue sur la condition environnementale de l'océan et le rôle que les humains jouent dans son état actuel et futur. Le programme, soutenu par l'UNESCO en tant que projet de la Décennie des Nations Unies pour les sciences océaniques au service du développement durable (2021-2030), étudie la manière dont nous interagissons avec l'océan et dont les humains et l'océan sont interdépendants. L'objectif global est de sensibiliser scientifiquement et politiquement par le biais des arts, et de provoquer le changement des comportements et l'action sociale. Le programme a débuté à Berlin et Brandebourg, en Allemagne, en 2019, avec une longue liste de collaborateurs. Cette première publication d'une série d'une décennie rassemble les voix des participants et les textes d'Antje Boetius, Stefanie Hessler, T. J. Demos, Francesca Santoro, Julia Moritz, Lisa Rave et Anne-Marie Melster.
ARTPORT_making waves est un collectif international de commissaires d'expositions dédié à la sensibilisation aux questions environnementales et aux enjeux éco-critiques comme le défi de l'Anthropocène, l'économie circulaire et l'océanographie à travers des programmes de résidence et d'éducation, des expositions artistiques, des projets vidéo, ainsi que des collaborations entre les arts, la recherche scientifique et la politique, dans le but d'inspirer le changement social. Fondé en 2006 par Anne-Marie Melster et Corinne Erni, ARTPORT_making waves est devenu une organisation artistique internationale avec des structures à but non lucratif en Allemagne, en France, en Espagne et en Suisse.
Edité par Anne-Marie Melster.
Contributions de Anne-Marie Melster, Antje Boetius, Julia Mpritz, Lisa Rave, Stefanie Hessler, T. J. Demos, Francesca Santoro.

Conception graphique : Studio Anugraha.

Publié par ARTPORT_making waves, Francfort-sur-le-Main.
 
paru en janvier 2023
édition bilingue (anglais / allemand)
16 x 22,5 cm (relié)
256 pages (ill.)
 
29.95
 
ISBN : 978-3-00-072669-9
EAN : 9783000726699
 
en stock
We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean We Are Ocean


 haut de page