les presses du réel

Taxonomy of The BarricadeImage Acts of Political Authority in May 1968

Wolfgang Scheppe - Taxonomy of The Barricade
An iconographic taxonomy of state and police visual control through almost 500 images from the May 1968 police archives in Paris, accompanied by an essay written by Wolfgang Scheppe.
The pictorial order of a regime of surveillance applied during the last wide-ranging insurgence in Europe's history surfaces from the analysis of this unique visual archive. Following the events happening at the Sorbonne in May 1968, alongside general strikes and nationwide factory occupations, France's state of emergency becomes apparent through a specific iconography of visual control.
Among other characteristic typologies of authoritative monitoring aspects, the events in May '68 marked the historic beginning of the deployment of helicopter based aerial photography as a means of governmental crowd control in a situation of escalating insurrection. The political will to gain an unobstructed view on any individual motion pattern represented in the project leads to epistemically-new technologies that combine observation with political governance, and the use of force as recently manifested in the agency of drones and face recognition.
In 2019 the editorial project was awarded the FLAT Prize, for the quality of the research done and the originality of the proposal.
Wolfgang Scheppe teaches political philosophy in Switzerland and in Venice. He is the head of the Arsenale Institute for Politics of Representation in Venice and is the author of extensive research works that have culminated in numerous book projects and international exhibitions.
 
2021 (publication expected by 2nd quarter)
English edition
 
35.00
 
forthcoming


 top of page

les presses du réel

Taxonomy of The BarricadeImage Acts of Political Authority in May 1968

Wolfgang Scheppe - Taxonomy of The Barricade
Une taxonomie iconographique du contrôle étatique et policier à travers près de 500 images provenant des archives de la police de mai 1968 à Paris, avec un essai de Wolfgang Scheppe.
L'ordre pictural d'un régime de surveillance appliqué pendant la dernière insurrection de grande ampleur de l'histoire de l'Europe ressort de l'analyse de ces archives visuelles uniques. À la suite des événements survenus à la Sorbonne en mai 1968, parallèlement aux grèves générales et aux occupations d'usines dans tout le pays, l'état d'urgence en France devient apparent à travers une iconographie spécifique du contrôle visuel.
Parmi d'autres typologies caractéristiques des aspects de surveillance autoritaire, les événements de mai 68 marquent le début historique du déploiement de la photographie aérienne par hélicoptère comme moyen de contrôle gouvernemental des foules dans une situation d'insurrection croissante. La volonté politique d'obtenir une vue dégagée sur tout schéma de mouvement individuel conduit à des technologies épistémiquement nouvelles qui combinent l'observation avec la gouvernance politique, et l'utilisation de la force, comme cela s'est récemment manifesté dans l'agence des drones et la reconnaissance faciale.
En 2019, le projet éditorial a reçu le prix FLAT, pour la qualité de la recherche effectuée et l'originalité de la proposition.
Wolfgang Scheppe enseigne la philosophie politique en Suisse et à Venise. Il dirige l'Institut Arsenale pour la politique de la représentation à Venise et est l'auteur d'importants travaux de recherche qui ont donné lieu à de nombreuses publications et expositions internationales.
 
2021 (parution prévue au 3e trimestre)
édition anglaise
 
35.00
 
à paraître


 haut de page