Nero

Nero is a publishing house specialized in the production of artist's books, editions, and catalogues commissioned by museums, foundations and private collections. Based in Rome, Nero also works in curating, art direction and consulting for cultural projects and contemporary art.
 
 
80 titles
 
 Alex Katz & Vincent Katz - Katz
2017
English edition
This publication, edited by Enzo Cucchi, gathers drawings by Alex Katz and words by his son Vincent. It is a project that takes shape through the intimate relationship between the three subjects.
Tobias Kaspar - New Address
2017
English edition
This publication provides a peek into the practice and work of the Swiss artist, using a selection of black and white “behind-the-scenes” photographs taken from Kaspar's hard disk. An additional booklet includes a list of works as they appear in the book as well as a text by artist Mikael Brkic and a longer essay by art historian Daniel Horn.
Théâtre des expositions #7 - Dans un espace et un temps sans titre / In uno spazio e in un tempo senza titolo
2017
bilingual edition (French / Italian)
This catalogue presents the projects of artists, designers, writers, directors, musicians, performers, philosophers and researchers in residence at theVilla Medici – French Academy in Rome during the year 2015-2016.
Nathalie du Pasquier - From Some Paintings - 2000-2010
2017
bilingual edition (English / Italian)
Halfway between the catalogue and the artist's book, From Some Paintings gathers a selection of still life paintings made between 2000 and 2010. Translated into black and white images, these works represents small everyday objects, alternating full size reproductions and details.
 Salvo -
2017
Italian edition
Paperback tribute guide to the work of Italian artist Salvatore Mangione (Salvo).
7759 - Bodies, Logistics, and Labor
2017
English edition
7759 – Bodies, Logistics, and Labor is a collective collection of essays which also includes two photographic works by Stefan Burger. The publication examines the notions of surplus value, logistics and globalization, in the framework of a case study on the self-managed dockers from Genoa.
Rafał Bujnowski - Maj / May 2066
2017
bilingual edition (English / Polish)
Catalogue dedicated to the Polish painter and conceptual artist, featuring his most recent works, an essay by Maria Brewińska, and an interview. The publication reviews some of Bujnowski's key concepts, such as painting as a physical object and its concomitant deconstruction, the centrality of time and the question of futurology, and the randomness of existence.
Q\'16a - 16th Art Quadriennale – Other times, Other myths  – Appendix
2017
English edition
Photographic appendix to the eponymous catalogue covering the 16th Art Quadriennale. It completes the documentation with images of the installed works and performances.
Q\'16a - 16th Art Quadriennale – Other times, Other myths
2017
English edition
Catalogue of the 16th Art Quadriennale—the exhibition that brings together in an in-depth and articulated manner, the artistic and cultural production of Italy after 2000. The publication includes a photographic documentation revealing the 150 works on display, a glossary, and bibliographical notes.
Marinella Senatore - The School of Narrative Dance
2017
bilingual edition (English / Italian)
Founded by Marinella Senatore, the School of Narrative Dance is an international initiative which proposes an alternative system of education, based on emancipation, inclusion, and self-cultivation. The School implements multidisciplinary projects focusing on storytelling and choreography. This publication documents a workshop at MAXXI, Roma, involving more than 300 people for five months.
Anton Bruhin -
2016
English edition
This catalogue gathers works from different periods of the artist's career, though giving particular prominence to his drawings in analog and digital form—the Pixel-Bildli and Hice for Weiss series, or his plastic mosaics. A foreword by Salvatore Lacagnina and a contribution by Arthur Fink introduce the reader to Bruhin's multifarious work, while a conversation with the artist helps unfold his eclectic strategies.
Roman Stańczak - Life And Work
2016
bilingual edition (English / Polish)
The first monograph ever published on the work of Roman Stańczak: an incredible opportunity to discover the work of this influential and yet under-known artist. The publication includes an interview with Stańczak conducted by Zuzanna Hadrys & Michał Lasota and essays by Jan Verwoert, Zofia Krawiec, Łukasz Ronduda in addition to an extensive portfolio of images.
Olaf Nicolai - Il Diario del Vento / Wind Diary
2016
bilingual edition (English / German)
out of stock
This artist's book documents the wind and weather conditions around the German Pavilion of the 56th Venice Biennial, which were recorded over the period of Nicolai's exhibition by a weather station positioned on the roof (limited, numbered and signed edition).
Gustav Metzger - Act or Perish! - A Retrospective
2016
English edition
(last copies available!)
The catalogue of Metzger's first extensive overview: divided into sections—each of which is accompanied by a critical text—corresponding to those presented in the exhibition, the publication provides systematic insight into an artistic oeuvre considered as one of the most important in the 20th century (with texts by Mathieu Copeland, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Yoko Ono, Hermann Nitsch…).
Jimmie Durham - Sound and Silliness
2016
bilingual edition (English / Italian)
A hybrid publication beween a catalogue and an artist's book, articulated on two different registers: a flip-book consisting of the frames of the two videos shown in the exhibition at MAXXI, published on all of the right pages in the book; and a section of critical texts and images documenting the exhibition, on the left.
Giorgio Andreotta Calò - Sunset Boulevard
2016
English edition
This artist's book presents a series of polaroids taken from inside a moving car's trunk portraying a dream-like sunbathed Los Angeles landscape, or indeed, an image that is now firmly imprinted in the collective imagination—asphalt, cars and palm trees silhouetted against expansive skies.
Emily Jacir - Translatio
2016
English edition
Uniting the artist with two scholars of the Medieval Mediterranean, John Lansdowne and Christopher MacEvitt, this volume illustrates the movement of objects, images, people and places between Palestine and Italy.
Angela Marzullo - Homeschooling
2016
bilingual edition (English / Italian)
Homeschooling (parental education) is at the center of the performance and video work by Angela Marzullo, who, in analyzing critical texts from the '60s and '70s, recreates them involving her two daughters as protagonists. The publication presents a decade of Marzullo's works, highlighting the evocative value and content of images and text.
Oskar Dawicki - I\'m Sorry
2016
bilingual edition (English / Polish)
The publication is the first comprehensive review of Oskar Dawicki's oeuvre. Trained as a painter, it was his practice as a performer and as a post-conceptualist with a singularly fatalistic slant that brought him into the public realm.
Enzo Cucchi - Madama Cucchi
2016
bilingual edition (English / Italian)
An interactive catalogue in the form of a map with replicas of the works exhibited by the artist at Turin's Palazzo Madama.
Cristian Chironi - My House is a Le Corbusier / Broken English
2016
bilingual edition (English / Italian)
My House is a Le Corbusier / Broken English is a two-sided book containing two different projects by Cristian Chironi. Intersecting and diverging, both projects raise questions surrounding communication, reading and interpretation and concomitant linguistic and socio-political implications. The double-cover book is divided into two specular sections so the reader can choose to begin with either of the projects.
VV.AA. - Vitrine, Possibilità
2016
bilingual edition (English / Italian)
Vitrine is the catalogue of the namesake project organized by GAM museum in Turin. Beginning four years ago, “Vitrine” has as its primary objective the research in the field of contemporary art. The title of the 2015-2016 edition, “Possibilità” (Possibilities), refers to the transformations that take place during one's life and their fluid and uncertain nature which is retraced in art.
Sam Falls - Now
2016
bilingual edition (English / Italian)
out of stock
The book documents a mixed-media installation by Sam Falls where the artist explores ways of faithfully representing time and understanding it through art. For Falls, time is elusive and the future is “filled with meaning” only when it becomes “now”. The present, divided between past and future, has the optimism of production and the melancholy of aging.
Cy Twombly - Cy Twombly, Photographer
2016
English edition
out of stock
This catalogue documents the first Italian retrospective on the photographic activity of Twombly held at the American Academy in Rome.
Marc Horowitz - Phillips Contemporary Art New York Evening Sale 4 May 2015
2015
English edition
Artist Marc Horowitz has photographed each page of an art catalogue by Phillips, the famous auction house in New York, having placed on the pages the residues of junk food: an irreverent work staging the encounter between art and consumption (artist's book).

Nero

Maison d'édition romaine spécialisée dans la culture et l'art contemporains, Nero publie des livres d'artiste, des monographies et des catalogues.
 
Rome
 
80 titres
 
 Alex Katz & Vincent Katz - Katz
2017
édition anglaise
Publication éditée par Enzo Cucchi, regroupant des dessins d'Alex Katz et des poèmes de son fils, Vincent. Une célébration des liens filiaux et amicaux qui unissent les trois auteurs.
Tobias Kaspar - New Address
2017
édition anglaise
Publication composée d'une sélection de photographies en noir et blanc extraites du disque dur de l'artiste suisse, invitant à explorer des coulisses sa pratique artistique. Le livret complémentaire comprend une liste des œuvres telles qu'elles apparaissent dans le livre ainsi qu'un texte de l'artiste Mikael Brkic et un essai de l'historien de l'art Daniel Horn.
Théâtre des expositions #7 - Dans un espace et un temps sans titre / In uno spazio e in un tempo senza titolo
2017
édition bilingue (français / italien)
Catalogue présentant les projets des artistes, designers, écrivains, réalisateurs, musiciens, performeurs, philosophes et chercheurs en résidence à la Villa Médicis durant l'année 2015-2016.
Nathalie du Pasquier - From Some Paintings - 2000-2010
2017
édition blingue (anglais / italien)
À mi-chemin entre le catalogue et le livre d'artiste, cette publication réunit une sélection de natures mortes peintes entre 2000 et 2010. Ces œuvres ont pour sujet des objets du quotidien, représentés grandeur nature ou concentrés autour de détails. Le noir et blanc se substituant aux couleurs originelles impose au spectateur la recherche d'une nouvelle harmonie.
 Salvo -
2017
édition italienne
Un atlas de poche en hommage au travail de l'artiste italien Salvatore Mangione, mieux connu sous le nom de Salvo. Composées de dessins, de croquis et de poèmes, ces archives offrent un voyage au cœur de la culture et du paysage méditerranéens.
7759 - Bodies, Logistics, and Labor
2017
édition anglaise
Recueil collectif d'essais accompagné de deux séries photographiques de Stefan Burger abordant les concepts de plus-value, de logistique et de mondialisation dans le cadre d'une étude de cas portant sur les dockers autonomes de Gênes.
Rafał Bujnowski - Maj / May 2066
2017
édition bilingue (anglais / polonais)
Catalogue dédié au peintre conceptuel polonais et présentant ses œuvres les plus récentes, mises en contexte par un texte de Maria Brewińska et un entretien avec l'artiste. La publication examine quelques-uns des concepts clés de Bujnowski comme l'objectivation physique de la peinture, la centralité du temps, la futurologie et le caractère aléatoire de l'existence.
Q\'16a - 16th Art Quadriennale – Other times, Other myths  – Appendix
2017
édition anglaise
Annexe photographique du catalogue éponyme couvrant la 16e édition de la Quadriennale d'arte. Elle comprend des images des installations et des performances proposées durant l'événement.
Q\'16a - 16th Art Quadriennale – Other times, Other myths
2017
édition anglaise
Catalogue de la 16e édition de la Quadriennale d'arte, l'exposition dédiée à la production artistique et culturelle italienne contemporaine. La publication est composée d'une documentation photographique reproduisant les 150 œuvres exposées, un glossaire et des notes bibliographiques en appendice.
Marinella Senatore - The School of Narrative Dance
2017
édition bilingue (anglais / italien)
Fondée par Marinella Senatore en 2013, The School of Narrative Dance (L'école de la Danse Narrative) propose un système d'éducation alternatif basé sur l'émancipation, l'inclusion et l'auto-apprentissage, mettant en œuvre des projets multidisciplinaires internationaux focalisés sur la narration et la chorégraphie. Cette publication documente un atelier qui mobilisa plus de 300 personnes durant cinq mois au musée MAXXI de Rome.
Anton Bruhin -
2016
édition anglaise
Un panorama de la carrière de Bruhin qui met en avant sa pratique manuelle et numérique du dessin – notamment les séries Pixel-Bildli et Hice for Weiss – ainsi que ses mosaïques. Un catalogue introductif qui permet également d'éclairer les stratégies à l'œuvre chez Bruhin. Avec un avant-propos de Salvatore Lacagnina, un texte d'Arthur Fink et un entretien avec l'artiste.
Roman Stańczak - Life And Work
2016
édition bilingue (anglais / polonais)
Première monographie consacrée au travail d'un artiste influent et néanmoins méconnu. Constituant une introduction complète à l'approche « brutaliste » du sculpteur polonais, l'ouvrage propose une riche iconographie, complétée d'un entretien de Stańczak avec Zuzanna Hadrys et Michał Lasota, et d'essais de Jan Verwoert, Zofia Krawiec et Łukasz Ronduda.
Olaf Nicolai - Il Diario del Vento / Wind Diary
2016
édition bilingue (anglais / allemand)
épuisé
Livre d'artiste documentant les conditions atmosphériques autour du pavillon allemand de la 56e Biennale de Venise. Le relevé météorologique a été réalisé grâce à une station installée sur le toit du pavillon, transformé pour l'occasion en lieu performatif et espace d'installation. L'ouvrage comprend également un ensemble de cartes décrivant différentes conditions venteuses auxquelles ont été confrontés les artistes (édition limitée, numérotée et signée).
Gustav Metzger - Act or Perish! - A Retrospective
2016
édition anglaise
(derniers exemplaires disponibles !)
Le catalogue de la première rétrospective d'envergure consacrée à l'une des œuvres les plus importantes du XXe siècle, couvrant l'ensemble des aspects de la carrière de Gustav Metzger, de l'engagement politique des premières années à sa production récente, avec des contributions de spécialistes et de compagnons de routes de l'artiste (Mathieu Copeland, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Yoko Ono, Hermann Nitsch…).
Jimmie Durham - Sound and Silliness
2016
édition bilingue (anglais / italien)
A mi-chemin entre le catalogue et le livre d'artiste, une publication hybride caractéristique de l'approche poétique de Durham : en pages de droite, les plans décomposés de deux vidéos de l'artiste s'articulent comme un folioscope ; en pages de gauche, images et textes servent de documentation à l'exposition éponyme au MAXXI.
Giorgio Andreotta Calò - Sunset Boulevard
2016
édition anglaise
Ce livre d'artiste propose une série de Polaroids pris depuis le coffre d'une voiture en mouvement, offrant le portrait éphémère et transitoire d'un Los Angeles gravé dans l'imaginaire collectif. Avec une sensibilité cinématographique appuyée, Giorgio Andreotta Calò capture les silhouettes vaporeuses des palmiers et des voitures sous le ciel radieux de Sunset Boulevard et Beverly Drive.
Emily Jacir - Translatio
2016
édition anglaise
Ouvrage collectif rassemblant l'artiste Emily Jacir et les médiévistes John Lansdowne et Christopher MacEvitt, Translatio illustre les relations entre la Palestine et l'Italie à travers la notion de déplacement.
Angela Marzullo - Homeschooling
2016
édition bilingue (anglais / italien)
L'instruction à domicile constitue une thématique centrale des performances et vidéos d'Angela Marzullo qui, analysant un ensemble de textes critiques des années 1960 et 1970, les met en scène et les fait jouer par ses deux filles. Cette publication présente dix ans de travaux de Marzullo, mettant en avant le pouvoir évocateur de l'image et du texte.
Oskar Dawicki - I\'m Sorry
2016
édition bilingue (anglais / polonais)
La première étude détaillée de l'œuvre du performeur post-conceptualiste Oskar Dawicki, éditée dans l'esprit d'un livre d'artiste et proposant, outre une documentation visuelle des travaux et performances de Dawicki, une création textuelle de l'artiste ainsi qu'une série d'images dévoilant les coulisses de son film Performer.
Enzo Cucchi - Madama Cucchi
2016
édition bilingue (anglais / italien)
Madama Cucchi est un catalogue interactif prenant la forme d'une carte représentant l'espace d'exposition du palais Madame de Turin accompagnée des répliques miniatures des œuvres exposées par l'artiste en ce même lieu.
Cristian Chironi - My House is a Le Corbusier / Broken English
2016
édition bilingue (anglais / italien)
My House is a Le Corbusier / Broken English est un livre biface comprenant deux projets distincts de Cristian Chironi. Egalement entremêlés et divergents, ces projets s'intéressent aux implications linguistiques et socio-politiques de la communication, de la lecture et de l'interprétation. Doté d'une double couverture, cet ouvrage est divisé en deux sections que le lecteur peut choisir de lire sans ordre préconçu
VV.AA. - Vitrine, Possibilità
2016
édition bilingue (anglais / italien)
Projet initié il y a quatre ans par le musée GAM de Turin, « Vitrine » a pour objet la constitution d'un dialogue entre le champ de la recherche en art contemporain et les sphères extérieures au monde de la création. Ce catalogue accompagne l'édition 2015-2016, dont le titre « Possibilità » (possibilités) se réfère aux changements et fluctuances de la vie et à leurs représentations artistiques.
Sam Falls - Now
2016
édition bilingue (anglais / italien)
épuisé
Comment appréhender de manière adéquate la notion du temps par le biais de l'art ? Sam Falls pose la question à travers cette publication documentant une installation plurimédiatique invoquant la dimension janusienne du présent, partagé entre passé et futur, satisfaction de l'action et mélancolie de l'âge.
Cy Twombly - Cy Twombly, Photographer
2016
édition anglaise
épuisé
Le catalogue de la première rétrospective des photographies de Cy Twombly en Italie, à l'American Academy de Rome.
Marc Horowitz - Phillips Contemporary Art New York Evening Sale 4 May 2015
2015
édition anglaise
Marc Horowitz place des restes de junk food sur les pages d'un catalogue de la très réputée maison de ventes aux enchères Phillips et photographie l'ensemble : un livre d'artiste irrévérencieux qui met en scène de façon frontale les relations entre art et consommation.